Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 6, 2021 08:07 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Arequipa, Peru: past 7 days

Updated Dec 6, 2021 08:07 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Arequipa was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake South Pacific Ocean, 87 km south of Acari, Provincia de Caraveli, Arequipa, Peru, Dec 2, 2021 6:31 pm (GMT -5)
Biggest quake today: 3.5 quake Provincia de Caylloma, 91 km northwest of Arequipa, Peru, Dec 5, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT -5)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 19:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2021 2:54 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 5, 2021 19:54 GMT)
3.5

7 km
Provincia de Caylloma, 91 km northwest of Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 12:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 3, 2021 7:50 am (GMT -5) (Dec 3, 2021 12:50 GMT)
4.0

42 km
South Pacific Ocean, 75 km south of Acari, Provincia de Caraveli, Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, December 2, 2021 23:31 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 2, 2021 6:31 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2021 23:31 GMT)
4.2

27 km
South Pacific Ocean, 87 km south of Acari, Provincia de Caraveli, Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 2, 2021 4:09 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2021 21:09 GMT)
3.8

182 km
Provincia de Tarata, 77 km northeast of Tacna, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 2, 2021 12:01 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2021 05:01 GMT)
3.7

30 km
Jorge Basadre, Tacna, 35 km east of Ilo, Moquegua, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 11:36 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 1, 2021 6:36 am (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2021 11:36 GMT)
4.0

13 km
Provincia de Caylloma, 79 km northwest of Cono Norte, Arequipa, Peru
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 10:45 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2021 03:45 GMT)
3.3

146 km
36 km northeast of Tacna, Peru
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 13:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 30, 2021 8:02 am (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2021 13:02 GMT)
3.5

8 km
3.6 km east of Chuquitira, Provincia de Tarata, Tacna, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1011 joules (92.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 79.9 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.