Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Sweet Grass, Montana, USA, in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 6, 2022 01:42 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, Sweet Grass had 2 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 32 mi W of Bozeman, Gallatin County, Montana, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Sweet Grass, Montana, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours1 quake1 quake M2+
Past 7 days8 quakes2 quakes M2+
Past 30 days29 quakes4 quakes M2+
Past 90 days244 quakes40 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 365 days615 quakes93 quakes M2+7 quakes M3+1 quake M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 5, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 5, 2022 8:28 am (GMT -7) (Dec 5, 2022 15:28 GMT)
2.9

9.6 km
20 Km SSE of Harrison, Montana
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, December 4, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 4, 2022 4:57 pm (GMT -7) (Dec 4, 2022 23:57 GMT)
0.3

6 km
22 Km S of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 11:22 am (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 18:22 GMT)
1.2

14 km
36 Km S of Silver Gate, Montana More
Dec 2, 2022 4:27 am (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 11:27 GMT)
1.9

13 km
Wyoming More
Dec 2, 2022 4:27 am (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 11:27 GMT)
1.9

13 km
Wyoming More
Dec 2, 2022 1:38 am (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 08:38 GMT)
1.0

6.2 km
22 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Dec 1, 2022 7:02 pm (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 02:02 GMT)
1.2

2.8 km
24 Km SE of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Dec 1, 2022 5:41 pm (GMT -7) (Dec 2, 2022 00:41 GMT)
2.5

7.4 km
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 4:39 pm (GMT -7) (Dec 1, 2022 23:39 GMT)
0.4

5.9 km
Idaho-Montana Border Region More
Dec 1, 2022 3:04 am (GMT -7) (Dec 1, 2022 10:04 GMT)
1.3

3.8 km
47 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Dec 1, 2022 3:04 am (GMT -7) (Dec 1, 2022 10:04 GMT)
0.5

2.5 km
48 Km ESE of West Yellowstone, Montana More
Dec 1, 2022 3:04 am (GMT -7) (Dec 1, 2022 10:04 GMT)
0.5

2.5 km
Yellowstone Region, Wyoming More
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Nov 30, 2022 3:07 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 30, 2022 22:07 GMT)
0.6

2 km
24 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Nov 30, 2022 3:07 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 30, 2022 22:07 GMT)
0.3

3 km
23 Km SSW of Mammoth, Wyoming More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.9 x 109 joules (521 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.448 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Red Lodge, Montana, USA (RLMT/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Red Lodge, Montana, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Sweet Grass Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sweet Grass?

The last earthquake in Sweet Grass occurred 10 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 32 mi west of Bozeman, Gallatin County, Montana, USA, on Monday, Dec 5, 2022 at 8:28 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Sweet Grass past week?

In the past 7 days, Sweet Grass, Montana, USA had 14 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Sweet Grass past week?

The strongest earthquake in Sweet Grass past week occurred 10 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 32 mi west of Bozeman, Gallatin County, Montana, USA, on Monday, Dec 5, 2022 at 8:28 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings