Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Angostura, Sinaloa, Mexico, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 8, 2022 19:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 18 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 68 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 359 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Angostura has had 18 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 68 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 359 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 141 km NE of San José del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California Sur, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.9 | 132 km SW of Navolato, Sinaloa, Mexico -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (445 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Oct 25, 2022 8:28 am (GMT -7) (Oct 25, 2022 15:28 GMT)
4.3

10 km
372 km (231 mi)141 km northeast of San José del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Oct 2, 2022 12:44 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2022 19:44 GMT)
4.4

9 km
423 km (263 mi)171 km southwest of Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico More
Oct 2, 2022 1:00 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 19:00 GMT)
5.5

21 km
399 km (248 mi)158 km east of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico 48 reportsMore
Aug 6, 2022 1:01 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 6, 2022 20:01 GMT)
4.2

16 km
304 km (189 mi)120 km northeast of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Aug 5, 2022 8:15 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 6, 2022 03:15 GMT)
4.5

15 km
309 km (192 mi)128 km northeast of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico 9 reportsMore
Jul 12, 2022 10:55 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 13, 2022 05:55 GMT)
4.6

10 km
398 km (247 mi)162 km southwest of Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico More
Jun 12, 2022 11:44 am (GMT -7) (Jun 12, 2022 18:44 GMT)
4.3

15 km
353 km (219 mi)135 km east of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Jun 11, 2022 7:49 am (GMT -7) (Jun 11, 2022 14:49 GMT)
4.2

10 km
239 km (149 mi)127 km northeast of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Jun 3, 2022 6:57 pm (GMT -7) (Jun 4, 2022 01:57 GMT)
4.3

10 km
238 km (148 mi)86 km southwest of Los Mochis, Ahome, Sinaloa, Mexico 1 reportMore
Jun 3, 2022 6:39 pm (GMT -7) (Jun 4, 2022 01:39 GMT)
4.6

10 km
235 km (146 mi)94 km southwest of Los Mochis, Ahome, Sinaloa, Mexico 4 reportsMore
Jun 3, 2022 7:04 pm (GMT -6) (Jun 4, 2022 01:04 GMT)
4.3

10 km
261 km (162 mi)87 km southwest of Los Mochis, Ahome, Sinaloa, Mexico 4 reportsMore
Jun 3, 2022 5:42 pm (GMT -7) (Jun 4, 2022 00:42 GMT)
4.2

10 km
266 km (165 mi)81 km southwest of Los Mochis, Ahome, Sinaloa, Mexico More
May 9, 2022 1:29 pm (GMT -7) (May 9, 2022 20:29 GMT)
4.1

14 km
293 km (182 mi)130 km northeast of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Apr 21, 2022 11:07 am (GMT -7) (Apr 21, 2022 18:07 GMT)
4.0

16 km
284 km (176 mi)120 km northeast of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Apr 11, 2022 4:37 am (GMT -7) (Apr 11, 2022 11:37 GMT)
4.7

10 km
432 km (268 mi)160 km southwest of Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico More
Mar 2, 2022 9:31 pm (GMT -7) (Mar 3, 2022 04:31 GMT)
4.2

10 km
358 km (222 mi)132 km east of La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico More
Jan 22, 2022 1:19 am (GMT -7) (Jan 22, 2022 08:19 GMT)
4.0

6 km
306 km (190 mi)Mexico More
Jan 19, 2022 11:17 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 20, 2022 06:17 GMT)
4.0

10 km
311 km (193 mi)Mexico More
Jan 15, 2022 10:20 am (GMT -7) (Jan 15, 2022 17:20 GMT)
4.1

15 km
305 km (190 mi)Mexico More
Jan 11, 2022 2:41 pm (GMT -7) (Jan 11, 2022 21:41 GMT)
4.2

10 km
302 km (188 mi)Mexico More
Jan 11, 2022 3:47 am (GMT -7) (Jan 11, 2022 10:47 GMT)
5.0

16 km
307 km (191 mi)Mexico More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.1 x 1015 joules (1688 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.5 x 106 tons of TNT or 90.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Sierra la Laguna Baja California Sur, Mexico (SLBS/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Sierra la Laguna Baja California Sur, Mexico: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Angostura Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Angostura?

The last earthquake in Angostura occurred 6 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - 141 km northeast of San José del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California Sur, Mexico, on Tuesday, Oct 25, 2022 at 8:28 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Angostura since 1900?

Since 1900, Angostura, Sinaloa, Mexico had 445 quakes up to magnitude 6.9.

What was the strongest quake in Angostura since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Angostura since 1900 occurred 101 years ago: Major magnitude 6.9 earthquake - 132 km southwest of Navolato, Sinaloa, Mexico, on Monday, June 12, 1922 at 04:47 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings