Latest quakes in or near Sierra, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, August 11, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 11, 2022 02:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 15 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Sierra had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 15 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.5 | 8 Km E of Sparks, Nevada -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.5 | 8km N of Walker, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Sierra, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:15 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:88 quakes | 22 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:179 quakes | 44 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:375 quakes | 82 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:2,460 quakes | 436 quakes M2+ | 32 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Sierra, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 GMT (19 quakes)
Aug 10, 2022 2:14 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 21:14 GMT)
1.5

1.9 km
8 Km E of Sparks, Nevada MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 12:50 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 19:50 GMT)
2.3

6.2 km
10km N of Walker, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 10:54 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 17:54 GMT)
0.7

5.3 km
16km ESE of Hidden Valley Lake, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 10:51 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 17:51 GMT)
2.3

5.7 km
8km N of Walker, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:44 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 15:44 GMT)
1.1

6 km
6 Km NE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:41 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 15:41 GMT)
2.5

4.8 km
8km N of Walker, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:15 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 15:15 GMT)
1.3

5.1 km
5 Km NE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:11 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 15:11 GMT)
2.2

3.7 km
7km N of Walker, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 5:29 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 12:29 GMT)
0.9

7.3 km
2 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 09:57 GMT)
1.0

4.2 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 2:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 09:47 GMT)
1.5

8.9 km
12km E of Yountville, CA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 1:37 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 08:37 GMT)
0.8

6.8 km
5 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 1:14 am (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 08:14 GMT)
1.5

6.6 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 11:22 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 06:22 GMT)
1.1

4.1 km
7 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:48 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 05:48 GMT)
0.9

8.2 km
4 Km ENE of Coleville, California 1 reportMoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 05:41 GMT)
1.2

8.3 km
5 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:31 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 05:31 GMT)
1.1

6 km
6 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 9:46 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 04:46 GMT)
1.0

8.9 km
3 Km ENE of Coleville, California MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 9:24 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 10, 2022 04:24 GMT)
1.4

7.9 km
6 Km E of Coleville, California MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9 x 108 joules (251 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.216 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Sierra Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sierra?

The last earthquake in Sierra occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 8 Km E of Sparks, Nevada, on Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022 at 2:14 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Sierra today?

In the past 24 hours, Sierra, California, USA had 19 quakes up to magnitude 2.5.

What was the strongest quake in Sierra today?

The strongest earthquake in Sierra today occurred 11 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 8km N of Walker, CA, on Wednesday, Aug 10, 2022 at 8:41 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings