Latest quakes in or near Lyon, Nevada, USA, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 11:39 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 53 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Lyon was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.5, 1 quake of magnitude 3.0, and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 53 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.5 earthquake was felt in California, USA, 15 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.8 | 4 Km E of Coleville, California -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.5 | 38 mi SE of South Lake Tahoe, El Dorado County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Lyon, Nevada, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:52 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:99 quakes | 18 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:243 quakes | 46 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:670 quakes | 102 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:4,577 quakes | 643 quakes M2+ | 63 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (67 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (40 quakes)
Aug 9, 2022 4:04 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 11:04 GMT)
0.8

8.5 km
4 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:39 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 10:39 GMT)
0.9

4.8 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:32 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 10:32 GMT)
0.8
7 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 3:14 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 10:14 GMT)
1.1

4.4 km
29 Km NW of Benton, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:18 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 09:18 GMT)
1.3

1.6 km
7 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 2:11 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 09:11 GMT)
0.9

6.9 km
5 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:49 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:49 GMT)
2.6

5.5 km
8km NNE of Walker, CA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:40 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:40 GMT)
1.3

4 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:30 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:30 GMT)
1.2

2.8 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:27 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:27 GMT)
0.6

6.6 km
5 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:08 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:08 GMT)
1.1

4.2 km
7 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 1:08 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 08:08 GMT)
1.1

3.1 km
7 Km ESE of Topaz, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:57 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:57 GMT)
0.9

6.5 km
5 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:56 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:56 GMT)
1.3

0.1 km
34 Km SE of Mina, Nevada MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:53 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:53 GMT)
1.1

1.3 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:50 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:50 GMT)
1.7

3.4 km
29 Km E of Herlong, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:47 GMT)
1.0

9.5 km
4 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:18 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:18 GMT)
0.7

6.8 km
4 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:10 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:10 GMT)
0.9

5.4 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:05 am (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 07:05 GMT)
1.2

10.6 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 11:59 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 9, 2022 06:59 GMT)
1.5

10.3 km
30 Km SE of Mina, Nevada MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.6 x 1011 joules (101 megawatt hours, equivalent to 86.9 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Lyon Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Lyon?

The last earthquake in Lyon occurred 34 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.8 earthquake - 4 Km E of Coleville, California, on Tuesday, Aug 9, 2022 at 4:04 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Lyon today?

In the past 24 hours, Lyon, Nevada, USA had 67 quakes up to magnitude 4.5.

What was the strongest quake in Lyon today?

The strongest earthquake in Lyon today occurred 15 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - 38 mi southeast of South Lake Tahoe, El Dorado County, California, USA, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 1:44 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings