Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Marin, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Friday, February 3, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 3, 2023 21:25 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 35 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Marin had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 35 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.9 | Northern California -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.4 | 4.6 mi SW of Gilroy, Santa Clara County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Marin, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours22 quakes2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days168 quakes15 quakes M2+
Past 30 days720 quakes71 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+
Past 90 days1,845 quakes172 quakes M2+12 quakes M3+
Past 365 days5,868 quakes628 quakes M2+53 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Marin, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (37 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, February 3, 2023 GMT (33 quakes)
Feb 3, 2023 1:01 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 21:01 GMT)
0.9

2 km
Northern California More
Feb 3, 2023 1:01 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 21:01 GMT)
0.9

2 km
9km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 12:41 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 20:41 GMT)
1.2

5.2 km
Northern California More
Feb 3, 2023 12:41 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 20:41 GMT)
1.2

5.2 km
4km SE of Larkfield-Wikiup, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 12:38 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 20:38 GMT)
0.8

1.4 km
0km N of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 11:21 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 19:21 GMT)
0.5

1.4 km
7km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 10:03 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 18:03 GMT)
0.7

1.8 km
1km NE of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 9:47 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 17:47 GMT)
0.7

0.9 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 9:00 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 17:00 GMT)
1.1

3.5 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 8:09 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 16:09 GMT)
0.3

1.9 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 7:26 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 15:26 GMT)
0.8

1.4 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 6:37 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 14:37 GMT)
1.2

0.4 km
5km NNW of Boonville, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 6:28 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 14:28 GMT)
0.3

1.4 km
7km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 5:43 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 13:43 GMT)
1.0

6.5 km
6km WSW of San Juan Bautista, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 5:38 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 13:38 GMT)
0.3

2 km
3km W of Cobb, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 5:16 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 13:16 GMT)
1.2

2.2 km
3km WNW of Anderson Springs, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 5:09 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 13:09 GMT)
0.7

1.8 km
6km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 4:51 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 12:51 GMT)
1.5

13 km
13km SE of Talmage, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 4:45 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 12:45 GMT)
0.7

1.2 km
9km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 4:07 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 12:07 GMT)
1.2

1.8 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Feb 3, 2023 3:05 am (GMT -8) (Feb 3, 2023 11:05 GMT)
1.1

2.3 km
7km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 108 joules (144 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.124 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Marin Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Marin?

The last earthquake in Marin occurred 24 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.9 earthquake - Northern California on Friday, Feb 3, 2023 at 1:01 pm (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Marin today?

In the past 24 hours, Marin, California, USA had 37 quakes up to magnitude 2.4.

What was the strongest quake in Marin today?

The strongest earthquake in Marin today occurred 20 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.4 earthquake - 4.6 mi southwest of Gilroy, Santa Clara County, California, USA, on Thursday, Feb 2, 2023 at 5:39 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings