Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 21, 2021 14:13 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Frontera Hidalgo, Chiapas, Mexico: August 2021

Updated Oct 21, 2021 14:13 GMT -
During Aug 2021, Frontera Hidalgo was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 22 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.
Biggest quake: 4.2 quake Guadalupe Victoria, 13 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico, Aug 19, 2021 8:26 pm (GMT -5)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (25 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, August 28, 2021 16:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 28, 2021 10:26 am (GMT -6) (Aug 28, 2021 16:26 GMT)
3.9

67 km
91 km (57 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 100 km southwest of Quetzaltenango, Guatemala 2 reportsMoreMap
Friday, August 27, 2021 14:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 27, 2021 8:16 am (GMT -6) (Aug 27, 2021 14:16 GMT)
3.8

22 km
108 km (67 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of Retalhuleu, Guatemala 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, August 22, 2021 20:30 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 22, 2021 2:30 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 22, 2021 20:30 GMT)
3.6

49 km
89 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km southwest of Quetzaltenango, Guatemala MoreMap
Aug 22, 2021 11:34 am (GMT -6) (Aug 22, 2021 17:34 GMT)
3.6

15 km
112 km (70 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Saturday, August 21, 2021 16:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 21, 2021 11:05 am (GMT -5) (Aug 21, 2021 16:05 GMT)
4.1

128 km
31 km (19 mi)Cuntalapa, 21 km northwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Friday, August 20, 2021 01:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 19, 2021 8:26 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 20, 2021 01:26 GMT)
4.2

92 km
48 km (30 mi)Guadalupe Victoria, 13 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 05:15 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 17, 2021 11:15 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 18, 2021 05:15 GMT)
3.3

55 km
99 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km southwest of Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 09:14 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 16, 2021 4:14 am (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2021 09:14 GMT)
3.5

105 km
67 km (42 mi)Acapetahua, 30 km west of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Aug 15, 2021 11:40 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 16, 2021 04:40 GMT)
3.5

110 km
49 km (30 mi)Villa Comaltitlan, 19 km north of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, August 15, 2021 07:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 15, 2021 2:43 am (GMT -5) (Aug 15, 2021 07:43 GMT)
3.5

75 km
83 km (52 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 49 km southwest of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Friday, August 13, 2021 19:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 13, 2021 2:05 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 13, 2021 19:05 GMT)
4.0

106 km
39 km (24 mi)Álvaro Obregón, 12 km west of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 06:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 10, 2021 12:49 am (GMT -6) (Aug 10, 2021 06:49 GMT)
3.5

55 km
89 km (55 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of Retalhuleu, Guatemala MoreMap
Monday, August 9, 2021 08:09 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 9, 2021 2:09 am (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 08:09 GMT)
3.0

13 km
9 km (5.6 mi)33 km northwest of San Marcos, Departamento de San Marcos, Guatemala MoreMap
Aug 9, 2021 2:02 am (GMT -6) (Aug 9, 2021 08:02 GMT)
3.6

23 km
103 km (64 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 76 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Aug 8, 2021 11:00 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2021 04:00 GMT)
3.6

65 km
63 km (39 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 34 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, August 8, 2021 19:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 8, 2021 1:58 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 8, 2021 19:58 GMT)
3.6

36 km
95 km (59 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Saturday, August 7, 2021 09:13 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 7, 2021 4:13 am (GMT -5) (Aug 7, 2021 09:13 GMT)
3.9

99 km
58 km (36 mi)20 km west of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Friday, August 6, 2021 14:29 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 6, 2021 8:29 am (GMT -6) (Aug 6, 2021 14:29 GMT)
3.7

16 km
107 km (66 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Aug 6, 2021 2:26 am (GMT -5) (Aug 6, 2021 07:26 GMT)
3.3

95 km
56 km (35 mi)Suchiate, 29 km south of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Thursday, August 5, 2021 19:17 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 5, 2021 1:17 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 5, 2021 19:17 GMT)
3.7

16 km
102 km (63 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Aug 5, 2021 11:57 am (GMT -6) (Aug 5, 2021 17:57 GMT)
3.8

11 km
87 km (54 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 58 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 06:47 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 3, 2021 12:47 am (GMT -6) (Aug 3, 2021 06:47 GMT)
3.3

65 km
86 km (53 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Aug 3, 2021 12:38 am (GMT -5) (Aug 3, 2021 05:38 GMT)
3.7

114 km
51 km (32 mi)14 km west of Huixtla, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Monday, August 2, 2021 21:07 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 2, 2021 4:07 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 2, 2021 21:07 GMT)
3.8

80 km
58 km (36 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Sunday, August 1, 2021 18:23 GMT (1 earthquake)
2021-08-01 13:23:48 (Hora de México) (Aug 1, 2021 18:23 GMT)
3.6

8 km
101 km (63 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.9 x 1011 joules (191 megawatt hours, equivalent to 165 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.