Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 27, 2021 20:14 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Hamilton, Tennessee, USA: 2020

Updated Oct 27, 2021 20:14 GMT -
During 2020, Hamilton was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.1 quake 13 mi east of Winchester, Franklin County, Tennessee, USA, 2020-05-10 02:33:14 -06:00
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, December 30, 2020 11:55 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 30, 2020 6:55 am (GMT -5) (Dec 30, 2020 11:55 GMT)
2.3

20 km
1917 km (1191 mi)4.5 mi north of Collegedale, Hamilton County, Tennessee, USA 5 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 13:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 29, 2020 8:40 am (GMT -5) (Dec 29, 2020 13:40 GMT)
2.0

5 km
1920 km (1193 mi)4.3 mi northwest of Dalton, Whitfield County, Georgia, USA 24 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, December 26, 2020 05:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 26, 2020 05:11 GMT
2.1

15 km
1950 km (1212 mi)Polk County, 12 mi southeast of Cleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Monday, December 21, 2020 01:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 20, 2020 8:10 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 21, 2020 01:10 GMT)
2.2

15 km
1949 km (1211 mi)Polk County, 12 mi southeast of Cleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Saturday, December 19, 2020 04:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 19, 2020 04:50 GMT
2.2

24 km
1925 km (1196 mi)Meigs County, 20 mi north of Cleveland, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Monday, November 16, 2020 08:45 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Nov 16, 2020 08:45 GMT
2.5

6.6 km
1930 km (1199 mi)9 mi south of Cleveland, Tennessee 4 reportsMoreMap
Nov 16, 2020 08:44 GMT
1.5

8.9 km
1930 km (1199 mi)8.8 mi south of Cleveland, Tennessee MoreMap
Monday, November 2, 2020 07:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 2, 2020 2:31 am (GMT -5) (Nov 2, 2020 07:31 GMT)
2.4

20 km
1950 km (1212 mi)14 miles WNW of Sweetwater, Tennessee 6 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, October 17, 2020 07:12 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 17, 2020 07:12 GMT
2.3

18 km
1902 km (1182 mi)Hamilton County, Tennessee, 9.1 mi north of Soddy-Daisy, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Thursday, September 3, 2020 15:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 3, 2020 15:24 GMT
2.1

10 km
1968 km (1223 mi)4.3 mi south of Sweetwater, Monroe County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Sunday, August 23, 2020 03:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 23, 2020 03:56 GMT
1.2

0.1 km
1907 km (1185 mi)2.9 mi east of Middle Valley, Hamilton County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Thursday, July 30, 2020 20:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 30, 2020 20:51 GMT
2.2

12 km
1891 km (1175 mi)Walker County, 8.3 mi southwest of Fort Oglethorpe, Catoosa County, Georgia, USA MoreMap
Monday, July 27, 2020 17:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 27, 2020 17:22 GMT
2.4

16 km
1949 km (1211 mi)Polk County, 14 mi northeast of Cleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Wednesday, July 8, 2020 23:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 8, 2020 23:02 GMT
2.3

20 km
1904 km (1183 mi)3.6 mi east of Fort Oglethorpe, Catoosa County, Georgia, USA MoreMap
Monday, July 6, 2020 03:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jul 6, 2020 03:30 GMT
2.5

5.1 km
1919 km (1192 mi)4.3 mi west of Dalton, Whitfield County, Georgia, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, June 28, 2020 21:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jun 28, 2020 21:54 GMT
2.0

17 km
1963 km (1220 mi)8.7 mi south of Athens, McMinn County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Saturday, June 27, 2020 22:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jun 27, 2020 22:13 GMT
2.7

12 km
1818 km (1130 mi)Walker County, 8.4 mi southwest of Fort Oglethorpe, Catoosa County, Georgia, USA MoreMap
Friday, May 15, 2020 09:41 GMT (3 earthquakes)
2020-05-15 04:41:12 -05:00 (May 15, 2020 09:41 GMT)
1.5

19 km
1776 km (1104 mi)7km WNW of Sweetwater, Tennessee (USA) MoreMap
2020-05-14 19:57:09 -05:00 (May 15, 2020 00:57 GMT)
1.7

23 km
1753 km (1089 mi)11km SW of Rockwood, Tennessee (USA) MoreMap
2020-05-14 19:55:19 -05:00 (May 15, 2020 00:55 GMT)
2.3

22 km
1753 km (1089 mi)7.6 mi southwest of Rockwood, Roane County, Tennessee, USA 2 reportsMoreMap
Sunday, May 10, 2020 08:34 GMT (2 earthquakes)
2020-05-10 02:34:15 -06:00 (May 10, 2020 08:34 GMT)
2.8

6.5 km
1665 km (1035 mi)13 mi east of Winchester, Franklin County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
2020-05-10 02:33:14 -06:00 (May 10, 2020 08:33 GMT)
3.1

8.4 km
1665 km (1035 mi)13 mi east of Winchester, Franklin County, Tennessee, USA 41 reportsMoreMap
Saturday, April 25, 2020 06:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-25 01:33:10 -05:00 (Apr 25, 2020 06:33 GMT)
1.8

9.9 km
1782 km (1107 mi)3km SW of Sweetwater, Tennessee (USA) MoreMap
Monday, April 13, 2020 23:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-13 18:54:46 -05:00 (Apr 13, 2020 23:54 GMT)
2.3

25 km
1783 km (1108 mi)2.9 mi north of Sweetwater, Monroe County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Sunday, April 5, 2020 19:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-04-05 14:17:54 -05:00 (Apr 5, 2020 19:17 GMT)
2.1

14 km
1762 km (1095 mi)4.5 mi east of Cleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, March 13, 2020 02:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-03-12 21:15:43 -05:00 (Mar 13, 2020 02:15 GMT)
2.2

19 km
1773 km (1102 mi)Polk County, 11 mi southeast of Cleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee, USA 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, January 25, 2020 04:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-24 22:35:44 -06:00 (Jan 25, 2020 04:35 GMT)
2.3

4.4 km
1727 km (1073 mi)Bledsoe County, 25 mi north of Soddy-Daisy, Hamilton County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Saturday, January 18, 2020 08:11 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-18 03:10:45 -05:00 (Jan 18, 2020 08:11 GMT)
1.6

19 km
1747 km (1086 mi)5km WNW of Varnell, Georgia (USA) 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, January 4, 2020 13:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
2020-01-04 08:53:14 -05:00 (Jan 4, 2020 13:53 GMT)
2.5

16 km
1761 km (1094 mi)Meigs County, 9.8 mi northwest of Athens, McMinn County, Tennessee, USA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.2 x 109 joules (2.26 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.95 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.