Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or around the Indian Ocean past 30 days

Updated 27 Jan 2021 05:17 GMT -
During the past 30 days, the Indian Ocean was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 3 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 24 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 182 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 491 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 647 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 58 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 7.0 quake Philippines Sea, 46 km northeast of Pulau Magupung Island, Indonesia, 21 Jan 2021 8:23 pm (GMT +8)
Biggest quake today: 4.9 quake Timor Sea, 37 km southeast of Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia, 27 Jan 2021 11:13 am (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 4.5 quake Molucca Sea, 157 km southeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, 27 Jan 2021 1:47 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 4.8 or higher (65 out of 1406 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 27 Jan 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
27 Jan 2021 1:47 pm (GMT +9) (27 Jan 2021 04:47:43 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(153 km)Molucca Sea, 157 km southeast of Bitung, North Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 12:19 pm (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 04:19:58 GMT)
4.8

131 km
(139 km)Molucca Sea, 83 km southeast of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 11:13 am (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 03:13:26 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(212 km)Timor Sea, 37 km southeast of Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 9:52 am (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 01:52:00 GMT)
2.0

1 km
(151 km)Philippines Sea, 65 km east of Tandag, Philippines MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 8:36 am (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 00:36:08 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(188 km)Banda Sea, 66 km southwest of Pulau Lasampung Island, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 8:19 am (GMT +8) (27 Jan 2021 00:19:00 GMT)
2.5

13 km
(67 km)Teluk Tomini, 49 km south of Pulau Bitila Island, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT)
27 Jan 2021 7:31 am (GMT +8) (26 Jan 2021 23:31:30 GMT)
2.7

61 km
(35 km)18 km north of Mataram, ID.17.Lombok (undefined), West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 1:27 am (GMT +2) (26 Jan 2021 23:27:21 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(2022 km)8.9 km southeast of Carletonville, South Africa MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 7:25 am (GMT +8) (26 Jan 2021 23:25:27 GMT)
2.5

10 km
(58 km)Teluk Tomini, 21 km northeast of Pulau Togean Island, Indonesia MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 5:53 am (GMT +8) (26 Jan 2021 21:53:37 GMT)
3.0

21 km
(137 km)Indonesian Ocean, 101 km southeast of Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
27 Jan 2021 5:53 am (GMT +9) (26 Jan 2021 20:53:11 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(173 km)Timor Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT)
25 Jan 2021 6:49 am (GMT +9) (24 Jan 2021 21:49:36 GMT)
4.8

26 km
(500 km)293 km southwest of Abepura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Jan 2021 3:42 am (GMT +9) (24 Jan 2021 18:42:07 GMT)
5.3

10 km
(501 km)Papua, 128 km southwest of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 14:26:42 GMT)
5.2

37 km
(132 km)Philippines Sea, 40 km east of Tandag, Philippines
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
24 Jan 2021 8:03 pm (GMT +7) (24 Jan 2021 13:03:30 GMT)
4.9

25 km
(84 km)Indian Ocean, 84 km south of Bengkulu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 Jan 2021 8:47 pm (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 12:47:03 GMT)
4.9

90 km
(216 km)Philippines Sea, 26 km northeast of Pulau Magupung Island, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 7:45 pm (GMT +9) (22 Jan 2021 10:45:51 GMT)
5.0

110 km
(263 km)Philippines Sea, 49 km northeast of Pulau Magupung Island, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Jan 2021 7:26 pm (GMT +10) (22 Jan 2021 09:26:49 GMT)
4.9

49 km
(284 km)West Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea, 182 km southeast of Jayapura, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thu, 21 Jan 2021 (GMT)
22 Jan 2021 12:37 am (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 16:37:33 GMT)
4.8

132 km
(237 km)Philippines Sea, 23 km northeast of Pulau Garat Island, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 8:23 pm (GMT +8) (21 Jan 2021 12:23:08 GMT)
7.0

116 km
(260 km)Philippines Sea, 46 km northeast of Pulau Magupung Island, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 249 reports
MoreMap
21 Jan 2021 5:55 pm (GMT +9) (21 Jan 2021 08:55:20 GMT)
4.8

327 km
(76 km)Banda Sea, 106 km north of Pulau Terbang Utara Island, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 1:28 pm (GMT +9) (20 Jan 2021 04:28:59 GMT)
5.0

94 km
(173 km)Banda Sea, 117 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
20 Jan 2021 9:28 am (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 01:28:08 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(101 km)3 km south of Talacogon, Province of Agusan del Sur, Caraga, Philippines 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 3:11 am (GMT +7) (19 Jan 2021 20:11:01 GMT)
5.0

50 km
(144 km)Indian Ocean, 128 km south of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 4 reportsMoreMap
19 Jan 2021 4:26 pm (GMT +9) (19 Jan 2021 07:26:11 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(185 km)Ceram Sea, 89 km west of Pulau Kotmalankari Island, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
19 Jan 2021 1:01 pm (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 05:01:04 GMT)
5.3

433 km
(118 km)Banda Sea, Indonesia, 126 km north of Delhi, Aveiro, Dili, Timor-Leste MoreMap
19 Jan 2021 8:56 am (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 00:56:41 GMT)
5.0

17 km
(175 km)119 km north of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 18 Jan 2021 (GMT)
18 Jan 2021 14:21:05 GMT
4.9

130 km
(53 km)93 km west of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
18 Jan 2021 5:13 pm (GMT +5:30) (18 Jan 2021 11:43:55 GMT)
5.1

164 km
(206 km)Andaman Sea, India, 141 km northwest of Sabang, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 4:26 pm (GMT +7) (16 Jan 2021 09:26:44 GMT)
5.3

54 km
(146 km)Indian Ocean, 93 km southwest of Pulau Betuah Island, Lampung, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 7:32 am (GMT +8) (15 Jan 2021 23:32:54 GMT)
4.8

11 km
(424 km)29 km south of Mamuju, West Sulawesi, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
16 Jan 2021 8:00 am (GMT +9) (15 Jan 2021 23:00:05 GMT)
5.1

78 km
(107 km)Molucca Sea, 56 km north of Pulau Gureda Island, North Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
15 Jan 2021 6:28 pm (GMT +7) (15 Jan 2021 11:28:27 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(237 km)Indian Ocean, 29 km south of Pulau Tapah Island, Aceh, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
15 Jan 2021 2:28 am (GMT +8) (14 Jan 2021 18:28:22 GMT)
6.2

38 km
(426 km)34 km south of Mamuju, West Sulawesi, Indonesia 12 reportsMoreMap
14 Jan 2021 2:38 pm (GMT +8) (14 Jan 2021 06:38:38 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(435 km)32 km south of Mamuju, West Sulawesi, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
14 Jan 2021 2:35 pm (GMT +8) (14 Jan 2021 06:35:51 GMT)
5.7

10 km
(433 km)36 km south of Mamuju, West Sulawesi, Indonesia 6 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 2:33 am (GMT +9) (13 Jan 2021 17:33:06 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(59 km)Halmahera Sea, 29 km southeast of Tobelo, Indonesia 3 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 (GMT)
13 Jan 2021 3:17 am (GMT +9) (12 Jan 2021 18:17:40 GMT)
6.0

56 km
(762 km)422 km west of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
12 Jan 2021 6:11 pm (GMT +8) (12 Jan 2021 10:11:56 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(39 km)Mindanao Sea, 11 km north of Pulau Lipang Island, North Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 11 Jan 2021 (GMT)
11 Jan 2021 9:57 am (GMT +8) (11 Jan 2021 01:57:31 GMT)
5.0

47 km
(224 km)Makassar Strait, 28 km northwest of Pulau Lingayan Island, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
11 Jan 2021 9:38 am (GMT +8) (11 Jan 2021 01:38:48 GMT)
4.8

634 km
(118 km)Flores Sea, 54 km south of Pulau Tanahjampea Island, South Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Jan 2021 9:20 am (GMT +8) (11 Jan 2021 01:20:37 GMT)
5.5

653 km
(115 km)Flores Sea, 58 km southwest of Pulau Tanahjampea Island, Indonesia 5 reportsMoreMap
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 (GMT)
11 Jan 2021 6:40 am (GMT +8) (10 Jan 2021 22:40:16 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(32 km)16 km northeast of Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia 21 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 9:28 pm (GMT +9) (9 Jan 2021 12:28:14 GMT)
5.0

131 km
(47 km)Banda Sea, 420 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 8 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 12:49 am (GMT +8) (8 Jan 2021 16:49:59 GMT)
4.8

629 km
(122 km)Flores Sea, 74 km southwest of Pulau Tanahjampea Island, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 7 Jan 2021 (GMT)
7 Jan 2021 9:44 pm (GMT +7) (7 Jan 2021 14:44:05 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(130 km)Indian Ocean, 476 km southeast of Jakarta, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
7 Jan 2021 6:57 am (GMT +5:30) (7 Jan 2021 01:27:31 GMT)
5.0

77 km
(181 km)Bay of Bengal, 146 km northwest of Banda Aceh, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 6 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 20:59:36 GMT
6.2

169 km
(156 km)Teluk Tomini, 52 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia 2 reportsMoreMap
6 Jan 2021 17:28:35 GMT
5.7

64 km
(83 km)Indonesian Ocean, 76 km south of Bengkulu, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 5 Jan 2021 (GMT)
6 Jan 2021 1:43 am (GMT +8) (5 Jan 2021 17:43:47 GMT)
4.9

157 km
(89 km)Philippines Sea, 24 km southeast of Bobon, Davao Oriental, Philippines 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 3 Jan 2021 (GMT)
4 Jan 2021 3:14 am (GMT +8) (3 Jan 2021 19:14:00 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(295 km)Banda Sea, 35 km northwest of Pulau Buajangka Island, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 2 Jan 2021 (GMT)
3 Jan 2021 5:35 am (GMT +9) (2 Jan 2021 20:35:59 GMT)
5.2

27 km
(1138 km)North Pacific Ocean MoreMap
2 Jan 2021 9:59 pm (GMT +8) (2 Jan 2021 13:59:26 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(223 km)Banda Sea, 118 km south of Luwuk, Kabupaten Banggai, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
2 Jan 2021 10:23 am (GMT +1) (2 Jan 2021 09:23:37 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(1163 km)Indonesian Ocean 2 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 (GMT)
1 Jan 2021 7:12 am (GMT +8) (31 Dec 2020 23:12:35 GMT)
4.9

99 km
(105 km)Selat Sumba, 96 km south of Bima, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia MoreMap
1 Jan 2021 5:50 am (GMT +10) (31 Dec 2020 19:50:18 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(186 km)South Pacific Ocean, 147 km north of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
31 Dec 2020 5:49 pm (GMT +7) (31 Dec 2020 10:49:03 GMT)
5.2

23 km
(215 km)Indian Ocean, 90 km south of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
31 Dec 2020 6:18 pm (GMT +8) (31 Dec 2020 10:18:54 GMT)
5.3

120 km
(36 km)Savu Sea, 41 km south of Maumere, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 (GMT)
31 Dec 2020 5:27 am (GMT +8) (30 Dec 2020 21:27:27 GMT)
4.8

40 km
(154 km)Philippines Sea, 1 km east of Bislig, Philippines MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 8:58 am (GMT +8) (30 Dec 2020 00:58:08 GMT)
4.8

141 km
(96 km)Philippines Sea, 32 km northeast of Pulau Dumarehe Island, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 (GMT)
30 Dec 2020 1:05 am (GMT +8) (29 Dec 2020 17:05:21 GMT)
4.9

45 km
(112 km)Celebes Sea, 33 km southwest of Sarangani, Davao Occidental, Philippines MoreMap
30 Dec 2020 12:21 am (GMT +8) (29 Dec 2020 16:21:47 GMT)
5.3

30 km
(118 km)Philippines Sea, 19 km south of Sarangani, Davao Occidental, Philippines 12 reportsMoreMap
29 Dec 2020 7:08 pm (GMT +9) (29 Dec 2020 10:08:36 GMT)
4.9

54 km
(114 km)Molucca Sea, 59 km south of Pulau Karis Island, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
29 Dec 2020 8:37 am (GMT +8) (29 Dec 2020 00:37:04 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(179 km)Indian Ocean, 83 km south of Waingapu, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT)
28 Dec 2020 3:31 pm (GMT +8) (28 Dec 2020 07:31:12 GMT)
5.3

50 km
(107 km)Molucca Sea, 73 km southeast of Libuton Kelapa Island, North Sulawesi, Indonesia 3 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1015 joules (687 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5.9 x 105 tons of TNT or 36.9 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?

Support us - Help us upgrade our server!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
Our server is reaching its limits and we need financing to increase capacity in order to deal with huge activity peaks when quakes occur. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every penny counts and every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features and in upgrading our software, please make a donation (PayPal or Online cc payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you! With best regards from the VolcanoDiscovery team.
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel