Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
13 quakes Mag. 2+
4 quakes Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.3 earthquake Bering Sea, Alaska, USA -
Strongest past 7 daysMag. 5.5 278 mi east of Attu Station, Alaska, USA -
Updated: Mar 1, 2024 08:31 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Aleutians West, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Aleutians West has had 10 quakes of magnitudes up to 5.0.

In the past 7 days, Aleutians West has had 38 quakes of magnitudes up to 5.5:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 25 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Latest today: Mag. 2.3 Earthquake Bering Sea, 22 mi NE of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 7 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (39 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 11:35 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 20:35 GMT

2.3

13 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 22 mi northeast of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 07:23 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 17:23 GMT

1.4

20 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 9 mi northeast of Great Sitkin Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 04:55 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 14:55 GMT

0.7

1.8 km
1 km (0.6 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 4.5 mi northwest of Great Sitkin Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 05:34 am (Anchorage)
Feb 29, 14:34 GMT

0.3

8 km
77 mi southwest of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 03:10 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 13:10 GMT

0.8

1.8 km
23 mi northeast of Adak, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 04:03 am (Anchorage)
Feb 29, 13:03 GMT

0.3

5.3 km
15 mi west of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 03:57 am (Anchorage)
Feb 29, 12:57 GMT

0.9

4.3 km
15 mi west of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 01:36 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 11:36 GMT

0.4

1.7 km
46 mi west of Nikolski, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 29, 12:54 am (Adak)
Feb 29, 09:54 GMT

2.6

0.8 km
9 km (5.6 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 10.6 mi west of Yunaska Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (11 quakes)
Feb 28, 01:33 pm (Adak)
Feb 28, 23:33 GMT

1.7

27 km
6 km (3.7 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 17 mi east of Atka, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 11:21 am (Adak)
Feb 28, 21:21 GMT

0.5

7.1 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the S Bering Sea, 10.6 mi southwest of Atka, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1013 joules (3.76 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3234 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Aleutians West Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Atka Island, AK, USA (ATKA/AK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Atka Island, AK, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 14,000 quakes on average per year in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA:
  • Mag. 8 or higher: 0.03 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 31.3 years)
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.39 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.6 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 3.4 quakes per year
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 29.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 116 quakes per year (or 9.6 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 246 quakes per year (or 20.5 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 601 quakes per year (or 50 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 930 quakes per year (or 77 quakes per month)
Aleutians West has a high level of seismic activity. Aleutians West has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 8 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 30 to 35 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (10 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (10%)
4+
-
betw. Mag 4 - 5
3+
-
betw. Mag 3 - 4
2+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (20%)
below M2
7 quakes
(70%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (38 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (5.26%)
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.26%)
3+
-
betw. Mag 3 - 4
2+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (23.68%)
below M2
25 quakes
(65.79%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (140 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (1.43%)
4+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.71%)
3+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.86%)
2+
18 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (12.86%)
below M2
108 quakes
(77.14%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (365 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
1 quake
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.27%)
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.55%)
4+
18 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.93%)
3+
23 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (6.3%)
2+
26 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (7.12%)
below M2
295 quakes
(80.82%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4,425 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.05%)
5+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.29%)
4+
95 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (2.15%)
3+
397 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (8.97%)
2+
1,219 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (27.55%)
below M2
2,699 quakes
(60.99%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (8,184 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.11%)
5+
60 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.73%)
4+
440 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.38%)
3+
835 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (10.2%)
2+
2,120 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (25.9%)
below M2
4,720 quakes
(57.67%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (13,735 in total as 100%)
7+
2 quakes
Mag 7 or higher (0.01%)
6+
30 quakes
betw. Mag 6 - 7 (0.22%)
5+
278 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (2.02%)
4+
1,110 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (8.08%)
3+
2,107 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (15.34%)
2+
3,601 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (26.22%)
below M2
6,607 quakes
(48.1%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours10 quakes12--1--
Past 7 days38 quakes69-22--
Past 30 days140 quakes3918482--
Past 90 days365 quakes11826231821-
Past 365 days4,425 quakes1,6351,21939795132-
Past 3 years8,184 quakes2,4652,120835440609-
Past 10 years13,735 quakes3,3443,6012,1071,110278302
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Aleutians West Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA?

Aleutians West has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 14,000 quakes on average per year in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA. Aleutians West has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 8 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 30 to 35 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Aleutians West?

The last earthquake in Aleutians West occurred 12 hours ago:

Mag. 2.3 earthquake Bering Sea, Alaska, USA -

A light magnitude 2.3 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  United States in the morning of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 11.35 am local time (America/Adak GMT -9). The quake had a very shallow depth of 13.1 km (8 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Aleutians West in the past 7 days?

In the past 7 days, Aleutians West was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 25 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Aleutians West in the past 7 days?

The strongest earthquake in Aleutians West in the past 7 days occurred 1 day 17 hours ago:

A strong magnitude 5.5 earthquake hit 447 km (278 mi) away from Attu Station, Alaska,  United States, in the early morning of Wednesday, Feb 28, 2024 at 5.50 am local time (America/Adak GMT -10). The quake had a moderate depth of 119 km (74 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 7.9 earthquake Bering Sea, Alaska, USA - Jun 23, 2014 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 7.9 earthquake that hit Alaska,  USA, 10 years ago on Monday, Jun 23, 2014, at 11:53 am local time (America/Adak GMT -9).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 8.7 earthquake Bering Sea, Alaska, USA - Feb 3, 1965 -
59 years ago, Bering Sea,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 8.7 quake on Wednesday, Feb 3, 1965, at 07:01 pm (GMT -10). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Jan 11, 2022 12:39 GMT
Jan 11, 2022 03:39 am (GMT -9)
6.6

11 km
46 km (29 mi) to the E North Pacific Ocean, Alaska, USA More
Jan 11, 2022 11:35 GMT
Jan 11, 2022 02:35 am (GMT -9)
6.8

22 km
50 km (31 mi) to the E North Pacific Ocean, Alaska, USA More
Apr 2, 2019 21:35 GMT
Apr 2, 2019 12:35 pm (Adak)
6.5

19 km
19 km (12 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 14 mi north of Segula Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA 2 reportsMore
Aug 15, 2018 21:56 GMT
Aug 15, 2018 12:56 pm (Adak)
6.6

20 km
20 km (12 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 24 mi east of Tag s Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA 1 reportMore
Oct 8, 2017 22:34 GMT
Oct 8, 2017 12:34 pm (GMT -10)
6.6

112 km
57 km (35 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 43 mi northwest of Kiska Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jul 27, 2015 04:55 GMT
Jul 26, 2015 07:55 pm (GMT -9)
6.7

40 km
55 km (34 mi) to the E North Pacific Ocean, 44 mi southeast of Chuginadak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jul 27, 2015 04:49 GMT
Jul 26, 2015 06:49 pm (GMT -10)
6.9

21 km
52 km (32 mi) to the E North Pacific Ocean, 38 mi southeast of Herbert Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jun 24, 2014 00:52 GMT
Jun 23, 2014 03:52 pm (Adak)
6.9

102 km
2 km (1.2 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 13 mi east of Segula Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jun 23, 2014 20:53 GMT
Jun 23, 2014 11:53 am (Adak)
7.9

108 km
16 km (9.9 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 246 mi east of Attu Station, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA 1 reportMore
Jun 23, 2014 20:53 GMT
Jun 23, 2014 11:53 am (Adak)
7.6

108 km
16 km (9.9 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 246 mi east of Attu Station, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Aug 30, 2013 16:25 GMT
Aug 30, 2013 06:25 am (GMT -10)
7.0

34 km
41 km (25 mi) to the SW Bering Sea, 26 mi south of Ikiginak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jun 24, 2011 03:09 GMT
Jun 23, 2011 05:09 pm (GMT -10)
7.3

