Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
0 quakes Mag. 1+
Number of quakes vs average, past 7 days

Latest quakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 0.4 earthquake 10.1 mi west of Salt Lake City, Utah, USA - 8 hours ago
Strongest since 2024Mag. 1.8 3.6 mi northwest of West Valley City, Utah, USA - Jan 12, 2024 - 7 weeks ago
Updated: Feb 29, 2024 22:00 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Salt Lake, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Salt Lake has had ., 0 quakes between 0.0 and 1.0.
There have been 18 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.8 in or near Salt Lake since 2024.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2024, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (18 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 29, 06:51 am (Denver)
Feb 29, 13:51 GMT

0.4

9.5 km
10.1 mi west of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Friday, February 16, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 15, 08:59 pm (Denver)
Feb 16, 03:59 GMT

0.8

16 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the NE Morgan County, 16 mi northeast of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Monday, February 12, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 12, 12:29 pm (Denver)
Feb 12, 19:29 GMT

0.8

9.3 km
9.4 mi south of West Jordan, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Friday, February 2, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 2, 10:36 am (Denver)
Feb 2, 16:36 GMT

0.9

8.4 km
18 mi southeast of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Tuesday, January 30, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 30, 03:24 am (Denver)
Jan 30, 09:24 GMT

0.4

8.5 km
7.5 mi west of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Jan 29, 10:03 pm (Denver)
Jan 30, 04:03 GMT

0.9

8 km
3.5 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Monday, January 29, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 29, 03:56 pm (Denver)
Jan 29, 22:56 GMT

1.2

10.2 km
3.4 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Jan 29, 03:40 pm (Denver)
Jan 29, 22:40 GMT

0.8

8.3 km
9.8 mi west of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Jan 28, 05:05 pm (Denver)
Jan 29, 00:05 GMT

0.8

5.3 km
3.9 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Friday, January 26, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 26, 02:42 am (Denver)
Jan 26, 09:42 GMT

0.7

8.5 km
8.3 mi west of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Jan 26, 02:34 am (Denver)
Jan 26, 09:34 GMT

1.2

11 km
3.8 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.6 x 107 joules (15.4 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Salt Lake Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Dugway, Tooele County, Utah, USA (DUG/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Dugway, Tooele County, Utah, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,800 quakes on average per year in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA:
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.01 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 100 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.07 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 14.3 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 0.42 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 2.4 years)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 5.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 28.6 quakes per year
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 94 quakes per year
Salt Lake has relatively few earthquakes. However, Salt Lake has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA, by magnitude

30 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (4 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
below M2
4 quakes
(100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (85 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
14 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (16.47%)
below M2
71 quakes
(83.53%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (347 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.73%)
2+
48 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (13.83%)
below M2
293 quakes
(84.44%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,818 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.06%)
4+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.28%)
3+
52 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.86%)
2+
236 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (12.98%)
below M2
1,524 quakes
(83.83%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours1 quake-------
Past 7 days1 quake-------
Past 30 days4 quakes-------
Past 365 days85 quakes4214-----
Past 3 years347 quakes137486----
Past 10 years1,818 quakes6642365251--
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Salt Lake Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA?

Salt Lake has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,800 quakes on average per year in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA. However, Salt Lake has had at least 4 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 10 to 15 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Salt Lake?

The last earthquake in Salt Lake occurred 8 hours ago:

A light magnitude 0.4 earthquake hit 16.2 km (10 mi) away from Salt Lake City, Utah,  United States, in the early morning of Thursday, Feb 29, 2024 at 6.51 am local time (America/Denver GMT -7). The quake had a very shallow depth of 9.5 km (5.9 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Salt Lake since 2024?

There have been 18 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 1.8 in or near Salt Lake since 2024.

What was the strongest quake in Salt Lake since 2024?

The strongest earthquake in Salt Lake since 2024 occurred 7 weeks ago:

A light magnitude 1.8 earthquake hit 5.8 km (3.6 mi) away from West Valley City, Utah,  United States, in the early afternoon of Friday, Jan 12, 2024 at 3.06 pm local time (America/Denver GMT -7). The quake had a very shallow depth of 5.4 km (3.4 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 5.7 earthquake 3.1 mi north of Magna, Utah, USA - Mar 18, 2020 - 4 years ago
The largest quake that occurred in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.7 earthquake that hit Utah,  USA, 4 years ago on Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020, at 07:09 am local time (America/Denver GMT -6).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 6.1 earthquake Oneida County, Utah, USA - Mar 27, 1975 - 49 years ago
49 years ago, Idaho,  USA, was hit by a magnitude 6.1 quake on Thursday, Mar 27, 1975, at 08:31 pm local time (America/Boise GMT -6). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Aug 31, 2023 00:11 GMT
Aug 30, 2023 06:11 pm (Denver)
3.7

12 km
58 km (36 mi) to the N 20 mi northeast of Ogden, Weber County, Utah, USA 64 reportsMore
Apr 16, 2020 13:41 GMT
Apr 16, 2020 07:41 am (Denver)
4.2

9.5 km
2.8 mi northeast of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 580 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2020 02:56 GMT
Apr 14, 2020 08:56 pm (Denver)
4.2

9 km
4.2 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 692 reportsMore
Mar 23, 2020 01:17 GMT
Mar 22, 2020 07:17 pm (Denver)
3.9

10 km
6.6 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 561 reportsMore
Mar 18, 2020 19:12 GMT
Mar 18, 2020 01:12 pm (Denver)
4.6

10.7 km
5.1 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 267 reportsMore
Mar 18, 2020 14:02 GMT
Mar 18, 2020 08:02 am (Denver)
4.6

9.1 km
3.9 mi northeast of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 75 reportsMore
Mar 18, 2020 13:32 GMT
Mar 18, 2020 07:32 am (Denver)
3.9

9.9 km
5.1 mi northwest of West Valley City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 16 reportsMore
Mar 18, 2020 13:10 GMT
Mar 18, 2020 07:10 am (Denver)
3.9

8.5 km
2.8 mi north of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 2 reportsMore
Mar 18, 2020 13:09 GMT
Mar 18, 2020 07:09 am (Denver)
5.7

12 km
3.1 mi north of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA 3421 reportsMore
May 25, 2016 13:01 GMT
May 25, 2016 07:01 am (Denver)
4.1

14 km
77 km (48 mi) to the E 37 mi west of Roosevelt, Duchesne County, Utah, USA 2 reportsMore
May 24, 1980 10:03 GMT
May 24, 1980 04:03 am (Denver)
5.0

5 km
53 km (33 mi) to the S 26 mi southwest of Provo, Utah County, Utah, USA More
Sep 30, 1977 10:19 GMT
Sep 30, 1977 04:19 am (Denver)
5.0

5 km
95 km (59 mi) to the E Duchesne County, 78 mi east of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More
Mar 28, 1975 02:31 GMT
Mar 27, 1975 08:31 pm (Boise)
6.1

5 km
135 km (84 mi) to the N Oneida County, Idaho, 43 mi northwest of Logan, Cache County, Utah, USA More
Sep 5, 1962 16:04 GMT
Sep 5, 1962 10:04 am (Denver)
5.0

7 km
1 mi northeast of Magna, Salt Lake County, Utah, USA More

Map of largest quakes in or near Salt Lake, Utah, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Box Elder | Cache | Davis | Duchesne | Juab | Morgan | Rich | Summit | Tooele | Uinta | Utah | Utah | Wasatch | Weber | Wyoming
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings