3 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Wednesday, June 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jun 29, 2022 10:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 24 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Whakatane District had 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 24 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | South Pacific Ocean, 65 km NE of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.0 | 13 km NW of Gisborne, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:30 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:216 quakes | 75 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:673 quakes | 285 quakes M2+ | 36 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:2,076 quakes | 908 quakes M2+ | 100 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:7,836 quakes | 3,498 quakes M2+ | 389 quakes M3+ | 23 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (34 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Jun 29, 2022 9:56 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 09:56 GMT)
2.4

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 65 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 9:42 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 09:42 GMT)
1.0

35 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 8:40 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 08:40 GMT)
1.9

22 km
South Pacific Ocean, 60 km east of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 8:13 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 08:13 GMT)
1.3

36 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 7:08 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 07:08 GMT)
1.5

128 km
Manawatu-Wanganui, 50 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 5:28 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 05:28 GMT)
1.6

19 km
South Pacific Ocean, 62 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 4:55 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 04:55 GMT)
0.9

13 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 3:57 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 03:57 GMT)
1.8

59 km
33 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 3:55 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 03:55 GMT)
1.7

45 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 3:49 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 03:49 GMT)
1.7

27 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 3:04 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 03:04 GMT)
1.7

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 2:54 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 02:54 GMT)
1.9

158 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 2:01 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 02:01 GMT)
2.4

140 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 1:18 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 01:18 GMT)
2.3

163 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 12:40 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 00:40 GMT)
2.5

33 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jun 29, 2022 12:22 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 29, 2022 00:22 GMT)
1.3

56 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.5 x 109 joules (1.26 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.09 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Whakatane District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Whakatane District?

The last earthquake in Whakatane District occurred 47 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.4 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 65 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Jun 29, 2022 at 9:56 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Whakatane District today?

In the past 24 hours, Whakatane District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand had 34 quakes up to magnitude 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Whakatane District today?

The strongest earthquake in Whakatane District today occurred 19 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - 13 km northwest of Gisborne, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Jun 29, 2022 at 4:11 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.