Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Departamento de Chalatenango, El Salvador, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, February 1, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 1, 2023 10:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Chalatenango had 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 14 km N of Ahuachapan, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.7 | Departamento de Alta Verapaz, 25 km NE of Salama, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Departamento de Chalatenango, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours19 quakes9 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+
Past 7 days97 quakes48 quakes M2+23 quakes M3+
Past 30 days754 quakes429 quakes M2+116 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days1,101 quakes624 quakes M2+230 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,512 quakes1,425 quakes M2+670 quakes M3+83 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Departamento de Chalatenango, El Salvador | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 GMT (7 quakes)
Feb 1, 2023 1:52 am (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 07:52 GMT)
1.8

4 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 14 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Feb 1, 2023 1:33 am (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 07:33 GMT)
3.4

4 km
14 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Feb 1, 2023 12:12 am (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 06:12 GMT)
2.4

4 km
Guatemala, 16 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 31, 2023 11:12 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 05:12 GMT)
3.2

120 km
38 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 31, 2023 10:30 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 04:30 GMT)
2.6

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 98 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador More
Jan 31, 2023 10:05 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 04:05 GMT)
2.5

4 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 16 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 31, 2023 7:24 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 1, 2023 01:24 GMT)
2.9

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 70 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 GMT (12 quakes)
Jan 31, 2023 2:34 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 20:34 GMT)
2.6

4 km
24 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 31, 2023 2:33 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 20:33 GMT)
2.1

4 km
24 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 31, 2023 1:10 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 19:10 GMT)
2.5

6 km
24 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 31, 2023 1:06 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 19:06 GMT)
3.2

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 97 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 31, 2023 10:56 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 16:56 GMT)
2.1

6 km
25 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 31, 2023 10:04 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 16:04 GMT)
2.3

5 km
14 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 31, 2023 9:45 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 15:45 GMT)
3.4

6 km
14 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 31, 2023 8:13 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 14:13 GMT)
3.7

2 km
Departamento de Alta Verapaz, 25 km northeast of Salama, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Jan 31, 2023 7:00 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 13:00 GMT)
3.6

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 47 km south of Acajutla, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 31, 2023 5:05 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 11:05 GMT)
1.9

8 km
Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 14 km northwest of Chalchuapa, El Salvador More
Jan 31, 2023 5:00 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 11:00 GMT)
1.8

7 km
22 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 31, 2023 4:49 am (GMT -6) (Jan 31, 2023 10:49 GMT)
1.8

7 km
Guatemala, 13 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.6 x 1010 joules (18.3 megawatt hours, equivalent to 15.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Departamento de Chalatenango Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Departamento de Chalatenango?

The last earthquake in Departamento de Chalatenango occurred 2 hours and 32 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala, 14 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Feb 1, 2023 at 1:52 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Departamento de Chalatenango today?

In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Chalatenango, El Salvador had 19 quakes up to magnitude 3.7.

What was the strongest quake in Departamento de Chalatenango today?

The strongest earthquake in Departamento de Chalatenango today occurred 20 hours ago: Moderate mag. 3.7 earthquake - Departamento de Alta Verapaz, 25 km northeast of Salama, Guatemala, on Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 at 8:13 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings