Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 19, 2021 00:30 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Frontera Hidalgo, Chiapas, Mexico: past 30 days

Updated Oct 19, 2021 00:30 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Frontera Hidalgo was shaken by 9 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 12 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake Huixtla, 41 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Oct 18, 2021 5:30 pm (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 22:30 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 5:30 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 18, 2021 22:30 GMT)
4.5

102 km
57 km (35 mi)Huixtla, 41 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 18:42 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 17, 2021 1:42 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 18:42 GMT)
3.9

105 km
33 km (21 mi)Tuxtla Chico, 7.9 km southeast of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 14:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 9:17 am (GMT -5) (Oct 16, 2021 14:17 GMT)
3.9

10 km
64 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 44 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 10:59 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 4:59 am (GMT -6) (Oct 15, 2021 10:59 GMT)
4.1

1 km
72 km (45 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 18:17 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 14, 2021 1:17 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 18:17 GMT)
3.8

82 km
71 km (44 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 6:52 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 11:52 GMT)
4.2

66 km
75 km (47 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 2:47 am (GMT -5) (Oct 14, 2021 07:47 GMT)
3.7

25 km
49 km (30 mi)13 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 09:22 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 12, 2021 4:22 am (GMT -5) (Oct 12, 2021 09:22 GMT)
3.9

70 km
51 km (32 mi)Suchiate, Guatemala, 28 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 3:13 am (GMT -6) (Oct 12, 2021 09:13 GMT)
3.9

32 km
28 km (17 mi)Guatemala: 20 Km Al NORESTE De CD HIDALGO, CHIS
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 7:48 pm (GMT -5) (Oct 12, 2021 00:48 GMT)
4.4

78 km
41 km (25 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Monday, October 4, 2021 21:20 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 4, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2021 21:20 GMT)
4.0

104 km
27 km (17 mi)35 km west of San Marcos, Departamento de San Marcos, Guatemala 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 1:57 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2021 07:57 GMT)
4.1

82 km
97 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 09:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 3, 2021 4:10 am (GMT -5) (Oct 3, 2021 09:10 GMT)
3.6

161 km
23 km (14 mi)Mazapa de Madero, 6.9 km southeast of Motozintla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 06:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 1, 2021 1:53 am (GMT -5) (Oct 1, 2021 06:53 GMT)
3.6

113 km
48 km (30 mi)13 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 21:50 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 30, 2021 3:50 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2021 21:50 GMT)
3.7

16 km
102 km (63 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 77 km southwest of Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 9:23 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 30, 2021 02:23 GMT)
4.3

86 km
58 km (36 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 07:46 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 29, 2021 2:46 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 07:46 GMT)
3.9

175 km
13 km (8.1 mi)Guatemala, 35 km north of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 2:32 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 07:32 GMT)
4.0

40 km
58 km (36 mi)Huixtla, 36 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 10:51 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2021 03:51 GMT)
4.3

78 km
55 km (34 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 19:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 25, 2021 1:54 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 25, 2021 19:54 GMT)
3.7

12 km
119 km (74 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Guatemala, 89 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 20:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 21, 2021 2:53 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 20:53 GMT)
3.7

9 km
120 km (75 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Guatemala, 90 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1012 joules (491 megawatt hours, equivalent to 423 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.