Largest earthquakes in or near Aleutians East, Alaska, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 6, 2022 14:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 8
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 63 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 261 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Aleutians East has had 2 quakes of magnitude 8.0 or above, 7 quakes between 7.0 and 8.0, 63 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 261 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 52 mi SE of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 8.6 | 154 mi E of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (333 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jul 31, 2022 4:36 pm (GMT -8) (Aug 1, 2022 00:36 GMT)
5.3

43 km
75 km (47 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 52 mi southeast of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Jun 8, 2022 12:56 pm (GMT -8) (Jun 8, 2022 20:56 GMT)
5.2

8.5 km
12 km (7.5 mi)4.7 mi west of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Apr 21, 2022 9:27 pm (GMT -8) (Apr 22, 2022 05:27 GMT)
5.3

207 km
76 km (47 mi)Bering Sea, 79 mi northwest of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Feb 3, 2022 12:53 pm (GMT -11) (Feb 3, 2022 23:53 GMT)
5.4

35 km
108 km (67 mi)61 mi southeast of King Cove, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 31, 2021 8:37 am (GMT -8) (Oct 31, 2021 16:37 GMT)
5.6

25 km
149 km (93 mi)75 mi east of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 28, 2021 11:06 am (GMT -8) (Oct 28, 2021 19:06 GMT)
5.1

32 km
118 km (73 mi)67 mi east of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Sep 9, 2021 8:23 am (GMT -11) (Sep 9, 2021 19:23 GMT)
5.1

22 km
130 km (81 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 126 mi east of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA MoreMap
28 Jul 10:19 pm (GMT -8) (Jul 29, 2021 06:19 GMT)
6.1

27 km
146 km (91 mi)95 mi east of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Jan 24, 2021 12:16 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 24, 2021 21:16 GMT)
5.1

35 km
83 km (52 mi)19 mi southeast of Cherni Island, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Jan 10, 2021 10:19 pm (GMT -9) (Jan 11, 2021 07:19 GMT)
5.1

36 km
87 km (54 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 78 mi east of Akutan, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 18, 2020 3:10 pm (GMT -9) (Dec 19, 2020 00:10 GMT)
5.0

32 km
142 km (88 mi)52 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Dec 15, 2020 6:49 pm (GMT -11) (Dec 16, 2020 05:49 GMT)
5.3

10 km
218 km (135 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 119 mi south of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Nov 5, 2020 1:56 am (GMT -11) (Nov 5, 2020 12:56 GMT)
5.1

21 km
177 km (110 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 85 mi south of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Nov 4, 2020 3:23 am (GMT -9) (Nov 4, 2020 12:23 GMT)
5.0

44 km
98 km (61 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 55 mi southeast of Akutan, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Oct 29, 2020 8:36 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 30, 2020 04:36 GMT)
5.1

31 km
132 km (82 mi)63 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
20 Oct 2:17 pm (GMT -11) (Oct 21, 2020 01:17 GMT)
5.1

20 km
184 km (114 mi)79 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 20, 2020 1:32 am (GMT -11) (Oct 20, 2020 12:32 GMT)
5.1

18 km
152 km (94 mi)74 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
20 Oct 12:37 am (GMT -8) (Oct 20, 2020 08:37 GMT)
5.0

33 km
142 km (88 mi)57 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
19 Oct 9:18 pm (GMT -11) (Oct 20, 2020 08:18 GMT)
5.0

27 km
149 km (93 mi)59 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Oct 19, 2020 5:07 pm (GMT -11) (Oct 20, 2020 04:07 GMT)
5.6

9.7 km
184 km (114 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 82 mi southeast of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Oct 19, 2020 10:45 am (GMT -11) (Oct 19, 2020 21:45 GMT)
5.9

33 km
157 km (98 mi)73 mi south of Sand Point, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.1 x 1017 joules (2 x 105 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.7 x 108 tons of TNT or 10668.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Aleutians East Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Aleutians East?

The last earthquake in Aleutians East occurred 14 days ago: Moderate mag. 5.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 52 mi southeast of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, on Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 4:36 pm (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Aleutians East since 1900?

Since 1900, Aleutians East, Alaska, USA had 333 quakes up to magnitude 8.6.

What was the strongest quake in Aleutians East since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Aleutians East since 1900 occurred 76 years ago: Major magnitude 8.6 earthquake - 154 mi east of Unalaska, Aleutians West, Alaska, USA, on Monday, April 1, 1946 at 12:29 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings