Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
0 quakes Mag. 2+
0 quakes Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.1 earthquake South China Sea, 97 km west of Subic, Philippines - 1 hour and 35 minutes ago
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 4.8 South China Sea, 35 km north of Mamburao, Philippines - Feb 1, 2024 - 4 weeks ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 12:14 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near National Capital Region, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near National Capital Region in the past 24 hours.
There have been 0 quakes of magnitude 4.0+ in or near National Capital Region in the past 30 days. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!
Latest today: Mag. 2.1 Earthquake South China Sea, 97 km W of Subic, Philippines -
Strongest: Mag. 4.8 Earthquake South China Sea, Calabarzon, 35 km N of Mamburao, Philippines -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (135 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 06:40 pm (GMT +8)
Feb 29, 10:40 GMT

2.1

7 km
171 km (106 mi) to the W South China Sea, 97 km west of Subic, Philippines More
Feb 29, 04:13 pm (Manila)
Feb 29, 08:13 GMT

2.2

27 km
144 km (89 mi) to the NW South China Sea, 21 km southwest of Masinloc, Philippines More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 28, 11:30 pm (GMT +8)
Feb 28, 15:30 GMT

2.5

20 km
299 km (186 mi) to the N South China Sea, 62 km southwest of Vigan, Philippines More
Feb 28, 10:12 pm (Manila)
Feb 28, 14:12 GMT

2.0

10 km
202 km (126 mi) to the NE Province of Aurora, Central Luzon, 66 km southeast of Santiago, Philippines More
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 28, 03:55 am (Manila)
Feb 27, 19:55 GMT

2.1

25 km
110 km (68 mi) to the NW South China Sea, 19 km northwest of San Antonio, Philippines More
Feb 28, 12:10 am (GMT +8)
Feb 27, 16:10 GMT

2.5

10 km
142 km (88 mi) to the SW South China Sea, 39 km south of Lubang Island, Philippines More
Feb 27, 02:24 pm (Manila)
Feb 27, 06:24 GMT

2.1

11 km
125 km (78 mi) to the SW South China Sea, 35 km south of Lubang Island, Philippines More
Feb 27, 10:12 am (GMT +8)
Feb 27, 02:12 GMT

2.3

24 km
170 km (106 mi) to the NE Philippine Sea, 63 km northeast of Jomalig Island, Philippines More
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 27, 12:18 am (GMT +8)
Feb 26, 16:18 GMT

2.0

3 km
140 km (87 mi) to the SW Sulu Sea, 24 km west of Mamburao, Western Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Feb 26, 08:29 pm (Manila)
Feb 26, 12:29 GMT

2.2

45 km
202 km (126 mi) to the NE Province of Aurora, Central Luzon, 75 km southeast of Santiago, Philippines More
Feb 26, 10:43 am (GMT +8)
Feb 26, 02:43 GMT

2.5

8 km
231 km (144 mi) to the S Sulu Sea, 33 km west of San Jose, Western Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1012 joules (856 megawatt hours, equivalent to 736 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

National Capital Region Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Taitung (TWGB/TW network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Taitung: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,700 quakes on average per year in or near National Capital Region, Philippines:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.07 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 13.7 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.33 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 3 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 8.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 35.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 110 quakes per year (or 9.1 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 161 quakes per year (or 13.4 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 165 quakes per year (or 13.7 quakes per month)
National Capital Region has a very high level of seismic activity. National Capital Region has had at least 9 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines, by magnitude

3 years
10 years
Mag
 
Number of quakes (465 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.86%)
5+
31 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (6.67%)
4+
87 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (18.71%)
3+
242 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (52.04%)
2+
88 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (18.92%)
below M2
13 quakes
(2.8%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,675 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.48%)
5+
80 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (4.78%)
4+
274 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (16.36%)
3+
753 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (44.96%)
2+
521 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (31.1%)
below M2
39 quakes
(2.33%)

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

National Capital Region Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines?

National Capital Region has a very high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,700 quakes on average per year in or near National Capital Region, Philippines. National Capital Region has had at least 9 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in National Capital Region?

The last earthquake in National Capital Region occurred 1 hour and 35 minutes ago:

Mag. 2.1 earthquake South China Sea, 97 km west of Subic, Philippines - 1 hour and 35 minutes ago

A light magnitude 2.1 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  Philippines in the late afternoon of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 6.40 pm local time (GMT +8). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in National Capital Region in the past 30 days?

There have been 0 quakes of magnitude 4.0+ in or near National Capital Region in the past 30 days.

What was the strongest quake in National Capital Region in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in National Capital Region in the past 30 days occurred 4 weeks ago:

Mag. 4.8 earthquake South China Sea, 35 km north of Mamburao, Philippines - Feb 1, 2024 - 4 weeks ago

A strong magnitude 4.8 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of Calabarzon,  Philippines, in the early morning of Thursday, Feb 1, 2024 at 4.46 am local time (Asia/Manila GMT +8). The quake had a moderate depth of 78 km (48 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near National Capital Region, Philippines, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.6 earthquake that hit Calabarzon,  Philippines, 3 years ago on Saturday, Jul 24, 2021, at 04:48 am local time (Asia/Manila GMT +8).

