Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 20, 2022 08:05 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Sarchi, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica: past 7 days

Updated Jan 20, 2022 08:05 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Sarchi was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.6, 1 quake of magnitude 3.6, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.6 quake Orotina, Provincia de Alajuela, 52 km west of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, Jan 13, 2022 2:32 pm (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 2.6 quake Dota, 44 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, Jan 19, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, January 20, 2022 00:52 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 19, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 20, 2022 00:52 GMT)
2.6

33 km
Dota, 44 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Monday, January 17, 2022 20:41 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 17, 2022 2:41 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 17, 2022 20:41 GMT)
3.6

8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 3:08 am (GMT -6) (Jan 17, 2022 09:08 GMT)
2.6

72 km
Santa Barbara, Provincia de Heredia, 14 km northwest of San Jose, Costa Rica MoreMap
Jan 16, 2022 10:58 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 17, 2022 04:58 GMT)
2.9

69 km
Cartago, Provincia de Cartago, 17 km southeast of San Jose, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sunday, January 16, 2022 09:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 16, 2022 3:33 am (GMT -6) (Jan 16, 2022 09:33 GMT)
2.7

51 km
Puntarenas, Provincia de Puntarenas, 95 km west of San Jose, Costa Rica MoreMap
Saturday, January 15, 2022 10:47 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 15, 2022 4:47 am (GMT -6) (Jan 15, 2022 10:47 GMT)
2.6

8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 64 km west of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, January 13, 2022 19:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 13, 2022 2:32 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 13, 2022 19:32 GMT)
4.6

33 km
Orotina, Provincia de Alajuela, 52 km west of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 81 reports
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 1011 joules (145 megawatt hours, equivalent to 124 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.