52 km
44 km (27 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 33 mi southeast of Seguam Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Dec 19, 2007 09:30 GMT
Dec 18, 2007 11:30 pm (GMT -10)
7.2

34 km
26 km (16 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 19 mi west of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Nov 17, 2003 06:43 GMT
Nov 16, 2003 08:43 pm (GMT -10)
7.8

33 km
44 km (27 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 97 mi west of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Mar 17, 2003 16:36 GMT
Mar 17, 2003 06:36 am (GMT -10)
7.1

33 km
60 km (37 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 115 mi southeast of Saint Stephen Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jun 10, 1996 15:24 GMT
Jun 10, 1996 06:24 am (Adak)
7.3

26 km
14 km (8.7 mi) to the SW Bering Sea, 29 mi south of Adak, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jun 10, 1996 04:03 GMT
Jun 9, 1996 07:03 pm (Adak)
7.9

33 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 20 mi southeast of Tanaga Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
May 7, 1986 22:47 GMT
May 7, 1986 12:47 pm (GMT -10)
8.0

33 km
55 km (34 mi) to the SW Bering Sea, 53 mi southwest of Atka, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jan 30, 1981 08:52 GMT
Jan 29, 1981 10:52 pm (GMT -10)
7.0

33 km
65 km (40 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 45 mi south of Saint Stephen Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 2, 1975 08:43 GMT
Feb 1, 1975 10:43 pm (GMT -10)
7.6

10 km
25 km (16 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 23 mi northeast of Attu Station, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
May 2, 1971 06:08 GMT
May 1, 1971 08:08 pm (GMT -10)
7.0

24 km
32 km (20 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 38 mi southeast of Tanaga Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 28, 1970 10:52 GMT
Feb 28, 1970 12:52 am (GMT -10)
7.1

164 km
32 km (20 mi) to the NW Bering Sea, 36 mi northwest of Atka, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jul 2, 1965 20:58 GMT
Jul 2, 1965 11:58 am (GMT -9)
7.8

45 km
27 km (17 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 65 mi southwest of Unalaska Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Mar 30, 1965 02:27 GMT
Mar 29, 1965 04:27 pm (GMT -10)
7.7

20 km
146 km (91 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 145 mi southwest of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Feb 4, 1965 05:01 GMT
Feb 3, 1965 07:01 pm (GMT -10)
8.7

30 km
32 km (20 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 94 mi west of Amatignak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Mar 9, 1957 14:22 GMT
Mar 9, 1957 04:22 am (GMT -10)
8.6

25 km
42 km (26 mi) to the SW Bering Sea, 32 mi south of Chugul Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Jul 14, 1940 05:52 GMT
Jul 13, 1940 08:52 pm (Adak)
7.4

65 km
1 km (0.6 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 100 mi east of Saint Stephen Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Dec 17, 1929 10:58 GMT
Dec 17, 1929 12:58 am (GMT -10)
7.8

20 km
76 km (47 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 70 mi northwest of Attu Station, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Apr 18, 1916 04:01 GMT
Apr 17, 1916 06:01 pm (GMT -10)
7.4

170 km
24 km (15 mi) to the NE Bering Sea, 21 mi northwest of Kagamil Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Sep 8, 1909 16:49 GMT
Sep 8, 1909 07:49 am (GMT -9)
7.4

90 km
33 km (21 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 42 mi southeast of Chuginadak Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Aug 17, 1906 00:11 GMT
Aug 16, 1906 03:11 pm (Adak)
8.3

110 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the W Bering Sea, 102 mi east of Saint Stephen Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More
Sep 15, 1905 06:02 GMT
Sep 14, 1905 08:02 pm (GMT -10)
7.4

0 km
45 km (28 mi) to the E Bering Sea, 31 mi south of Amukta Island, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA More

Map of largest quakes in or near Aleutians West, Alaska, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings