Latest quakes in or near Peñuelas, Puerto Rico, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, August 17, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 17, 2022 13:53 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Peñuelas had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 3 Km SSW of Indios, Puerto Rico -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.4 | North Atlantic Ocean, 78 km N of San Juan, Puerto Rico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Peñuelas, Puerto Rico (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:134 quakes | 102 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:534 quakes | 393 quakes M2+ | 72 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,444 quakes | 1,029 quakes M2+ | 173 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:4,417 quakes | 2,963 quakes M2+ | 663 quakes M3+ | 16 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Peñuelas, Puerto Rico | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 7:04 am (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 11:04 GMT)
2.5

18 km
3 Km SSW of Indios, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 6:47 am (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 10:47 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Caribbean Sea, 22 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:21 am (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 06:21 GMT)
2.9

45 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 24 km north of Aguadilla, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:08 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 03:08 GMT)
3.4

3 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 78 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:45 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 02:45 GMT)
2.2

10.9 km
6 Km SSW of Indios, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 5:46 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 21:46 GMT)
2.2

9 km
Guanica, 16 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 21:22 GMT)
2.7

20 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 48 km northeast of San Juan, Puerto Rico MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 3:29 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 19:29 GMT)
3.1

40 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 79 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1010 joules (4.02 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.46 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Peñuelas Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Peñuelas?

The last earthquake in Peñuelas occurred 2 hours and 48 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 3 Km SSW of Indios, Puerto Rico, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 7:04 am (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Peñuelas today?

In the past 24 hours, Peñuelas, Puerto Rico had 8 quakes up to magnitude 3.4.

What was the strongest quake in Peñuelas today?

The strongest earthquake in Peñuelas today occurred 11 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 78 km north of San Juan, Puerto Rico, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 11:08 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings