Latest quakes in or near Leon Cortés Castro, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, August 14, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 14, 2022 00:06 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Leon Cortés Castro was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.0 earthquake occurred in Provincia de San José, Costa Rica, 11 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 46 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.0 | 41 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Leon Cortés Castro, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours:9 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:65 quakes | 39 quakes M2+ | 23 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:151 quakes | 72 quakes M2+ | 73 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:420 quakes | 194 quakes M2+ | 203 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,471 quakes | 626 quakes M2+ | 763 quakes M3+ | 68 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Leon Cortés Castro, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (9 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, August 13, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Aug 13, 2022 11:37 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 17:37 GMT)
2.9

20 km
46 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 11:21 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 17:21 GMT)
2.9

21 km
17 km northwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 8:22 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 14:22 GMT)
3.6

25 km
20 km west of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 6:53 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 12:53 GMT)
3.9

37 km
Provincia de San José, 44 km south of Cartago, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 6:53 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 12:53 GMT)
4.0

61 km
41 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 4:12 am (GMT -5) (Aug 13, 2022 09:12 GMT)
2.7

19 km
24 km northwest of Concepcion, Bugaba District, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 2:02 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 08:02 GMT)
2.9

7 km
9.9 km north of Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 13, 2022 12:25 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 06:25 GMT)
2.6

4 km
12 km north of San Isidro, Pérez Zeledon, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 12, 2022 7:10 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2022 01:10 GMT)
3.0

8 km
Caribbean Sea, Costa Rica, 95 km southeast of Nueva Guinea, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1011 joules (36.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 31.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Leon Cortés Castro Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Leon Cortés Castro?

The last earthquake in Leon Cortés Castro occurred 6 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 46 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Saturday, Aug 13, 2022 at 11:37 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Leon Cortés Castro today?

In the past 24 hours, Leon Cortés Castro, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica had 9 quakes up to magnitude 4.0.

What was the strongest quake in Leon Cortés Castro today?

The strongest earthquake in Leon Cortés Castro today occurred 11 hours ago: Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - 41 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Saturday, Aug 13, 2022 at 6:53 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings