Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 30, 2022 14:28 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 30 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 30 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, Humboldt was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 30 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 30 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 41km W of Petrolia, CA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 47 mi SW of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Humboldt, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hoursno confirmed quakes
Past 7 days13 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days65 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days150 quakes | 77 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days619 quakes | 370 quakes M2+ | 60 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (65 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 22, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Sep 22, 2022 3:24 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 22, 2022 22:24 GMT)
2.9

9 km
29 mi southwest of Redding, Shasta County, California, USA More
Sep 22, 2022 10:06 am (GMT -7) (Sep 22, 2022 17:06 GMT)
2.9

5.8 km
3.2 mi east of Covelo, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Sep 21, 2022 11:00 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 22, 2022 06:00 GMT)
1.9

18 km
7km S of Humboldt Hill, CA More
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Sep 21, 2022 3:10 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 22:10 GMT)
1.8

10 km
5km NNE of Shasta, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 12:06 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 19:06 GMT)
2.3

26 km
17km W of Petrolia, CA More
Sep 21, 2022 5:55 am (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 12:55 GMT)
1.8

20 km
11km SSW of Ferndale, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 8:04 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 03:04 GMT)
1.3

13 km
8km ENE of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 8:04 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 03:04 GMT)
1.3

13 km
Near Coast of N. California More
Sep 20, 2022 7:43 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 21, 2022 02:43 GMT)
3.7

7.9 km
North Pacific Ocean, 26 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA 4 reportsMore
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Sep 20, 2022 1:35 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 20:35 GMT)
2.0

22 km
17km ENE of Hydesville, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 9:42 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 16:42 GMT)
2.1

6.5 km
5km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 9:00 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 16:00 GMT)
1.9

6.1 km
5km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 8:01 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 15:01 GMT)
2.1

6.9 km
5km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:31 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:31 GMT)
2.1

6.6 km
6km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:14 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:14 GMT)
1.9

7.2 km
3.6 mi east of Covelo, Mendocino County, California, USA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:14 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:14 GMT)
1.9

7.2 km
6km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:13 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:13 GMT)
2.0

7.2 km
6km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:12 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:12 GMT)
2.6

8.5 km
6km ENE of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:08 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:08 GMT)
2.1

5.9 km
6km E of Covelo, CA More
Sep 20, 2022 7:03 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 14:03 GMT)
4.0

9.1 km
2.9 mi east of Covelo, Mendocino County, California, USA 2 reportsMore
Sep 20, 2022 5:18 am (GMT -7) (Sep 20, 2022 12:18 GMT)
1.6

7.4 km
11km SSE of Laytonville, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1012 joules (307 megawatt hours, equivalent to 264 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Crater Lake Bunk House (CLBH/CC network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Crater Lake Bunk House: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Humboldt Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Humboldt?

The last earthquake in Humboldt occurred 2 days ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 41km W of Petrolia, CA, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 3:50 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Humboldt past month?

In the past 30 days, Humboldt, California, USA had 65 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Humboldt past month?

The strongest earthquake in Humboldt past month occurred 6 days ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - 32 mi northwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Saturday, Sep 24, 2022 at 11:27 am (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings