Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or around the Sea of Okhotsk, past 30 days

Updated 2 Mar 2021 08:12 GMT -
During the past 30 days, the Sea of Okhotsk was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 14 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 25 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 37 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.4 quake North Pacific Ocean, 55 km south of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia, 20 Feb 2021 11:23 pm (GMT +10)
Biggest quake today: 4.2 quake Sea of Okhotsk, 59 km east of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan, 2 Mar 2021 3:01 am (GMT +11)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.7 or higher (61 out of 80 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 3:01 am (GMT +11) (1 Mar 2021 16:01:39 GMT)
4.2

324 km
(99 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 59 km east of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 13:43:27 GMT
4.0

45 km
(122 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 9:13 pm (GMT +9) (1 Mar 2021 12:13:15 GMT)
3.8

67 km
(84 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 1:46 pm (GMT +10) (1 Mar 2021 03:46:38 GMT)
2.8

130 km
(32 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 36 km northeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 4:48 am (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 19:48:24 GMT)
3.6

198 km
Daisetsu (17 km)Kamikawa-gun, 31 km east of Asahikawa, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 12:05 am (GMT +10) (28 Feb 2021 14:05:57 GMT)
4.5

80 km
(31 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 4:47 pm (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 07:47:24 GMT)
2.7

142 km
(44 km)Yūfutsu-gun, 22 km east of Chitose, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 11:27 pm (GMT +9) (25 Feb 2021 14:27:26 GMT)
2.9

91 km
(41 km)Notsuke-gun, 33 km south of Shibetsu, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 7:26 am (GMT +9) (24 Feb 2021 22:26:44 GMT)
3.5

18 km
(38 km)3.6 km south of Shibetsu, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 8:26 am (GMT +10) (24 Feb 2021 22:26:16 GMT)
4.8

141 km
unnamed (3 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 54 km southwest of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 6:52 pm (GMT +10) (24 Feb 2021 08:52:59 GMT)
3.0

24 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia, 89 km east of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 7:38 am (GMT +10) (23 Feb 2021 21:38:58 GMT)
3.3

90 km
(87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 33 km east of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 12:43 am (GMT +10) (23 Feb 2021 14:43:28 GMT)
3.4

41 km
(100 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia, 74 km east of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 5:47 pm (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 08:47:55 GMT)
3.0

143 km
Mashu (23 km)Kawakami-gun, 47 km north of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 4:09 am (GMT +10) (22 Feb 2021 18:09:57 GMT)
4.4

45 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 222 km east of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 8:13 pm (GMT +10) (22 Feb 2021 10:13:49 GMT)
2.9

48 km
(81 km)North Pacific Ocean, 45 km east of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 5:11 pm (GMT +9) (22 Feb 2021 08:11:32 GMT)
3.1

181 km
(31 km)Abashiri District, 19 km east of Kitami, Ktiami Shi, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 10:55 am (GMT +9) (22 Feb 2021 01:55:55 GMT)
4.8

51 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 31 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 6:55 pm (GMT +9) (21 Feb 2021 09:55:10 GMT)
2.8

142 km
Shikotsu (24 km)24 km southwest of Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 12:59 pm (GMT +12) (21 Feb 2021 00:59:38 GMT)
4.6

48 km
Gamchen (17 km) - Kamchatka, Russia255 km northeast of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 11:23 pm (GMT +10) (20 Feb 2021 13:23:27 GMT)
5.4

60 km
(113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 55 km south of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia 3 reportsMoreMap
20 Feb 2021 3:38 pm (GMT +12) (20 Feb 2021 03:38:45 GMT)
3.9

180 km
Koryaksky (18 km)40 km north of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 10:38 am (GMT +9) (20 Feb 2021 01:38:22 GMT)
3.4

115 km
Mashu (6 km)Kawakami-gun, 56 km north of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 11:44 am (GMT +11) (17 Feb 2021 00:44:08 GMT)
4.3

50 km
(216 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 9:10 am (GMT +10) (16 Feb 2021 23:10:08 GMT)
3.2

42 km
(109 km)North Pacific Ocean, 51 km south of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 9:55 pm (GMT +12) (16 Feb 2021 09:55:31 GMT)
5.2

139 km
Ozernoy (22 km) - Kamchatka, Russia157 km southwest of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 22:24:32 GMT
4.1

60 km
(69 km)250 km northeast of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 7:20 am (GMT +10) (15 Feb 2021 21:20:02 GMT)
5.0

102 km
Goriaschaia Sopka (25 km)Sea of Okhotsk, Russia MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 11:42 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 14:42:55 GMT)
2.7

54 km
Mashu (70 km)North Pacific Ocean, 21 km southeast of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:05 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 13:05:29 GMT)
2.7

143 km
Mashu (11 km)Notsuke-gun, 55 km northeast of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 9:02 pm (GMT +12) (15 Feb 2021 09:02:24 GMT)
4.0

150 km
(35 km)136 km north of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 9:28 am (GMT +11) (12 Feb 2021 22:28:39 GMT)
4.2

35 km
(118 km)North Pacific Ocean, 95 km south of Ust’-Kamchatsk Staryy, Ust-Kamchatsky District, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 11:18 am (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 02:18:58 GMT)
3.9

263 km
Daisetsu (126 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 43 km north of Mombetsu, Monbetsu Shi, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 8:09 am (GMT +11) (11 Feb 2021 21:09:49 GMT)
4.6

51 km
(59 km)North Pacific Ocean, 145 km northeast of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:35 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 16:35:00 GMT)
2.9

215 km
(88 km)Ishikari-gun, 24 km west of Sunagawa, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:10 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 16:10:36 GMT)
3.6

251 km
Daisetsu (99 km)23 km west of Nayoro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 10:05 pm (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 13:05:20 GMT)
3.2

239 km
(69 km)Japan Sea, 87 km northwest of Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 12:39 pm (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 03:39:53 GMT)
3.9

110 km
(73 km)13 km south of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 8:34 am (GMT +10) (10 Feb 2021 22:34:24 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(39 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 26 km northeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 5:25 pm (GMT +10) (10 Feb 2021 07:25:39 GMT)
2.9

21 km
(141 km)North Pacific Ocean, 92 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 11:01 am (GMT +9) (10 Feb 2021 02:01:33 GMT)
2.8

90 km
(67 km)Saru-gun, 47 km west of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 1:11 am (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 16:11:19 GMT)
3.6

261 km
(83 km)Teshio Gun, 98 km northwest of Asahikawa, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 8:35 am (GMT +10) (8 Feb 2021 22:35:40 GMT)
4.5

85 km
(101 km)Sea of Okhotsk, 22 km southwest of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 6:01 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 21:01:43 GMT)
2.9

146 km
Akan (29 km)Abashiri District, 20 km southeast of Kitami, Ktiami Shi, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 6:37 pm (GMT +10) (8 Feb 2021 08:37:30 GMT)
3.5

157 km
Berutarube (2 km)169 km northeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Giappone MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 11:50 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 02:50:22 GMT)
2.7

90 km
Mashu (81 km)North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Moyururi Tō Island, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 12:20 pm (GMT +10) (7 Feb 2021 02:20:50 GMT)
2.7

20 km
(134 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 23:47:15 GMT
3.6

120 km
Koryaksky (6 km)25 km north of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy, Kamchatka, Russia MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 9:47 pm (GMT +9) (6 Feb 2021 12:47:46 GMT)
3.4

106 km
(75 km)Nakagawa-gun, 15 km southeast of Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 4:35 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 19:35:02 GMT)
2.9

7.3 km
(76 km)Nakagawa Gun, 68 km southeast of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 4:10 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 19:10:01 GMT)
3.7

5 km
(77 km)Nakagawa Gun, 69 km southeast of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 4:02 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 19:02:42 GMT)
3.5

5.7 km
(76 km)Nakagawa Gun, 68 km southeast of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 4:51 pm (GMT +10) (5 Feb 2021 06:51:33 GMT)
2.7

43 km
(95 km)North Pacific Ocean, Russia, 67 km east of Nemuro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:16 pm (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 04:16:50 GMT)
3.3

229 km
Daisetsu (60 km)Kamikawa-gun (Teshio no kuni), 36 km north of Asahikawa, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 11:25 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 02:25:40 GMT)
3.4

19 km
(136 km)Japan Sea, 162 km west of Otaru, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 5:27 am (GMT +10) (4 Feb 2021 19:27:35 GMT)
4.9

86 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Kuril'sk, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 5:04 am (GMT +10) (3 Feb 2021 19:04:53 GMT)
2.7

57 km
(142 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km south of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 10:20 pm (GMT +12) (3 Feb 2021 10:20:21 GMT)
5.0

21 km
(118 km)North Pacific Ocean, 40 km west of Bering Island, Kamchatka, Russia 1 reportMoreMap
3 Feb 2021 5:21 pm (GMT +9) (3 Feb 2021 08:21:58 GMT)
2.7

67 km
Akan (69 km)North Pacific Ocean, 45 km southwest of Kushiro, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Feb 2021 6:58 am (GMT +10) (1 Feb 2021 20:58:52 GMT)
3.6

5 km
Berutarube (128 km)North Pacific Ocean, 103 km east of Shikotan, Sakhalin Oblast, Russia MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 3:42 am (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 18:42:09 GMT)
2.7

6.2 km
(77 km)Esashi Gun, 68 km southeast of Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1013 joules (6.2 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5333 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.