Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.6 earthquake 11 km north of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 3.0 2.4 km northwest of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico - Feb 12, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 1, 2024 06:47 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Atotonilco de Tula, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula in the past 24 hours.

In the past 30 days, Atotonilco de Tula has had 5 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 3.0:

  • 0 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Latest: Mag. 2.6 Earthquake 11 km N of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico -
Strongest: Mag. 3.0 Earthquake 2.4 km NW of Mexico, Mexico D.F., Mexico -
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (20 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 25, 04:52 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 10:52 GMT

2.6

5 km
41 km (25 mi) to the NE 11 km north of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 25, 04:12 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 10:12 GMT

2.4

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 13 km north of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 25, 03:39 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 09:39 GMT

2.5

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 15 km northwest of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 25, 03:38 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 09:38 GMT

2.4

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 13 km north of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 25, 03:32 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 09:32 GMT

2.5

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 17 km northwest of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 25, 03:16 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 09:16 GMT

2.5

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 18 km northwest of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 25, 03:14 am (Mexico City)
Feb 25, 09:14 GMT

2.7

5 km
42 km (26 mi) to the NE 14 km north of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Saturday, February 24, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 24, 11:50 am (Mexico City)
Feb 24, 17:50 GMT

2.1

5 km
26 km (16 mi) to the N 6.2 km northeast of Progreso de Alvaro Obregon, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Monday, February 19, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 19, 10:48 am (Mexico City)
Feb 19, 16:48 GMT

2.5

5 km
29 km (18 mi) to the N 8.5 km northeast of Progreso de Alvaro Obregon, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Feb 19, 10:45 am (Mexico City)
Feb 19, 16:45 GMT

2.1

5 km
23 km (14 mi) to the N 5.2 km east of Progreso de Alvaro Obregon, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Sunday, February 18, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 18, 01:27 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 18, 19:27 GMT

2.6

5 km
35 km (22 mi) to the NE 9.6 km northwest of Actopan, Hidalgo, Mexico More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1010 joules (3.19 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.74 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Atotonilco de Tula Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Unam - Mexico, Mexico (UNM/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Unam - Mexico, Mexico: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 236 quakes on average per year in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 0.11 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 9.1 years)
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 10.1 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 23.1 quakes per year
Atotonilco de Tula has a moderate level of seismic activity. However, Atotonilco de Tula has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico, by magnitude

30 days
3 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (5 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (142 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
26 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (18.31%)
2+
113 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (79.58%)
below M2
3 quakes
(2.11%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days1 quakeno data1-----
Past 30 days5 quakesno data5-----
Past 3 years142 quakes311326----
Magnitude 1.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Atotonilco de Tula Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico?

Atotonilco de Tula has a moderate level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 236 quakes on average per year in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico. However, Atotonilco de Tula has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Atotonilco de Tula?

The last earthquake in Atotonilco de Tula occurred 5 days ago:

A light magnitude 2.6 earthquake hit 11.5 km (7 mi) away from Actopan, Hidalgo,  Mexico, in the early morning of Sunday, Feb 25, 2024 at 4.52 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 5 km (3.1 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Atotonilco de Tula in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Atotonilco de Tula has had 0 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Atotonilco de Tula in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Atotonilco de Tula in the past 30 days occurred 3 weeks ago:

A light magnitude 3.0 earthquake hit 2.4 km (1.5 mi) away from Mexico, Mexico D.F.,  Mexico, in the early morning of Monday, Feb 12, 2024 at 2.39 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 10 km (6 mi) and was felt by many near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico

Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap

Map of largest quakes in or near Atotonilco de Tula, Hidalgo, Mexico

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Acambay de Ruiz Castañeda | Acatlan | Acaxochitlan | Acolman de Nezahualcoyotl Municipality | Actopan | Agua Blanca de Iturbide | Ahuazotepec | Ajacuba | Alfajayucan | Almoloya |  ...Show all... | Zitacuaro | Zumpango Municipality
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings