Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Shimohei-gun, Iwate, Japan, past 30 days

Updated 13 Apr 2021 13:41 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Shimohei-gun was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 1 quake of magnitude 4.3, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan, 20 Mar 2021 9:26 am (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake Kazuno Shi, 20 km north of Hanawa, Kazuno, Akita, Japan, Apr 12, 2021 20:16:55.89
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (28 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 12 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
Apr 12, 2021 20:16:55.89 (12 Apr 2021 11:16:55 GMT)
2.5

116 km
Towada (14 km)Kazuno Shi, 20 km north of Hanawa, Kazuno, Akita, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
Apr 11, 2021 08:37:27.90 (10 Apr 2021 23:37:27 GMT)
3.0

58 km
(72 km)Shimohei-gun, 15 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Apr 10, 2021 11:02:25.56 (10 Apr 2021 02:02:25 GMT)
3.3

45 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
Apr 10, 2021 04:31:36.06 (9 Apr 2021 19:31:36 GMT)
2.9

57 km
(73 km)Shimohei-gun, 14 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 5:54 pm (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 08:54:05 GMT)
4.3

58 km
(72 km)Shimohei-gun, 15 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 3:46 pm (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 06:46:06 GMT)
2.8

55 km
(124 km)North Pacific Ocean, 35 km east of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 9:38 am (GMT +9) (9 Apr 2021 00:38:20 GMT)
3.7

133 km
(38 km)Shiwa-gun, 20 km south of Morioka, Iwate, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Apr 2021 10:31 am (GMT +9) (7 Apr 2021 01:31:37 GMT)
2.5

46 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 5:32 am (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 20:32:36 GMT)
2.7

40 km
(66 km)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
3 Apr 2021 2:47 pm (GMT +9) (3 Apr 2021 05:47:18 GMT)
2.7

137 km
Kurikoma (9 km)Yuzawa-shi, Akita, 47 km southwest of Kitakami, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Apr 2021 2:40 pm (GMT +9) (2 Apr 2021 05:40:16 GMT)
2.9

92 km
(67 km)North Pacific Ocean, 50 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Apr 2021 1:08 am (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 16:08:39 GMT)
2.8

105 km
(63 km)Shimohei-gun, 22 km northwest of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 14:59:50 GMT)
3.0

138 km
Towada (8 km)Sannohe Gun, 40 km southwest of Misawa, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 6:34 pm (GMT +9) (1 Apr 2021 09:34:19 GMT)
2.5

61 km
Kurikoma (97 km)3.8 km south of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Apr 2021 2:07 am (GMT +9) (31 Mar 2021 17:07:37 GMT)
3.3

86 km
Kurikoma (44 km)3.7 km west of Kitakami, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 2:15 am (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 17:15:06 GMT)
2.7

81 km
Osore-yama (22 km)8.2 km south of Ichinohe, Ninohe-gun, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 12:02 pm (GMT +9) (30 Mar 2021 03:02:57 GMT)
2.5

132 km
(49 km)7.3 km west of Hanamaki, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Mar 2021 8:25 pm (GMT +9) (29 Mar 2021 11:25:04 GMT)
2.7

55 km
Kurikoma (141 km)North Pacific Ocean, 63 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Mar 2021 3:44 am (GMT +9) (28 Mar 2021 18:44:51 GMT)
2.7

39 km
Osore-yama (114 km)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km northeast of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 6:15 am (GMT +9) (27 Mar 2021 21:15:51 GMT)
2.6

33 km
Osore-yama (104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km east of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Mar 2021 12:49 pm (GMT +9) (26 Mar 2021 03:49:08 GMT)
2.7

15 km
(59 km)Miyako-shi, 24 km north of Tōno, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Mar 2021 7:44 am (GMT +9) (24 Mar 2021 22:44:42 GMT)
2.5

35 km
Kurikoma (135 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southeast of Kamaishi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
20 Mar 2021 9:19 pm (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 12:19:49 GMT)
3.9

30 km
Osore-yama (113 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 9:44 am (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 00:44:39 GMT)
2.5

92 km
Osore-yama (24 km)Sannohe Gun, 17 km southwest of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 9:28 am (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 00:28:31 GMT)
3.3

20 km
Osore-yama (75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 3 reportsMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 9:26 am (GMT +9) (20 Mar 2021 00:26:25 GMT)
5.2

33 km
Osore-yama (112 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Mar 2021 4:52 am (GMT +9) (18 Mar 2021 19:52:00 GMT)
2.8

47 km
(96 km)North Pacific Ocean, 13 km east of Miyako, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Mar 2021 4:46 pm (GMT +9) (17 Mar 2021 07:46:07 GMT)
2.5

28 km
Osore-yama (120 km)North Pacific Ocean, 84 km east of Hachinohe, Aomori, Japan MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.3 x 1012 joules (1.18 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1018 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.