Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
6 quakes Mag. 2+
0 quakes Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.6 earthquake 22 mi south of Eureka, California, USA - 1 day 15 hours ago
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 4.1 North Pacific Ocean, California, USA - Feb 9, 2024 - 3 weeks ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 21:21 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Humboldt, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Humboldt in the past 24 hours.

In the past 30 days, Humboldt has had 42 quakes of magnitudes up to 4.1:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 25 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 14 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Strongest: Mag. 4.1 Earthquake North Pacific Ocean, 41 mi SW of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (45 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 27, 10:21 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 28, 06:21 GMT

1.6

17 km
22 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Feb 27, 05:19 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 28, 01:19 GMT

2.2

17 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 24 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 27, 02:44 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 27, 22:44 GMT

2.1

31 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 25 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Feb 26, 06:30 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 27, 02:30 GMT

1.7

23 km
20 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 26, 11:38 am (Los Angeles)
Feb 26, 19:38 GMT

1.3

15 km
49 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Feb 26, 04:44 am (GMT -8)
Feb 26, 12:44 GMT

2.7

16 km
29 km (18 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 44 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Sunday, February 25, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 24, 11:43 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 25, 07:43 GMT

2.2

22 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 23 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Saturday, February 24, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 23, 06:06 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 24, 02:06 GMT

1.5

21 km
18 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Feb 23, 04:47 pm (GMT -8)
Feb 24, 00:47 GMT

2.4

17 km
18 km (11 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 30 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Friday, February 23, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 23, 06:51 am (Los Angeles)
Feb 23, 14:51 GMT

2.1

20 km
12 km (7.5 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 27 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Thursday, February 22, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 21, 06:15 pm (Los Angeles)
Feb 22, 02:15 GMT

1.6

5.8 km
2 km (1.2 mi) to the SW 40 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1011 joules (45.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 39.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Humboldt Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Crater Lake Bunk House (CLBH/CC network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Crater Lake Bunk House: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 4,400 quakes on average per year in or near Humboldt, California, USA:
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.09 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 11.1 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.4 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.5 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 2.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 15.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 60 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 337 quakes per year (or 28 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 431 quakes per year (or 35.9 quakes per month)
Humboldt has a very high level of seismic activity. Humboldt has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA, by magnitude

7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (60%)
below M2
4 quakes
(40%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (42 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.76%)
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.38%)
2+
25 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (59.52%)
below M2
14 quakes
(33.33%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (72 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.17%)
3+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (5.56%)
2+
39 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (54.17%)
below M2
26 quakes
(36.11%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (584 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
12 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (2.05%)
3+
19 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (3.25%)
2+
409 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (70.03%)
below M2
144 quakes
(24.66%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (2,118 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.09%)
5+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.28%)
4+
68 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.21%)
3+
171 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (8.07%)
2+
1,481 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (69.92%)
below M2
390 quakes
(18.41%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4,386 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.14%)
5+
22 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.5%)
4+
137 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.12%)
3+
453 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (10.33%)
2+
2,812 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (64.11%)
below M2
956 quakes
(21.8%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days10 quakes46-----
Past 30 days42 quakes142512---
Past 90 days72 quakes263943---
Past 365 days584 quakes1444091912---
Past 3 years2,118 quakes3851,4811716862-
Past 10 years4,386 quakes9452,812453137226-
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Humboldt Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA?

Humboldt has a very high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 4,400 quakes on average per year in or near Humboldt, California, USA. Humboldt has had at least 5 quakes above magnitude 7 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Humboldt?

The last earthquake in Humboldt occurred 1 day 15 hours ago:

A light magnitude 1.6 earthquake hit 35 km (22 mi) away from Eureka, California,  United States, late in the evening of Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024 at 10.21 pm local time (America/Los Angeles GMT -8). The quake had a very shallow depth of 16.5 km (10 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Humboldt in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Humboldt has been shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude , and 25 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Humboldt in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Humboldt in the past 30 days occurred 3 weeks ago:

A moderate magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of California,  United States, late in the evening of Friday, Feb 9, 2024 at 11.20 pm local time (GMT -8). The quake had a very shallow depth of 9.3 km (5.8 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Humboldt, California, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 6.8 earthquake that hit North Pacific Ocean,  USA, 10 years ago on Sunday, Mar 9, 2014, at 09:18 pm (GMT -8).

Strongest since 1900

118 years ago, California,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 7.9 quake on Wednesday, Apr 18, 1906, at 06:12 am local time (America/Los Angeles GMT -7). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Humboldt, California, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Dec 20, 2022 10:34 GMT
Dec 20, 2022 02:34 am (Los Angeles)
6.4

18 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 23 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 327 reportsMore
Dec 20, 2021 20:10 GMT
Dec 20, 2021 12:10 pm (GMT -8)
6.2

15 km
30 km (19 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 45 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 525 reportsMore
Jun 4, 2021 08:17 GMT
Jun 4, 2021 12:17 am (GMT -8)
5.9

15 km
194 km (121 mi) to the NW North Pacific Ocean, 167 mi west of Medford, Jackson County, Oregon, USA 13 reportsMore
Mar 9, 2020 02:59 GMT
Mar 8, 2020 06:59 pm (GMT -8)
5.8

3.2 km
58 km (36 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 56 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 65 reportsMore
Jan 25, 2018 16:39 GMT
Jan 25, 2018 08:39 am (GMT -8)
5.8

12 km
190 km (118 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 134 mi west of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 5 reportsMore
Dec 8, 2016 14:49 GMT
Dec 8, 2016 06:49 am (GMT -8)
6.5

12 km
148 km (92 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 107 mi west of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 23 reportsMore
Jan 28, 2015 21:08 GMT
Jan 28, 2015 01:08 pm (Los Angeles)
5.7

17 km
21 km (13 mi) to the SW North Pacific Ocean, 31 mi southwest of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA 9 reportsMore
Aug 24, 2014 10:20 GMT
Aug 24, 2014 03:20 am (Los Angeles)
6.0

11 km
225 km (140 mi) to the SE 5.5 mi south of Napa, Napa County, California, USA 1508 reportsMore
Aug 24, 2014 10:20 GMT
Aug 24, 2014 03:20 am (Los Angeles)
6.0

11 km
225 km (140 mi) to the SE 5.5 mi south of Napa, Napa County, California, USA More
Mar 10, 2014 05:18 GMT
Mar 9, 2014 09:18 pm (GMT -8)
6.8

17 km
72 km (45 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 51 mi west of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 100 reportsMore
Jun 15, 2005 02:50 GMT
Jun 14, 2005 06:50 pm (GMT -8)
7.2

16 km
150 km (93 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 90 mi southwest of North West Seal Rock Island, Del Norte County, California, USA More
Sep 1, 1994 15:15 GMT
Sep 1, 1994 07:15 am (GMT -8)
7.0

5 km
160 km (99 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 116 mi west of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Apr 25, 1992 18:06 GMT
Apr 25, 1992 11:06 am (Los Angeles)
7.2

9.9 km
32 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Aug 17, 1991 22:17 GMT
Aug 17, 1991 02:17 pm (GMT -8)
7.0

1.3 km
151 km (94 mi) to the NW North Pacific Ocean, Oregon, 77 mi west of North West Seal Rock Island, Del Norte County, California, USA More
Nov 8, 1980 10:27 GMT
Nov 8, 1980 03:27 am (Los Angeles)
7.2

19 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the NW North Pacific Ocean, 14 mi northwest of McKinleyville, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Jan 31, 1922 13:17 GMT
Jan 31, 1922 05:17 am (GMT -8)
7.3

15 km
115 km (71 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 75 mi west of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA More
Apr 18, 1906 13:12 GMT
Apr 18, 1906 06:12 am (Los Angeles)
7.9

12 km
265 km (165 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 8.7 mi southwest of White Island, San Francisco County, California, USA More

Map of largest quakes in or near Humboldt, California, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings