Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Sumatera Utara, Indonesia, past 30 days

Updated 5 Mar 2021 17:20 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Sumatera Utara was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 22 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 2 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.0 quake Indian Ocean, 74 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia, 15 Feb 2021 11:57 am (GMT +7)
Most recent quake: 3.0 quake 49 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia, 2 Mar 2021 4:18 pm (GMT +7)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (43 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 4:18 pm (GMT +7) (2 Mar 2021 09:18:28 GMT)
3.0

14 km
(55 km)49 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 6:21 am (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 23:21:48 GMT)
3.2

30 km
(93 km)24 km east of Singkil, Aceh, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 5:28 am (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 22:28:05 GMT)
1.8

10 km
Toba (28 km)Northern Sumatra, Indonesia MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:40 am (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 19:40:10 GMT)
2.2

10 km
Toba (24 km)12 km south of Tomok Bolon, Kabupaten Samosir, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:16 am (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 19:16:32 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(51 km)45 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 9:17 pm (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 14:17:12 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(36 km)87 km south of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 7:44 pm (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 12:44:08 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(54 km)50 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 3:48 pm (GMT +7) (1 Mar 2021 08:48:12 GMT)
2.0

10 km
Toba (19 km)18 km south of Tomok Bolon, Kabupaten Samosir, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
1 Mar 2021 6:59 am (GMT +7) (28 Feb 2021 23:59:41 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(139 km)Indian Ocean, 73 km northeast of Sinabang, Kabupaten Simeulue, Aceh, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
1 Mar 2021 4:48 am (GMT +7) (28 Feb 2021 21:48:45 GMT)
3.7

24 km
(111 km)Indian Ocean, 91 km west of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 12:38 pm (GMT +7) (28 Feb 2021 05:38:48 GMT)
3.7

175 km
(61 km)128 km northwest of Payakumbuh, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 3:37 pm (GMT +7) (25 Feb 2021 08:37:55 GMT)
3.8

21 km
(113 km)Indian Ocean, 138 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 10:50 pm (GMT +7) (23 Feb 2021 15:50:05 GMT)
2.4

10 km
(47 km)44 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 9:23 pm (GMT +7) (22 Feb 2021 14:23:47 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(45 km)56 km west of Kabanjahe, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 4:53 am (GMT +7) (21 Feb 2021 21:53:50 GMT)
3.2

58 km
(70 km)Indian Ocean, 77 km northwest of Pariaman, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 01:38:57 GMT
3.0

10 km
(30 km)20 km east of Kabanjahe, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 22:48:59 GMT
3.2

25 km
(285 km)Indian Ocean, 93 km southwest of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT +7) (19 Feb 2021 15:42:34 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(159 km)Indian Ocean, 69 km north of Sinabang, Kabupaten Simeulue, Aceh, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
19 Feb 2021 8:51 pm (GMT +7) (19 Feb 2021 13:51:04 GMT)
2.2

10 km
Toba (23 km)16 km south of Parapat, Kabupaten Toba Samosir, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 10:32 am (GMT +7) (19 Feb 2021 03:32:53 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Tandikat (12 km)6 km west of Bukittinggi, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 10:30 pm (GMT +7) (18 Feb 2021 15:30:32 GMT)
3.6

167 km
(32 km)36 km northeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 2:02 am (GMT +7) (17 Feb 2021 19:02:35 GMT)
3.2

10 km
Toba (48 km)34 km southwest of Pematangsiantar, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:01 am (GMT +7) (17 Feb 2021 19:01:17 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Toba (41 km)36 km southwest of Pematangsiantar, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 5:53 am (GMT +7) (15 Feb 2021 22:53:45 GMT)
3.5

15 km
(238 km)Indian Ocean, 43 km south of Sinabang, Kabupaten Simeulue, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 9:52 pm (GMT +7) (15 Feb 2021 14:52:29 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(80 km)98 km north of Singkil, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 11:57 am (GMT +7) (15 Feb 2021 04:57:14 GMT)
5.0

74 km
(85 km)Indian Ocean, 74 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia 3 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +7) (13 Feb 2021 05:34:44 GMT)
4.6

24 km
(242 km)Indian Ocean, 66 km southwest of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 10:08 am (GMT +7) (13 Feb 2021 03:08:04 GMT)
2.3

16 km
Talakmau (17 km)75 km northwest of Bukittinggi, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 10:35 pm (GMT +7) (11 Feb 2021 15:35:12 GMT)
4.1

62 km
(100 km)Indian Ocean, 106 km southeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 9:33 am (GMT +7) (10 Feb 2021 02:33:09 GMT)
3.6

28 km
(119 km)Indian Ocean, 152 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 3:44 am (GMT +7) (9 Feb 2021 20:44:37 GMT)
4.3

23 km
Toba (127 km)Indian Ocean, 35 km south of Singkil, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +7) (8 Feb 2021 05:34:31 GMT)
3.4

37 km
(73 km)143 km southwest of Langsa, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 4:07 am (GMT +7) (7 Feb 2021 21:07:51 GMT)
1.8

51 km
(62 km)Northern Sumatra, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 1:38 am (GMT +7) (7 Feb 2021 18:38:06 GMT)
3.1

13 km
(138 km)Indian Ocean, 51 km east of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 5:58 pm (GMT +7) (7 Feb 2021 10:58:35 GMT)
3.2

13 km
(52 km)50 km northeast of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 9:18 am (GMT +7) (6 Feb 2021 02:18:19 GMT)
3.2

10 km
(32 km)87 km southwest of Lhokseumawe, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 9:11 am (GMT +7) (6 Feb 2021 02:11:32 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(76 km)99 km east of Meulaboh, Kabupaten Aceh Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 10:17 pm (GMT +7) (5 Feb 2021 15:17:24 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Sibualbuali (18 km)38 km north of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 10:11 pm (GMT +7) (5 Feb 2021 15:11:07 GMT)
2.7

10 km
Sibualbuali (25 km)44 km north of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 5:56 pm (GMT +7) (5 Feb 2021 10:56:10 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(34 km)131 km northwest of Bukittinggi, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 12:01 pm (GMT +7) (5 Feb 2021 05:01:42 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Sibualbuali (18 km)34 km northwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 10:35 pm (GMT +7) (4 Feb 2021 15:35:14 GMT)
4.7

19 km
Toba (151 km)Indian Ocean, 51 km north of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 12:07 am (GMT +6) (3 Feb 2021 18:07:58 GMT)
3.1

13 km
Sibualbuali (268 km)Indian Ocean, 83 km southwest of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1012 joules (1.05 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 900 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel