Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Astara, Azerbaijan, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jun 25, 2022 00:48 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 188 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Astara has had 6 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 17 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 188 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 17 km S of Rasht, Gilan Province, Iran -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.4 | 23 km SW of Ahar, East Azerbaijan, Iran -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (211 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Aug 12, 2022 10:51 pm (GMT +4:30) (Aug 12, 2022 18:21 GMT)
4.3

10 km
193 km (120 mi)17 km south of Rasht, Gilan Province, Iran 13 reportsMore
Jul 30, 2022 5:16 am (GMT +4:30) (Jul 30, 2022 00:46 GMT)
4.2

10 km
96 km (60 mi)40 km south of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 1 reportMore
Jul 22, 2022 10:54 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 22, 2022 18:24 GMT)
4.1
102 km (63 mi)Gilan Province, 17 km east of Khalkhāl, Ardabil Province, Iran More
Jul 3, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jul 3, 2022 14:05 GMT)
4.3

8 km
227 km (141 mi)Caspian Sea, 23 km northeast of Langarūd, Gilan Province, Iran 7 reportsMore
Feb 9, 2022 2:25 am (GMT +3:30) (Feb 8, 2022 22:55 GMT)
4.0

9 km
24 km (15 mi)35 km southwest of Ardebil, Ardabil Province, Iran 1 reportMore
Feb 28, 2021 8:47 am (GMT +3:30) (Feb 28, 2021 05:17 GMT)
4.4

7 km
66 km (41 mi)51 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 1 reportMore
Jan 17, 2021 6:08 am (GMT +3:30) (Jan 17, 2021 02:38 GMT)
4.3

11 km
54 km (34 mi)68 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran More
Feb 15, 2020 21:45 GMT
4.4

6 km
24 km (15 mi)23 km southwest of Ardabīl, Ardabil, Ardabil Province, Iran 43 reportsMore
Feb 12, 2020 10:53 GMT
4.3

10 km
182 km (113 mi)21 km south of Rasht, Gilan Province, Iran 62 reportsMore
Nov 19, 2019 13:45 GMT
4.0

28 km
85 km (53 mi)Lerik Rayon, 19 km west of Lankaran, Azerbaijan 1 reportMore
2019-11-18 04:08:41 +03:30 (Nov 18, 2019 00:38 GMT)
4.0

14 km
55 km (34 mi)East Azerbaijan, 69 km southwest of Ardebil, Ardabil Province, Iran More
Nov 10, 2019 03:21 GMT
4.0

7 km
77 km (48 mi)42 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 1 reportMore
Nov 10, 2019 02:13 GMT
4.4

10 km
70 km (43 mi)53 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 38 reportsMore
Nov 8, 2019 13:51 GMT
4.6

13 km
72 km (45 mi)53 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 51 reportsMore
Nov 7, 2019 23:32 GMT
4.3

18 km
68 km (42 mi)49 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 1 reportMore
Nov 7, 2019 22:55 GMT
4.1
71 km (44 mi)East Azerbaijan, 84 km southwest of Ardebil, Ardabil Province, Iran 6 reportsMore
Nov 7, 2019 22:50 GMT
4.1

10 km
74 km (46 mi)41 km northeast of Azaran, Hashtroud, East Azerbaijan, Iran 19 reportsMore
Nov 7, 2019 22:47 GMT
6.0

10 km
67 km (42 mi)East Azerbaijan, 82 km southwest of Ardebil, Ardabil Province, Iran 590 reportsMore
Sep 11, 2019 12:56 GMT
4.0

28 km
107 km (66 mi)Caspian Sea, 18 km southeast of Lankaran, Azerbaijan More
Dec 17, 2018 10:03 GMT
4.8

10 km
135 km (84 mi)Caspian Sea, 55 km east of Āstārā, Gilan Province, Iran 2 reportsMore
Aug 28, 2018 12:57 GMT
4.6

10 km
97 km (60 mi)Caspian Sea, 5.8 km northeast of Lankaran, Azerbaijan 9 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.3 x 1014 joules (231 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2 x 105 tons of TNT or 12.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Garni, Armenia (GNI/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Garni, Armenia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Astara Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Astara?

The last earthquake in Astara occurred 8 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - 17 km south of Rasht, Gilan Province, Iran, on Friday, Aug 12, 2022 at 10:51 pm (GMT +4:30).

How many quakes were there in Astara since 1900?

Since 1900, Astara, Azerbaijan had 211 quakes up to magnitude 6.4.

What was the strongest quake in Astara since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Astara since 1900 occurred 10 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.4 earthquake - 23 km southwest of Ahar, East Azerbaijan, Iran, on Sat, 11 Aug 2012 16:23 (Asia/Tehran).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings