Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Maluku, Indonesia, past 30 days

Updated 28 Feb 2021 13:41 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Maluku was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 36 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 22 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.6 quake Aru Sea, 59 km west of Pulau Ujir Island, Maluku, Indonesia, 31 Jan 2021 6:44 pm (GMT +9)
Biggest quake today: 3.8 quake Ceram Sea, 187 km northeast of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia, 28 Feb 2021 1:54 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (70 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 1:54 pm (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 04:54:59 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(387 km)Ceram Sea, 187 km northeast of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 11:00 pm (GMT +9) (27 Feb 2021 14:00:13 GMT)
2.6

25 km
(124 km)155 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 2:01 am (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 17:01:19 GMT)
2.1

10 km
(214 km)15 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 7:52 pm (GMT +9) (26 Feb 2021 10:52:51 GMT)
4.4

10 km
(561 km)West Papua, 72 km southwest of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 8:04 am (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 23:04:29 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(229 km)Timor Sea, 67 km southeast of Lospalos, Lautém, Timor-Leste
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:57 am (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 17:57:10 GMT)
3.9

225 km
(61 km)Banda Sea, 187 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 2:04 am (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 17:04:58 GMT)
4.3

150 km
(91 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 11:37 pm (GMT +9) (23 Feb 2021 14:37:13 GMT)
4.0

158 km
(61 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 5:21 pm (GMT +9) (22 Feb 2021 08:21:31 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(239 km)Ceram Sea, 79 km north of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 8:37 am (GMT +9) (21 Feb 2021 23:37:30 GMT)
3.3

10 km
(208 km)Ceram Sea, 85 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 11:22 am (GMT +9) (20 Feb 2021 02:22:35 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(290 km)Banda Sea, 88 km west of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 11:04 pm (GMT +9) (18 Feb 2021 14:04:37 GMT)
4.3

178 km
(38 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 7:40 pm (GMT +9) (18 Feb 2021 10:40:20 GMT)
5.0

152 km
(43 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 5:28 am (GMT +9) (17 Feb 2021 20:28:55 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(339 km)Ceram Sea, 166 km north of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 8:55 pm (GMT +9) (17 Feb 2021 11:55:53 GMT)
4.8

172 km
(126 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 8:55 pm (GMT +9) (17 Feb 2021 11:55:52 GMT)
4.1

172 km
(121 km)Banda Sea, Timor-Leste MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 7:49 am (GMT +8) (16 Feb 2021 23:49:09 GMT)
4.3

478 km
(89 km)Banda Sea, 218 km north of Atambua, Indonesia MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 12:48 am (GMT +9) (16 Feb 2021 15:48:01 GMT)
4.6

194 km
(49 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
16 Feb 2021 6:07 pm (GMT +9) (16 Feb 2021 09:07:13 GMT)
3.6

60 km
(170 km)Ceram Sea, 254 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 1:11 am (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 16:11:48 GMT)
4.0

415 km
(234 km)Banda Sea, 283 km southwest of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
15 Feb 2021 7:16 pm (GMT +9) (15 Feb 2021 10:16:20 GMT)
4.1

33 km
(392 km)Aru Sea, 193 km northeast of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 7:50 am (GMT +9) (14 Feb 2021 22:50:44 GMT)
4.9

121 km
(63 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 2:36 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 05:36:25 GMT)
4.7

750 km
(201 km)Timor Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 2:11 pm (GMT +9) (13 Feb 2021 05:11:30 GMT)
3.1

10 km
(217 km)Ceram Sea, 97 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 6:53 am (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 21:53:44 GMT)
4.7

162 km
Serua (19 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 3:27 am (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 18:27:12 GMT)
4.7

27 km
(45 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia, 205 km northeast of Lospalos, Lautém, Timor-Leste MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 12:38 am (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 15:38:58 GMT)
4.4

11 km
(546 km)West Papua, 85 km southwest of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 21:10:27 GMT
3.5

10 km
(528 km)West Papua, 98 km southwest of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:36 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 16:36:05 GMT)
3.6

216 km
(67 km)Banda Sea, 244 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:22 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 16:22:07 GMT)
2.3

21 km
(206 km)Ceram Sea, 170 km northwest of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 12:28 am (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 15:28:08 GMT)
4.0

161 km
(50 km)Banda Sea, 244 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 8:41 pm (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 11:41:55 GMT)
3.4

10 km
(182 km)Ceram Sea, 139 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 5:55 pm (GMT +9) (11 Feb 2021 08:55:09 GMT)
3.0

85 km
(220 km)50 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 06:11:53 GMT
3.9

10 km
(540 km)108 km west of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 03:06:09 GMT
2.9

14 km
(191 km)Ceram Sea, 107 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 9:47 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 12:47:34 GMT)
4.9

184 km
Serua (21 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 7:49 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 10:49:18 GMT)
4.5

147 km
(69 km)Banda Sea, 221 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +9) (9 Feb 2021 07:24:47 GMT)
5.3

173 km
Serua (25 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 6:55 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 21:55:33 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(72 km)Banda Sea, 97 km southeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 7:29 pm (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 10:29:57 GMT)
3.4

10 km
(198 km)Ceram Sea, 80 km south of Pulau Gommu Island, Maluku Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 11:43 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 02:43:56 GMT)
3.8

94 km
(153 km)Banda Sea, 17 km south of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 8:14 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 23:14:31 GMT)
3.6

11 km
(188 km)48 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 6:57 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 21:57:39 GMT)
4.7

11 km
(192 km)53 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 6:24 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 21:24:46 GMT)
4.2

391 km
(49 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 3:19 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 18:19:35 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(187 km)72 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 3:10 am (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 18:10:58 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(124 km)Banda Sea, 86 km east of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 9:30 pm (GMT +9) (7 Feb 2021 12:30:16 GMT)
4.4

120 km
Serua (104 km)Banda Sea, 85 km northwest of Pulau Wayangan Island, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Feb 2021 4:36 pm (GMT +9) (6 Feb 2021 07:36:29 GMT)
4.0

197 km
(35 km)Banda Sea, 215 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 20:08:53 GMT
4.4

180 km
(44 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 12:21 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 15:21:09 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(416 km)Aru Sea, 82 km south of Pulau Dramai Island, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 11:19 am (GMT +9) (5 Feb 2021 02:19:56 GMT)
4.9

157 km
(58 km)Banda Sea, 54 km southeast of Pulau Terbang Utara Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 4:32 am (GMT +9) (4 Feb 2021 19:32:46 GMT)
4.7

10 km
(365 km)Ceram Sea, 48 km south of Pulau Unoga Island, West Papua, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 3:14 am (GMT +9) (4 Feb 2021 18:14:17 GMT)
4.2

33 km
(420 km)Aru Sea, 79 km south of Pulau Dramai Island, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 8:22 am (GMT +9) (3 Feb 2021 23:22:36 GMT)
3.4

10 km
(182 km)Ceram Sea, 56 km northeast of Seram Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +9) (3 Feb 2021 06:27:54 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(177 km)Ceram Sea, 58 km south of Pulau Gommu Island, Maluku Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 9:13 am (GMT +9) (3 Feb 2021 00:13:39 GMT)
2.8

13 km
(174 km)36 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 10:46 pm (GMT +9) (2 Feb 2021 13:46:27 GMT)
4.4

85 km
(48 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 12:08 pm (GMT +9) (2 Feb 2021 03:08:36 GMT)
3.8

197 km
(35 km)Banda Sea, 208 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 3:32 am (GMT +9) (1 Feb 2021 18:32:59 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(286 km)Ceram Sea, 52 km southwest of Pulau Nasaulang Island, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 11:38 am (GMT +9) (1 Feb 2021 02:38:03 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(201 km)Ceram Sea, 83 km south of Pulau Gommu Island, Maluku Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
31 Jan 2021 11:53 pm (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 14:53:49 GMT)
4.0

10 km
(78 km)Banda Sea, 128 km west of Pulau Uran Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 9:00 pm (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 12:00:59 GMT)
2.7

26 km
(241 km)77 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 6:44 pm (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 09:44:44 GMT)
5.6

16 km
(380 km)Aru Sea, 59 km west of Pulau Ujir Island, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
31 Jan 2021 6:28 pm (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 09:28:53 GMT)
5.1

12 km
(375 km)Aru Sea, 67 km east of Pulau Nuhuyut Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 12:35 pm (GMT +9) (31 Jan 2021 03:35:30 GMT)
3.3

20 km
(193 km)82 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
31 Jan 2021 8:20 am (GMT +9) (30 Jan 2021 23:20:19 GMT)
2.8

22 km
(186 km)97 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 12:41:40 GMT
4.6

193 km
(42 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 09:14:57 GMT
3.2

10 km
(284 km)Ceram Sea, 50 km northeast of Pulau Tengah Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
30 Jan 2021 2:17 pm (GMT +9) (30 Jan 2021 05:17:18 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(184 km)80 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jan 2021 11:10 pm (GMT +9) (29 Jan 2021 14:10:21 GMT)
4.8

406 km
(207 km)Banda Sea, 121 km northwest of Pulau Bingkudu Island, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 1013 joules (13.6 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 11704 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.