Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.5 earthquake 7.6 km northwest of Mariara, Carabobo, Venezuela - Jan 20, 2024 - 6 weeks ago
Strongest since 2022Mag. 4.6 69 km west of Valle de La Pascua, Guarico, Venezuela - Mar 15, 2022 - 1 year 50 weeks ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 22:24 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Aragua, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Aragua in the past 24 hours.

Since 2022, Aragua has had 19 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 4.6:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 5 unconfirmed quakes
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2022, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (24 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Jan 20, 03:58 pm (Caracas)
Jan 20, 19:58 GMT

2.5

4.6 km
1 km (0.6 mi) to the NW 7.6 km northwest of Mariara, Carabobo, Venezuela More
Monday, December 18, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 18, 2023 03:35 am (Caracas)
Dec 18, 2023 07:35 GMT

?

n/a
25 km (16 mi) to the W 9.9 km north of Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela (unconfirmed) 6 reportsMore
Saturday, September 9, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Sep 9, 2023 11:56 am (Caracas)
Sep 9, 2023 15:56 GMT

2.8

5.5 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 42 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Sep 9, 2023 11:56 am (Caracas)
Sep 9, 2023 15:56 GMT

2.8

5.5 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 42 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Sep 9, 2023 10:20 am (GMT -4)
Sep 9, 2023 14:20 GMT

2.8

6.2 km
25 km (16 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 29 km northeast of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela More
Sep 9, 2023 10:20 am (GMT -4)
Sep 9, 2023 14:20 GMT

2.8

6.2 km
25 km (16 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 29 km northeast of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela More
Monday, September 4, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 4, 2023 06:48 am (Caracas)
Sep 4, 2023 10:48 GMT

2.7

1.8 km
6 km (3.7 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 37 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Sep 4, 2023 06:48 am (Caracas)
Sep 4, 2023 10:48 GMT

2.7

1.8 km
6 km (3.7 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 37 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Friday, September 1, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 1, 2023 02:32 pm (Caracas)
Sep 1, 2023 18:32 GMT

2.9

6.4 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the NW 38 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Sep 1, 2023 02:32 pm (Caracas)
Sep 1, 2023 18:32 GMT

2.9

6.4 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the NW 38 km north of Maracay, Aragua, Venezuela More
Wednesday, August 9, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 9, 2023 09:04 am (Caracas)
Aug 9, 2023 13:04 GMT

3.5

9.9 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NW Caribbean Sea, 23 km northwest of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela 9 reportsMore
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.5 x 1011 joules (180 megawatt hours, equivalent to 155 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Aragua Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santo Domingo, Venezuela (SDV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santo Domingo, Venezuela: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 373 quakes on average per year in or near Aragua, Venezuela:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.01 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 100 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.03 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 33.3 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.07 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 14.3 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 1.25 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 10 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 37 quakes per year
Aragua has relatively few earthquakes. However, Aragua has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 30 to 35 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela, by magnitude

365 days
3 years
10 years
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (10%)
2+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (90%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (50 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4%)
3+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (18%)
2+
39 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (78%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (373 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.27%)
4+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.22%)
3+
89 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (23.86%)
2+
271 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (72.65%)

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Aragua Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela?

Aragua has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 373 quakes on average per year in or near Aragua, Venezuela. However, Aragua has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 30 to 35 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Aragua?

The last earthquake in Aragua occurred 6 weeks ago:

A light magnitude 2.5 earthquake hit 7.6 km (4.7 mi) away from Mariara, Carabobo,  Venezuela, in the early afternoon of Saturday, Jan 20, 2024 at 3.58 pm local time (America/Caracas GMT -4). The quake had a very shallow depth of 4.6 km (2.9 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Aragua since 2022?

Since 2022, Aragua has been shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 15 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Aragua since 2022?

The strongest earthquake in Aragua since 2022 occurred 1 year 50 weeks ago:

A strong magnitude 4.6 earthquake hit 69 km (43 mi) away from Valle de La Pascua, Guarico,  Venezuela, around noon of Tuesday, Mar 15, 2022 at 1.06 pm local time (America/Caracas GMT -4). The quake had a very shallow depth of 10 km (6 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Aragua, Venezuela, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.3 earthquake that hit Carabobo,  Venezuela, 5 years ago on Thursday, Dec 27, 2018, at 04:59 am local time (America/Caracas GMT -4).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 7.7 earthquake Caribbean Sea, Caracas, Venezuela - Oct 29, 1900 - 123 years ago
123 years ago, Caribbean Sea,  Venezuela, was hit by a magnitude 7.7 quake on Monday, Oct 29, 1900, at 05:11 am local time (America/Caracas GMT -4). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Aragua, Venezuela, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Mar 15, 2022 17:06 GMT
Mar 15, 2022 01:06 pm (Caracas)
4.6

10 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the SE 69 km west of Valle de La Pascua, Guarico, Venezuela 15 reportsMore
Aug 28, 2019 01:35 GMT
Aug 27, 2019 09:35 pm (Caracas)
4.3

4.9 km
25 km (16 mi) to the W 13 km north of Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela 19 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2018 09:24 GMT
Dec 27, 2018 05:24 am (Caracas)
4.5

9 km
35 km (22 mi) to the W 10.5 km northwest of Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela 28 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2018 08:59 GMT
Dec 27, 2018 04:59 am (Caracas)
5.3

10 km
23 km (14 mi) to the W 17 km south of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela 116 reportsMore
Dec 5, 2018 09:33 GMT
Dec 5, 2018 05:33 am (Caracas)
4.7

2 km
84 km (52 mi) to the W 21 km northeast of San Felipe, Yaracuy, Venezuela 3 reportsMore
May 23, 2018 11:23 GMT
May 23, 2018 07:23 am (Caracas)
4.2

10 km
16 km (9.9 mi) to the W 15 km northwest of Guacara, Carabobo, Venezuela 8 reportsMore
Apr 27, 2018 08:44 GMT
Apr 27, 2018 04:44 am (Caracas)
4.6

10 km
30 km (19 mi) to the W 6.3 km south of Tacarigua, Carabobo, Venezuela 40 reportsMore
Aug 30, 2017 14:01 GMT
Aug 30, 2017 10:01 am (Caracas)
4.5

10.8 km
79 km (49 mi) to the NE Caribbean Sea, 29 km northeast of Guarenas, Caracas, Venezuela More
Aug 10, 2015 16:59 GMT
Aug 10, 2015 12:59 pm (GMT -4)
4.8

15 km
60 km (37 mi) to the N Caribbean Sea, 66 km northwest of Catia La Mar, La Guaira, Venezuela More
Aug 16, 2014 12:39 GMT
Aug 16, 2014 08:39 am (Caracas)
4.6

19 km
26 km northeast of El Limon, Aragua, Venezuela 3 reportsMore
Sep 12, 2009 20:06 GMT
Sep 12, 2009 04:06 pm (GMT -4)
6.4

14 km
27 km (17 mi) to the NW 28 km north of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela More
May 4, 2009 09:10 GMT
May 4, 2009 05:10 am (Caracas)
5.5

6.1 km
8 km (5 mi) to the NE 15 km west of Cua, Caracas, Venezuela More
Apr 30, 1989 08:22 GMT
Apr 30, 1989 04:22 am (Caracas)
6.0

20 km
76 km (47 mi) to the NW Falcon, 64 km northwest of Portus Cabellensis, Carabobo, Venezuela More
Jul 30, 1967 00:00 GMT
Jul 29, 1967 08:00 pm (Caracas)
6.6

25 km
4 km (2.5 mi) to the N 33 km west of Catia La Mar, La Guaira, Venezuela More
Oct 29, 1900 09:11 GMT
Oct 29, 1900 05:11 am (Caracas)
7.7

0 km
132 km (82 mi) to the NE Caribbean Sea, 90 km northeast of Guarenas, Caracas, Venezuela More

Map of largest quakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Aragua, Venezuela

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings