Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, January 29, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 29, 2023 12:35 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Escuintla had 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 7 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | Departamento de Sonsonate, 25 km S of Ahuachapan, El Salvador -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.8 | San Marcos, 41 km W of Huehuetenango, Departamento de Huehuetenango, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala (updated )

Past 24 hours13 quakes7 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+
Past 7 days126 quakes59 quakes M2+20 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days691 quakes382 quakes M2+126 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days989 quakes516 quakes M2+250 quakes M3+24 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,219 quakes1,034 quakes M2+765 quakes M3+152 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, January 29, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Jan 29, 2023 5:41 am (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 11:41 GMT)
3.0

78 km
Departamento de Sonsonate, 25 km south of Ahuachapan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 29, 2023 5:27 am (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 11:27 GMT)
2.5

38 km
North Pacific Ocean, 46 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Jan 29, 2023 3:12 am (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 09:12 GMT)
1.8

7 km
23 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 28, 2023 9:19 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 03:19 GMT)
3.8

202 km
San Marcos, 41 km west of Huehuetenango, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 28, 2023 7:26 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 01:26 GMT)
2.1

6 km
Guatemala, 20 km west of Santa Ana, El Salvador More
Jan 28, 2023 7:14 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 01:14 GMT)
2.2

14 km
10.1 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 28, 2023 7:03 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 01:03 GMT)
2.6

9 km
11 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 28, 2023 7:03 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2023 01:03 GMT)
2.3

7 km
Guatemala, 13 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Saturday, January 28, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Jan 28, 2023 10:25 am (GMT -6) (Jan 28, 2023 16:25 GMT)
2.0

7 km
21 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 28, 2023 9:20 am (GMT -6) (Jan 28, 2023 15:20 GMT)
2.5

7 km
21 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 28, 2023 8:53 am (GMT -6) (Jan 28, 2023 14:53 GMT)
3.4

5 km
21 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 28, 2023 8:35 am (GMT -6) (Jan 28, 2023 14:35 GMT)
3.4

7 km
21 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 28, 2023 7:32 am (GMT -6) (Jan 28, 2023 13:32 GMT)
3.1

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.4 x 1010 joules (15 megawatt hours, equivalent to 12.9 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Departamento de Escuintla Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Departamento de Escuintla?

The last earthquake in Departamento de Escuintla occurred 54 minutes ago: Minor mag. 3.0 earthquake - Departamento de Sonsonate, 25 km south of Ahuachapan, El Salvador, on Sunday, Jan 29, 2023 at 5:41 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Departamento de Escuintla today?

In the past 24 hours, Departamento de Escuintla, Guatemala had 13 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Departamento de Escuintla today?

The strongest earthquake in Departamento de Escuintla today occurred 9 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.8 earthquake - San Marcos, 41 km west of Huehuetenango, Guatemala, on Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 at 9:19 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings