Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
0 quakes Mag. 2+
0 quakes Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs long-term average, past 7 days
Earthquake activity below average

Latest quakes in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.7 earthquake Lincoln County, Oklahoma, USA -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 5.1 Lincoln County, Oklahoma, USA - Feb 3, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 3, 2024 16:34 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Cleveland, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Cleveland in the past 24 hours.
In the past 30 days, Cleveland has had 5 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 5.1:
  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3
Latest today: Mag. 1.7 Earthquake Lincoln County, 17 mi NE of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA -
Strongest: Mag. 5.1 Earthquake Lincoln County, 17 mi NE of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (66 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 2, 07:25 pm (GMT -6)
Mar 3, 01:25 GMT
1.7

4.1 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Saturday, March 2, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Mar 2, 03:25 am (Chicago)
Mar 2, 09:25 GMT
2.1

3.8 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA 1 reportInfo
Mar 2, 01:14 am (Chicago)
Mar 2, 07:14 GMT
2.1

4.1 km
41 km (25 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 19 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA 1 reportInfo
Friday, March 1, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Mar 1, 11:29 am (Chicago)
Mar 1, 17:29 GMT
1.7

4.2 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Mar 1, 06:04 am (Chicago)
Mar 1, 12:04 GMT
2.8

7.2 km
41 km (25 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 18 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA
I FELT IT - 3 reports
Info
Mar 1, 03:14 am (Chicago)
Mar 1, 09:14 GMT
1.3

6.6 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Mar 1, 02:31 am (Chicago)
Mar 1, 08:31 GMT
1.1

6 km
39 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 29, 02:03 am (Chicago)
Feb 29, 08:03 GMT
1.2

6.2 km
40 km (25 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 18 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Sunday, February 25, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 25, 01:00 pm (Chicago)
Feb 25, 19:00 GMT
1.5

6.8 km
40 km (25 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 17 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Thursday, February 22, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 22, 01:51 pm (Chicago)
Feb 22, 19:51 GMT
2.1

6.1 km
38 km (24 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 16 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA Info
Feb 22, 08:23 am (Chicago)
Feb 22, 14:23 GMT
2.6

1.9 km
41 km (25 mi) to the NE Lincoln County, 19 mi northeast of Shawnee, Pottawatomie County, Oklahoma, USA 1 reportInfo
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 1012 joules (791 megawatt hours, equivalent to 681 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Cleveland Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Wichita Mountains, Oklahoma, USA (WMOK/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Wichita Mountains, Oklahoma, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,000 quakes on average per year in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.3 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 3.3 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 8.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 91 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 233 quakes per year (or 19.4 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 288 quakes per year (or 24 quakes per month)
Cleveland has a high level of seismic activity. Cleveland has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 5 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 1 to 5 years.

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Cleveland Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA?

Cleveland has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,000 quakes on average per year in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA. Cleveland has had at least 3 quakes above magnitude 5 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 1 to 5 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Cleveland?

The last earthquake in Cleveland occurred 15 hours ago and had a magnitude of 1.7:

A light magnitude 1.7 earthquake hit 27 km (17 mi) away from Shawnee, Oklahoma,  United States, in the late afternoon of Saturday, Mar 2, 2024 at 7.25 pm local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 4.1 km (2.5 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Cleveland in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Cleveland has been shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1 quake of magnitude.

What was the strongest quake in Cleveland in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Cleveland in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 5.1 and occurred 4 weeks ago:

Mag. 5.1 earthquake Lincoln County, Oklahoma, USA - Feb 3, 2024 -

A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake hit 27 km (17 mi) away from Shawnee, Oklahoma,  United States, in the early morning of Saturday, Feb 3, 2024 at 12.24 am local time (America/Chicago GMT -5). The quake had a very shallow depth of 3 km (1.9 mi) and was felt over a large region.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap

Map of largest quakes in or near Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Atoka | Blaine | Caddo | Canadian | Carter | Coal | Comanche | Cotton | Creek | Custer | Dewey | Garvin | Grady | Hughes | Johnston | Kingfisher | Kiowa | Lincoln | Logan | McClain | Murray | Okfuskee | Oklahoma | Oklahoma | Okmulgee | Pontotoc | Pottawatomie | Seminole | Stephens | Texas | Tillman | Tulsa | Washita
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings