Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2022 14:34 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Alger, Algeria: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 29, 2022 14:34 GMT -
During 2020, Alger was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 20 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.3 quake Mediterranean Sea, Eastern Basin, 6 km northwest of Blida (Itaborai), Blida, Algeria, Nov 27, 2020 3:12 am (GMT +1)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 18:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 30, 2020 7:01 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 30, 2020 18:01 GMT)
3.2

8 km
Aïn Defla, 7.8 km north of Medea, Algeria MoreMap
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 18:36 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 23, 2020 7:36 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 23, 2020 18:36 GMT)
3.7

3 km
23 km east of Berrouaghia, Medea, Algeria 11 reportsMoreMap
Friday, November 27, 2020 02:12 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 27, 2020 3:12 am (GMT +1) (Nov 27, 2020 02:12 GMT)
4.3

34 km
Mediterranean Sea, Eastern Basin, 6 km northwest of Blida (Itaborai), Blida, Algeria 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, November 26, 2020 19:00 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Nov 26, 2020 8:00 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 26, 2020 19:00 GMT)
3.5

10 km
Mouzaia, Blida Province, 19 km southwest of Beni Mered (Blida), Algeria MoreMap
Nov 26, 2020 8:00 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 26, 2020 19:00 GMT)
4.2

10 km
Mouzaia, 13 km southwest of Blida (Itaborai), Blida, Algeria 17 reportsMoreMap
Nov 26, 2020 6:28 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 26, 2020 17:28 GMT)
3.6

7 km
Mouzaia, Blida Province, 17 km west of Beni Mered (Blida), Algeria 4 reportsMoreMap
Friday, November 20, 2020 19:31 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 20, 2020 8:31 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 20, 2020 19:31 GMT)
3.9

10 km
16 km northwest of Blida, Wilaya de Blida, Algeria 11 reportsMoreMap
Nov 20, 2020 8:31 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 20, 2020 19:31 GMT)
3.2

10 km
16 km northwest of Blida, Wilaya de Blida, Algeria MoreMap
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 06:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
28 Oct 7:05 am (GMT +1) (Oct 28, 2020 06:05 GMT)
3.6

25 km
35 km northeast of Boumerdas, Wilaya de Boumerdès, Algeria 6 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, October 10, 2020 15:52 GMT (2 earthquakes)
10 Oct 4:52 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 10, 2020 15:52 GMT)
3.9

14 km
18 km southwest of Algiers, Wilaya d'Alger, Algeria 17 reportsMoreMap
10 Oct 4:52 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 10, 2020 15:52 GMT)
3.2

14 km
1.9 km northwest of Chebli, Bouinan, Blida, Algeria 4 reportsMoreMap
Monday, September 14, 2020 19:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 14, 2020 19:51 GMT
3.8

16 km
21 km northeast of Algiers, Wilaya d'Alger, Algeria 19 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, August 29, 2020 15:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 29, 2020 15:01 GMT
3.3

10 km
Western Mediterranean, 52 km north of Algiers, Algeria 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, August 13, 2020 08:04 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 13, 2020 08:04 GMT
4.3
49 km west of Algiers, Wilaya d'Alger, Algeria 2 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, August 2, 2020 18:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 2, 2020 18:13 GMT
3.1

23 km
Western Mediterranean, 5.1 km northwest of Kêf Bisnês Island, Tipaza, Algeria 5 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, July 25, 2020 20:46 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jul 25, 2020 20:46 GMT
2.9

21 km
Western Mediterranean, 11 km north of 'Ain Benian, Cheraga, Alger MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.6 x 1011 joules (212 megawatt hours, equivalent to 182 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.