Latest quakes in or near Butte, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 20, 2022 05:51 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
Over the past 24 hours, Butte had 29 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and in or near Butte.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.7 | 4km WNW of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 1.7 | 3km S of Cobb, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Butte, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes
Past 7 days:64 quakes | 4 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:291 quakes | 28 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:901 quakes | 99 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:4,384 quakes | 470 quakes M2+ | 28 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Butte, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, August 20, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Aug 19, 2022 10:38 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:38 GMT)
0.7

0.5 km
4km WNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:16 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:16 GMT)
0.7

2.3 km
8km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:02 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 05:02 GMT)
0.7

0.8 km
4km WNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 8:55 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 03:55 GMT)
0.5

2.6 km
3km S of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 8:53 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 03:53 GMT)
1.7

1.5 km
3km S of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 8:18 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 03:18 GMT)
0.5

3.1 km
2km N of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 7:42 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 02:42 GMT)
1.6

1.4 km
6km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 7:11 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 02:11 GMT)
1.2

3 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 5:00 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 00:00 GMT)
0.7

2.7 km
6km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 5:00 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 20, 2022 00:00 GMT)
1.1

2.3 km
7km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Friday, August 19, 2022 GMT (19 quakes)
Aug 19, 2022 4:56 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 23:56 GMT)
0.9

1.9 km
9km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 3:39 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 22:39 GMT)
1.0

3 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 3:25 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 22:25 GMT)
1.2

7.5 km
5km S of Larkfield-Wikiup, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 2:56 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 21:56 GMT)
0.6

2 km
3km WSW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 21:24 GMT)
0.8

1.8 km
2km NNE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 1:37 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 20:37 GMT)
0.5

5.6 km
6 Km SSE of Floriston, California MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 19:59 GMT)
0.3

2.1 km
7km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 12:43 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 19:43 GMT)
1.2

1.4 km
2km ENE of The Geysers, CA 2 reportsMoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 19:41 GMT)
0.4

1.7 km
8km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 10:47 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 17:47 GMT)
0.9

1.8 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Aug 19, 2022 9:22 am (GMT -7) (Aug 19, 2022 16:22 GMT)
0.5

2.5 km
6km W of Cobb, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.7 x 107 joules (21.3 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Butte Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Butte?

The last earthquake in Butte occurred 14 minutes ago: Minor mag. 0.7 earthquake - 4km WNW of The Geysers, CA, on Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 10:38 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Butte today?

In the past 24 hours, Butte, California, USA had 29 quakes up to magnitude 1.7.

What was the strongest quake in Butte today?

The strongest earthquake in Butte today occurred 1 hour and 58 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.7 earthquake - 3km S of Cobb, CA, on Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 8:53 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings