Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Kgatleng, Botswana, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 6, 2023 18:13 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 26 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Since 1900, Kgatleng has had 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 3 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 26 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | North West, 77 km NW of Pretoria, South Africa -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.1 | Ghanzi, 217 km N of Gaborone, Botswana -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 2.1 or higher (52 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jan 9, 2023 2:27 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 9, 2023 12:27 GMT)
3.1

10 km
1886 km (1172 mi)North West, 77 km northwest of Pretoria, South Africa 13 reportsMore
Dec 3, 2022 11:59 am (GMT +2) (Dec 3, 2022 09:59 GMT)
3.1

10 km
1928 km (1198 mi)27 km northwest of Brits, Bojanala Platinum, North West, South Africa More
Sep 30, 2022 12:33 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2022 22:33 GMT)
3.2

10 km
1849 km (1149 mi)37 km east of Mochudi, Kgatleng, Botswana 1 reportMore
Sep 6, 2022 11:28 am (GMT +2) (Sep 6, 2022 09:28 GMT)
3.2

10 km
1968 km (1223 mi)49 km northwest of Kanye, Ngwaketsi, Botswana More
Apr 6, 2022 3:11 am (GMT +2) (Apr 6, 2022 01:11 GMT)
2.9

10 km
1856 km (1153 mi)19 km southwest of Thabazimbi, South Africa More
Mar 14, 2022 2:11 pm (GMT +2) (Mar 14, 2022 12:11 GMT)
3.0

10 km
1778 km (1105 mi)92 km northwest of Warmbaths, South Africa 1 reportMore
Mar 7, 2022 2:34 am (GMT +2) (Mar 7, 2022 00:34 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1879 km (1168 mi)76 km north of Rustenburg, Bojanala Platinum, North West, South Africa More
Feb 14, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT +2) (Feb 14, 2022 12:33 GMT)
2.6

10 km
1821 km (1132 mi)50 km northwest of Thabazimbi, South Africa More
Feb 5, 2022 1:50 am (GMT +2) (Feb 4, 2022 23:50 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1863 km (1158 mi)26 km southwest of Thabazimbi, South Africa More
Jan 27, 2022 4:51 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 27, 2022 14:51 GMT)
3.2

10 km
1972 km (1225 mi)North West, 235 km west of Pretoria, South Africa 1 reportMore
Jan 22, 2022 5:50 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 22, 2022 15:50 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1988 km (1235 mi)Ngwaketsi, 95 km southwest of Gaborone, Botswana More
Jan 6, 2022 10:58 am (GMT +2) (Jan 6, 2022 08:58 GMT)
3.0

10 km
1958 km (1217 mi)Ngwaketsi, 101 km west of Gaborone, Botswana 1 reportMore
Jan 1, 2022 11:05 am (GMT +2) (Jan 1, 2022 09:05 GMT)
3.0

10 km
1936 km (1203 mi)Kweneng, 59 km west of Gaborone, Botswana More
Dec 31, 2021 2:17 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 31, 2021 12:17 GMT)
3.0

10 km
1916 km (1191 mi)North West, 143 km northwest of Pretoria, South Africa More
Dec 31, 2021 3:01 am (GMT +2) (Dec 31, 2021 01:01 GMT)
3.1

10 km
1932 km (1200 mi)North West, 94 km west of Pretoria, South Africa 1 reportMore
Dec 16, 2021 10:36 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 16, 2021 20:36 GMT)
3.2

10 km
1754 km (1090 mi)Ghanzi, 231 km north of Gaborone, Botswana More
Dec 14, 2021 10:05 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 14, 2021 20:05 GMT)
2.6

10 km
1802 km (1120 mi)84 km northwest of Warmbaths, South Africa More
Nov 28, 2021 10:15 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 28, 2021 20:15 GMT)
3.1

10 km
1942 km (1207 mi)21 km northwest of Rustenburg, Bojanala Platinum, North West, South Africa 1 reportMore
Nov 5, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 5, 2021 13:20 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1950 km (1212 mi)58 km northwest of Kanye, Ngwaketsi, Botswana More
Nov 3, 2021 9:05 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 3, 2021 19:05 GMT)
2.9

10 km
1741 km (1082 mi)Limpopo, South Africa, 96 km southeast of Mahalapye, Central, Botswana More
Oct 31, 2021 2:21 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 31, 2021 12:21 GMT)
2.8

10 km
1931 km (1200 mi)49 km northwest of Rustenburg, Bojanala Platinum, North West, South Africa More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.5 x 1012 joules (1.26 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1085 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Lephepe (LPHEP/BX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Lephepe: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Kgatleng Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Kgatleng?

The last earthquake in Kgatleng occurred 3 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - North West, 77 km northwest of Pretoria, South Africa, on Monday, Jan 9, 2023 at 2:27 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Kgatleng since 1900?

Since 1900, Kgatleng, Botswana had 52 quakes up to magnitude 5.1.

What was the strongest quake in Kgatleng since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Kgatleng since 1900 occurred 6 years ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - Ghanzi, 217 km north of Gaborone, Botswana, on Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 00:55 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings