Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 6, 2021 06:16 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near San Luis Obispo, California, USA: past 7 days

Updated Dec 6, 2021 06:16 GMT -
During the past 7 days, San Luis Obispo had 1 quake of magnitude 2.1. There were also 17 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 2.1 quake 14km SE of Point Sur, CA, Nov 29, 2021 11:58 pm (GMT -8)
Biggest quake today: 1.9 quake 8km NNW of Cholame, CA, Dec 5, 2021 12:42 pm (GMT -8)
Most recent quake: 0.4 quake 11km NW of Parkfield, CA, Dec 5, 2021 8:02 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 04:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 5, 2021 8:02 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 6, 2021 04:02 GMT)
0.4

11 km
11km NW of Parkfield, CA MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 23:00 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 3:00 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2021 23:00 GMT)
0.8

4.4 km
22km SW of New Idria, CA MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 12:42 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2021 20:42 GMT)
1.9

3.5 km
8km NNW of Cholame, CA MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 6:40 am (GMT -8) (Dec 5, 2021 14:40 GMT)
1.6

7.2 km
9km W of Templeton, CA MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 19:08 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 4, 2021 11:08 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2021 19:08 GMT)
1.5

2.1 km
18km NW of Parkfield, CA MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 7:23 am (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2021 15:23 GMT)
0.4

2 km
11km NW of Parkfield, CA MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 11:34 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 4, 2021 07:34 GMT)
1.3

6.2 km
6km W of Tehachapi, CA MoreMap
Friday, December 3, 2021 09:56 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 3, 2021 1:56 am (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2021 09:56 GMT)
0.6

3.4 km
19km NW of Parkfield, CA MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 1:35 am (GMT -8) (Dec 3, 2021 09:35 GMT)
0.9

16 km
8km W of Castaic, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, December 2, 2021 19:38 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 2, 2021 11:38 am (GMT -8) (Dec 2, 2021 19:38 GMT)
1.9

17 km
19km NW of Grapevine, CA MoreMap
Dec 2, 2021 11:29 am (GMT -8) (Dec 2, 2021 19:29 GMT)
1.3

18 km
20km NW of Grapevine, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 18:51 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 1, 2021 10:51 am (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2021 18:51 GMT)
1.4

1.1 km
Quarry Blast - 8km E of Lebec, CA MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 9:59 pm (GMT -8) (Dec 1, 2021 05:59 GMT)
1.3

6.5 km
10km NNE of Coalinga, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 17:59 GMT (6 earthquakes)
Nov 30, 2021 9:59 am (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 17:59 GMT)
?

n/a
3.2 mi east of Isla Vista, Santa Barbara County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 7:18 am (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 15:18 GMT)
1.6

16 km
13km SW of Lamont, CA MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 2:46 am (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 10:46 GMT)
1.6

4 km
15km SE of Point Sur, CA MoreMap
Nov 29, 2021 11:58 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 07:58 GMT)
2.1

3.7 km
14km SE of Point Sur, CA MoreMap
Nov 29, 2021 9:54 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 05:54 GMT)
1.0

11 km
8km ENE of Pine Mountain Club, CA MoreMap
Nov 29, 2021 7:56 pm (GMT -8) (Nov 30, 2021 03:56 GMT)
1.5

0.2 km
24km ENE of San Ardo, CA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 108 joules (77.4 kilowatt hours) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.