Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Stillwater, Montana, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, October 6, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 04:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
Over the past 24 hours, Stillwater had 20 small quakes between magnitudes 1.0 and 2.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 0.6 | 33 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 1.1 | 21 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Stillwater, Montana, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes
Past 7 days37 quakes | 9 quakes M2+
Past 30 days150 quakes | 29 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 90 days242 quakes | 47 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+
Past 365 days511 quakes | 80 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 11:58 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 17:58 GMT)
0.6

4.7 km
33 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 11:58 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 17:58 GMT)
0.6

4.7 km
33 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 17:54 GMT)
0.8

1.9 km
31 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 17:54 GMT)
0.4

4.5 km
22 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 8:56 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 14:56 GMT)
0.6

7.5 km
21 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 5:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 11:03 GMT)
0.2

6 km
Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 5:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 11:03 GMT)
0.2

6.1 km
Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 4:44 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:44 GMT)
1.0

6.2 km
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 4:44 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:44 GMT)
0.7

5 km
34 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 4:40 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:40 GMT)
0.2

5.1 km
33 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 4:40 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:40 GMT)
0.5

5.6 km
34 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 4:40 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:40 GMT)
0.5

5.6 km
34 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 4:39 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 10:39 GMT)
1.0

4.6 km
34 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Oct 5, 2022 3:51 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 09:51 GMT)
0.8

6.6 km
22 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 2:53 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 08:53 GMT)
0.2

6 km
22 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 5, 2022 2:46 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 08:46 GMT)
0.6

6.9 km
21 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 4, 2022 11:45 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 05:45 GMT)
0.6

2.6 km
24 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 4, 2022 11:45 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 05:45 GMT)
0.8

5.9 km
22 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 4, 2022 11:35 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 05:35 GMT)
1.1

6.2 km
21 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Oct 4, 2022 11:35 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 05:35 GMT)
1.1

6.2 km
Yellowstone Region, Wyoming More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 107 joules (4.81 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Red Lodge, Montana, USA (RLMT/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Red Lodge, Montana, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Stillwater Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Stillwater?

The last earthquake in Stillwater occurred 10 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.6 earthquake - 33 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 11:58 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Stillwater today?

In the past 24 hours, Stillwater, Montana, USA had 20 quakes up to magnitude 1.1.

What was the strongest quake in Stillwater today?

The strongest earthquake in Stillwater today occurred 23 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 21 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 11:35 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings