Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Contra Costa County in the past 24 hours on Monday, January 30, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 15:45 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 47 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Contra Costa County had 5 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 47 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.5 | 2km ESE of Brisbane, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.7 | 13 mi SW of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Contra Costa County (updated )

Past 24 hours34 quakes5 quakes M2+
Past 7 days189 quakes16 quakes M2+
Past 30 days743 quakes79 quakes M2+9 quakes M3+
Past 90 days1,932 quakes210 quakes M2+17 quakes M3+
Past 365 days6,179 quakes727 quakes M2+60 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Contra Costa County | USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (52 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (27 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 7:39 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 15:39 GMT)
1.5

10.3 km
2km ESE of Brisbane, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 7:39 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 15:39 GMT)
1.5

10.3 km
2km ESE of Brisbane, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 7:20 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 15:20 GMT)
0.8

1.4 km
6km W of Cobb, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 7:07 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 15:07 GMT)
0.7

0.7 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 6:50 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 14:50 GMT)
1.4

1.7 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 5:42 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 13:42 GMT)
1.3

4.1 km
4km E of Oakland, CA 1 reportMore
Jan 30, 2023 3:20 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 11:20 GMT)
0.7

1.8 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 2:54 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 10:54 GMT)
1.1

1.7 km
8km W of Cobb, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 12:58 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 08:58 GMT)
1.1

2.2 km
5km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 12:36 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 08:36 GMT)
1.2

0.7 km
9km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 12:21 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 08:21 GMT)
1.0

1.6 km
8km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 30, 2023 12:04 am (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 08:04 GMT)
1.2

0.5 km
17km SE of Livermore, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 11:48 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 07:48 GMT)
1.1

1.7 km
8km NW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 10:38 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 06:38 GMT)
1.5

3.3 km
14km SSE of Tres Pinos, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 10:15 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 06:15 GMT)
0.7

2.6 km
12km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 9:00 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 05:00 GMT)
0.7

2.3 km
7km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 8:41 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 04:41 GMT)
0.5

2.1 km
7km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 8:34 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 04:34 GMT)
1.3

2.3 km
1km N of The Geysers, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 8:03 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 04:03 GMT)
0.9

2 km
5km WNW of Cobb, CA More
Jan 29, 2023 7:49 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 03:49 GMT)
1.8

14 km
1.3 mi west of Concord, Contra Costa County, California, USA More
Jan 29, 2023 7:08 pm (GMT -8) (Jan 30, 2023 03:08 GMT)
1.1

3.1 km
6km WNW of The Geysers, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 109 joules (479 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.412 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA (MCCM/BK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Marconi Conference Center, Marshall, CA, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Contra Costa County Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near Contra Costa County?

The last earthquake in or near Contra Costa County occurred 6 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 2km ESE of Brisbane, CA, on Monday, Jan 30, 2023 at 7:39 am (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in or near Contra Costa County today?

In the past 24 hours, Contra Costa County County, California, USA had 52 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in or near Contra Costa County today?

The strongest earthquake in or near Contra Costa County today occurred 23 hours ago: Light mag. 2.7 earthquake - 13 mi southwest of Clearlake, Lake County, California, USA, on Sunday, Jan 29, 2023 at 8:25 am (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings