Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 10:10 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Japan Sea: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 10:10 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Japan Sea was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 22 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 47 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 73 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Philippine Sea, 44 km south of Wakayama, Japan, Dec 3, 2021 9:28 am (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 4.9 quake North Pacific Ocean, 71 km east of Mutsu, Aomori, Japan, Dec 6, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 2.6 quake Nakano, 3.4 km northwest of Tokyo, Japan, Dec 7, 2021 4:13 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3 or higher (72 out of 144 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 07:13 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Dec 7, 2021 4:13 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 07:13 GMT)
2.6

32 km
Japan: TOKYO PREF MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 3:42 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 06:42 GMT)
3.1

18 km
Japan: E OFF FUKUSHIMA PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 12:18 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 03:18 GMT)
3.1

13 km
Japan: FAR E OFF KANTO
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 10:48 am (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 01:48 GMT)
3.1

1.4 km
Japan: NEAR IZU-OSHIMA ISLAND
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 7, 2021 10:10 am (GMT +9) (Dec 7, 2021 01:10 GMT)
4.6

35 km
Near the East Coast of Honshu, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 14:33 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 14:33 GMT)
4.9

57 km
70 Km ENE of Mutsu, Japan
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 8:54 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 11:54 GMT)
3.5

30 km
Japan: E OFF FUKUSHIMA PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 5:36 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 08:36 GMT)
3.0

175 km
Japan: WESTERN AOMORI PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 5:09 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 08:09 GMT)
4.6

57 km
Japan: E OFF FUKUSHIMA PREF
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 1:46 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 04:46 GMT)
3.1

5 km
Japan: NEAR IZU-OSHIMA ISLAND
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 21:34 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 6:34 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 21:34 GMT)
3.5

27 km
Japan: E OFF AOMORI PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 3:53 am (GMT +10) (Dec 5, 2021 17:53 GMT)
3.0

7.3 km
Japan: NE OFF IWATE PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 1:24 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 16:24 GMT)
3.1

149 km
Japan: NORTHERN AKITA PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 12:49 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 15:49 GMT)
3.3

26 km
Japan: E OFF BOSO PENINSULA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 12:45 am (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 15:45 GMT)
3.1

120 km
Japan: SE OFF BOSO PENINSULA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 11:14 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 14:14 GMT)
4.6

48 km
95 Km SSE of Shizunai-furukawachō, Japan
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:32 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 12:32 GMT)
3.1

31 km
Japan: SW KOCHI PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 5:49 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 08:49 GMT)
3.7

100 km
Japan: FAR E OFF KANTO
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 2:43 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 05:43 GMT)
3.1

44 km
Japan: E OFF IBARAKI PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 15:47 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 12:47 am (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 15:47 GMT)
3.0

9.6 km
Japan: E OFF HACHIJOJIMA ISLAND
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 14:21 GMT)
3.1

62 km
Japan: NE OFF IWATE PREF
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1013 joules (5.47 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4711 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.