Latest quakes in or near Mono, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, July 6, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 6, 2022 23:26 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 26 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Mono had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 26 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 51 Km WNW of Beatty, Nevada -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 8.4 mi SE of Mammoth Lakes, Mono County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mono, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:6 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:58 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:381 quakes | 65 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:843 quakes | 151 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+
Past 365 days:7,113 quakes | 1,221 quakes M2+ | 131 quakes M3+ | 13 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (28 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 GMT (27 quakes)
Jul 6, 2022 12:07 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 19:07 GMT)
1.6

7.3 km
51 Km WNW of Beatty, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 11:51 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 18:51 GMT)
2.9

3.8 km
8.4 mi southeast of Mammoth Lakes, Mono County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 10:31 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 17:31 GMT)
1.7

4 km
39km NNE of Toms Place, CA MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 3:48 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 10:48 GMT)
0.7

5.5 km
18km WSW of Toms Place, CA MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 3:11 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 10:11 GMT)
2.2

5.7 km
6km ESE of Mesa Vista, CA MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 1:53 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 08:53 GMT)
0.7

0.1 km
14km W of Toms Place, CA MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 1:42 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 08:42 GMT)
0.7

6.6 km
20km NNW of Toms Place, CA MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 08:35 GMT)
0.3

2.6 km
23 Km NE of Hawthorne, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 1:28 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 08:28 GMT)
0.5

8.9 km
15 Km NE of Hawthorne, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 12:54 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 07:54 GMT)
0.2

6.1 km
20 Km NE of Hawthorne, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 12:52 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 07:52 GMT)
0.6

7.6 km
31 Km SE of Mina, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 12:40 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 07:40 GMT)
0.3

9.2 km
14 Km NE of Hawthorne, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 12:25 am (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 07:25 GMT)
0.6

8.1 km
25 Km SSW of Mina, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 11:56 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 06:56 GMT)
0.3

8.7 km
17 Km NE of Hawthorne, Nevada MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 11:53 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 06:53 GMT)
0.8

11 km
26 Km NW of Benton, California MoreMap
Jul 5, 2022 11:09 pm (GMT -7) (Jul 6, 2022 06:09 GMT)
0.8

7.6 km
39 Km SSE of Goldfield, Nevada MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 109 joules (443 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.381 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Mono Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mono?

The last earthquake in Mono occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 51 Km WNW of Beatty, Nevada, on Wednesday, Jul 6, 2022 at 12:07 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Mono today?

In the past 24 hours, Mono, California, USA had 28 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Mono today?

The strongest earthquake in Mono today occurred 5 hours ago: Light mag. 2.9 earthquake - 8.4 mi southeast of Mammoth Lakes, Mono County, California, USA, on Wednesday, Jul 6, 2022 at 11:51 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings