2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Monterey, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, July 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 5, 2022 21:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 9 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Monterey had 1 quake of magnitude 2.5. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 15km NW of Pinnacles, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.5 | 15km SSE of Tres Pinos, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Monterey, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:36 quakes | 8 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:167 quakes | 34 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:455 quakes | 116 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+
Past 365 days:1,737 quakes | 471 quakes M2+ | 34 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Monterey, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, July 5, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Jul 5, 2022 9:27 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 16:27 GMT)
1.6

10.4 km
15km NW of Pinnacles, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 8:20 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 15:20 GMT)
2.5

1.3 km
15km SSE of Tres Pinos, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 5:55 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 12:55 GMT)
0.9

10.9 km
17km E of Seven Trees, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 5:28 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 12:28 GMT)
1.6

5 km
2.1 mi southeast of seonibeil, Santa Clara County, California, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 4:23 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 11:23 GMT)
0.9

10.5 km
4km S of Portola Valley, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 1:01 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 08:01 GMT)
1.0

12 km
4km SSE of Portola Valley, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 12:23 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 07:23 GMT)
0.5

10.8 km
4km SSE of Portola Valley, CA MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 12:09 am (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 07:09 GMT)
1.6

8.6 km
11km SE of Pinnacles, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 11:58 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 06:58 GMT)
0.9

10.6 km
4km SSE of Portola Valley, CA MoreMap
Jul 4, 2022 6:17 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 5, 2022 01:17 GMT)
0.4

11 km
4km SSE of Portola Valley, CA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.1 x 108 joules (114 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Monterey Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Monterey?

The last earthquake in Monterey occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 15km NW of Pinnacles, CA, on Tuesday, Jul 5, 2022 at 9:27 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Monterey today?

In the past 24 hours, Monterey, California, USA had 10 quakes up to magnitude 2.5.

What was the strongest quake in Monterey today?

The strongest earthquake in Monterey today occurred 7 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 15km SSE of Tres Pinos, CA, on Tuesday, Jul 5, 2022 at 8:20 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.