Strongest since 1900

34 years ago, Central Luzon,  Philippines, was hit by a magnitude 7.7 quake on Monday, Jul 16, 1990, at 03:26 pm local time (Asia/Manila GMT +8). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near National Capital Region, Philippines, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jun 15, 2023 02:19 GMT
Jun 15, 2023 10:19 am (Manila)
6.2

112 km
73 km (45 mi) to the S South China Sea, 34 km west of Batangas, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 578 reportsMore
May 21, 2022 21:50 GMT
May 22, 2022 05:50 am (Manila)
6.1

129 km
57 km (35 mi) to the SW Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 239 reportsMore
Mar 13, 2022 21:05 GMT
Mar 14, 2022 05:05 am (GMT +8)
6.4

11 km
176 km (109 mi) to the W South China Sea, 183 km west of Manila, Philippines 253 reportsMore
Aug 13, 2021 15:08 GMT
Aug 13, 2021 11:08 pm (Manila)
5.9

124 km
82 km (51 mi) to the S South China Sea, 42 km west of Batangas, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 312 reportsMore
Jul 23, 2021 20:48 GMT
Jul 24, 2021 04:48 am (Manila)
6.6

130 km
82 km (51 mi) to the S South China Sea, 36 km west of Batangas, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 1887 reportsMore
Dec 24, 2020 23:43 GMT
Dec 25, 2020 07:43 am (Manila)
6.3

121 km
71 km (44 mi) to the SW South China Sea, Calabarzon, 105 km northwest of Mindoro Island, Philippines 1036 reportsMore
Apr 22, 2019 09:11 GMT
Apr 22, 2019 05:11 pm (Manila)
6.0

10 km
52 km (32 mi) to the NW Pampanga, 8.6 km northeast of Dinalupihan, Bataan, Central Luzon, Philippines 7083 reportsMore
Aug 11, 2017 05:28 GMT
Aug 11, 2017 01:28 pm (Manila)
6.2

10 km
146 km (91 mi) to the SW South China Sea, 32 km southwest of Tagbac, Philippines 117 reportsMore
Nov 13, 2016 11:40 GMT
Nov 13, 2016 07:40 pm (Manila)
6.6

10 km
142 km (88 mi) to the NE Philippine Sea, 44 km east of Suklayin, Philippines 1 reportMore
Oct 19, 2015 13:50 GMT
Oct 19, 2015 09:50 pm (Manila)
5.8

111 km
66 km (41 mi) to the SW 1.6 km southeast of Lucsuhin, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 166 reportsMore
Nov 14, 1994 19:15 GMT
Nov 15, 1994 03:15 am (Manila)
7.1

32 km
92 km (57 mi) to the S Philippine Sea, 26 km south of Batangas, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Jul 16, 1990 07:26 GMT
Jul 16, 1990 03:26 pm (Manila)
7.7

25 km
101 km (63 mi) to the N 6 km northeast of Bongabon, Province of Nueva Ecija, Central Luzon, Philippines More
Apr 23, 1985 16:15 GMT
Apr 24, 1985 12:15 am (Manila)
7.0

188 km
76 km (47 mi) to the NW 15 km south of Tarlac City, Tarlac, Central Luzon, Philippines More
Apr 25, 1972 19:30 GMT
Apr 26, 1972 03:30 am (Manila)
7.5

25 km
132 km (82 mi) to the SW South China Sea, 40 km northwest of Mamburao, Philippines More
Apr 7, 1970 05:34 GMT
Apr 7, 1970 01:34 pm (Manila)
7.4

25 km
127 km (79 mi) to the NE Philippine Sea, 79 km northeast of Cabanatuan City, Philippines More
Aug 1, 1968 20:19 GMT
Aug 2, 1968 04:19 am (Manila)
7.6

25 km
201 km (125 mi) to the NE Province of Aurora, Central Luzon, 69 km southeast of Santiago, Philippines More
Dec 29, 1949 03:03 GMT
Dec 29, 1949 11:03 am (Manila)
7.1

15 km
298 km (185 mi) to the N 5.3 km south of Tabuk, Kalinga, Cordillera, Philippines More
Apr 8, 1942 15:40 GMT
Apr 8, 1942 11:40 pm (Manila)
7.4

15 km
154 km (96 mi) to the S Sulu Sea, 22 km southwest of Mamburao, Western Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Aug 20, 1937 11:59 GMT
Aug 20, 1937 07:59 pm (Manila)
7.5

15 km
60 km (37 mi) to the E Philippine Sea, 43 km northeast of Santa Cruz, Laguna, Calabarzon, Philippines More

Map of largest quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings