Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Monday, January 30, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 17:49 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 10 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Waimakariri District was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.3, 1 quake of magnitude 3.9, and 1 quake of magnitude 2.1. There were also 10 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.3 earthquake occurred in Canterbury, New Zealand, 14 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | Tasman, 89 km SW of Nelson, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.3 | 90 km NW of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours13 quakes1 quake M2+1 quake M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days38 quakes13 quakes M2+3 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days132 quakes53 quakes M2+11 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days325 quakes150 quakes M2+18 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,315 quakes675 quakes M2+80 quakes M3+16 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (11 quakes)
Jan 31, 2023 4:24 am (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 15:24 GMT)
1.8

62 km
Tasman, 89 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand More
Jan 31, 2023 3:36 am (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 14:36 GMT)
1.7

5 km
90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 31, 2023 12:06 am (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 11:06 GMT)
1.9

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 83 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 11:54 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 10:54 GMT)
2.1

5 km
90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 9:50 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 08:50 GMT)
1.6

3.7 km
New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 9:09 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 08:09 GMT)
1.6

7 km
New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 5:36 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 04:36 GMT)
1.8

3.4 km
90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 4:55 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 03:55 GMT)
1.2

5 km
88 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 4:32 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 03:32 GMT)
1.4

5 km
91 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 30, 2023 4:20 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 03:20 GMT)
4.3

5 km
90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 30, 2023 1:13 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 00:13 GMT)
1.6

5 km
New Zealand More
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 12:06 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 29, 2023 23:06 GMT)
3.9

5 km
New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 30, 2023 7:50 am (GMT +13) (Jan 29, 2023 18:50 GMT)
1.8

5 km
New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1011 joules (61.9 megawatt hours, equivalent to 53.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Waimakariri District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Waimakariri District?

The last earthquake in Waimakariri District occurred 2 hours and 25 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - Tasman, 89 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 at 4:24 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Waimakariri District today?

In the past 24 hours, Waimakariri District, Canterbury, New Zealand had 13 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Waimakariri District today?

The strongest earthquake in Waimakariri District today occurred 14 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - 90 km northwest of Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand, on Monday, Jan 30, 2023 at 4:20 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings