Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Mendocino, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, May 21, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 21, 2022 03:36 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 16 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Mendocino had 1 quake of magnitude 3.3 and 2 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | 3km SE of The Geysers, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | 23 mi S of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Mendocino, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 2 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:93 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:395 quakes | 54 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:1,203 quakes | 155 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days:4,811 quakes | 759 quakes M2+ | 90 quakes M3+ | 13 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Mendocino, California, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, May 21, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 20, 2022 7:52 pm (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 02:52 GMT)
1.1

1.3 km
3km SE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 7:44 pm (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 02:44 GMT)
1.2

2.7 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 5:34 pm (GMT -7) (May 21, 2022 00:34 GMT)
?

n/a
2 mi west of Chico, Butte County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Friday, May 20, 2022 GMT (17 quakes)
May 20, 2022 1:28 pm (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 20:28 GMT)
0.4

3.1 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 9:30 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 16:30 GMT)
0.8

3 km
5km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 9:20 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 16:20 GMT)
3.3

18 km
23 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 20, 2022 8:57 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 15:57 GMT)
0.9

2 km
8km WNW of Cobb, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 8:50 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 15:50 GMT)
2.2

18 km
10km SSW of Ferndale, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 6:06 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 13:06 GMT)
0.9

2.5 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 5:10 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 12:10 GMT)
0.9

15 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 4:46 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 11:46 GMT)
1.2

1.5 km
7km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 4:12 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 11:12 GMT)
1.7

0.6 km
1km NNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 4:08 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 11:08 GMT)
1.2

2.6 km
6km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 1:54 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 08:54 GMT)
0.9

1.6 km
2km NNE of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 12:22 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 07:22 GMT)
0.9

1.7 km
2km NW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
May 20, 2022 12:05 am (GMT -7) (May 20, 2022 07:05 GMT)
1.2

2.2 km
4km NNW of The Geysers, CA MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 109 joules (1.89 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.63 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Mendocino Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Mendocino?

The last earthquake in Mendocino occurred 45 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 3km SE of The Geysers, CA, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 7:52 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Mendocino today?

In the past 24 hours, Mendocino, California, USA had 20 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Mendocino today?

The strongest earthquake in Mendocino today occurred 11 hours ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - 23 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, on Friday, May 20, 2022 at 9:20 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.