Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Merced, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 19:01 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Merced had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.6 | 38km ESE of Shaver Lake, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Merced, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 3 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:39 quakes | 9 quakes M2+
Past 30 days:185 quakes | 51 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:767 quakes | 185 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:5,799 quakes | 1,290 quakes M2+ | 129 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Merced, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 19, 2022 11:43 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 18:43 GMT)
2.6

35 km
38km ESE of Shaver Lake, CA 1 reportMoreMap
May 19, 2022 8:24 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 15:24 GMT)
1.3

1.1 km
8km WNW of Bayview-Montalvin, CA MoreMap
May 19, 2022 7:05 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 14:05 GMT)
2.0

3.5 km
1km SSE of Walker, CA MoreMap
May 19, 2022 7:03 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 14:03 GMT)
2.1

6.8 km
13km SE of Pinnacles, CA MoreMap
May 19, 2022 5:49 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 12:49 GMT)
1.3

5.7 km
12km S of Livermore, CA MoreMap
May 19, 2022 12:07 am (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 07:07 GMT)
1.4

0.2 km
14km ESE of Angwin, CA MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:47 pm (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 06:47 GMT)
0.7

4.1 km
16km S of Mammoth Lakes, CA MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:07 pm (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 06:07 GMT)
?

n/a
13 mi southeast of Redwood City, San Mateo County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 9:47 pm (GMT -7) (May 19, 2022 04:47 GMT)
2.5

7.4 km
5km S of San Juan Bautista, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 18, 2022 2:00 pm (GMT -7) (May 18, 2022 21:00 GMT)
1.3

5.9 km
4 Km WNW of Walker, California MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 109 joules (287 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.247 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Merced Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Merced?

The last earthquake in Merced occurred 18 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 38km ESE of Shaver Lake, CA, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 11:43 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Merced today?

In the past 24 hours, Merced, California, USA had 10 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in Merced today?

The strongest earthquake in Merced today occurred 18 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 38km ESE of Shaver Lake, CA, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 11:43 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.