Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes in or near Coral Sea during December 2020

Updated 24 Feb 2021 20:49 GMT -
During Dec 2020, Coral Sea was shaken by 8 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above and 12 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0.
Biggest quake: 5.4 quake Coral Sea, 158 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu, 28 Dec 2020 2:16 am (GMT +11)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Dec 2020 7:03 am (GMT +11) (28 Dec 2020 20:03:27 GMT)
5.0

59 km
(129 km)Coral Sea, 94 km southeast of Lata, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Dec 2020 2:16 am (GMT +11) (27 Dec 2020 15:16:26 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(183 km)Coral Sea, 158 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Dec 2020 5:52 am (GMT +11) (26 Dec 2020 18:52:34 GMT)
4.6

65 km
(90 km)Coral Sea, 67 km south of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 6:49 pm (GMT +11) (26 Dec 2020 07:49:30 GMT)
5.1

163 km
(73 km)Coral Sea, 54 km east of Lata, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
26 Dec 2020 7:47 am (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 20:47:48 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(181 km)Coral Sea, 157 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
26 Dec 2020 5:53 am (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 18:53:23 GMT)
4.9

26 km
(81 km)South Pacific Ocean, 24 km south of Aneityum Island, Tafea Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
25 Dec 2020 2:35 pm (GMT +11) (25 Dec 2020 03:35:50 GMT)
4.6

133 km
(54 km)Coral Sea, 97 km southeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Dec 2020 8:16 am (GMT +11) (24 Dec 2020 21:16:42 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(50 km)Solomon Sea, 175 km southeast of Gizo, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Dec 2020 05:03:02 GMT
4.5

246 km
Traitor's Head (19 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 78 km north of Isangel, Tafea Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Dec 2020 7:43 am (GMT +11) (20 Dec 2020 20:43:51 GMT)
5.3

10 km
Traitor's Head (177 km) - VanuatuCoral Sea, 180 km north of , Lifou, Loyalty Islands, New Caledonia MoreMap
20 Dec 2020 13:12:58 GMT
4.5

219 km
(91 km)Coral Sea, 94 km east of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu MoreMap
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Dec 2020 9:43 am (GMT +11) (15 Dec 2020 22:43:05 GMT)
4.2

126 km
(72 km)79 km east of Luganville, Sanma, Vanuatu MoreMap
15 Dec 2020 6:07 pm (GMT +11) (15 Dec 2020 07:07:43 GMT)
4.9

113 km
(198 km)Coral Sea, 191 km southeast of Lata, Santa Cruz Islands, Temotu, Solomon Islands MoreMap
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Dec 2020 6:30 pm (GMT +11) (14 Dec 2020 07:30:18 GMT)
4.6

199 km
Traitor's Head (25 km) - Vanuatu80 km north of Isangel, Tafea, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Dec 2020 11:50 pm (GMT +11) (12 Dec 2020 12:50:56 GMT)
4.6

134 km
Traitor's Head (20 km) - Vanuatu83 km north of Isangel, Tafea, Vanuatu MoreMap
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Dec 2020 12:31 pm (GMT +11) (11 Dec 2020 01:31:19 GMT)
4.9

67 km
(54 km)Solomon Sea, 86 km south of Arawa, Bougainville, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Mon, 7 Dec 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Dec 2020 9:30 am (GMT +11) (7 Dec 2020 22:30:02 GMT)
5.1

67 km
(106 km)Solomon Sea, 39 km southwest of Buala, Isabel Province, Solomon Islands MoreMap
8 Dec 2020 1:23 am (GMT +11) (7 Dec 2020 14:23:02 GMT)
4.6

238 km
(143 km)Coral Sea, 160 km north of Sola, Torba, Vanuatu MoreMap
Sun, 6 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Dec 2020 2:22 am (GMT +11) (6 Dec 2020 15:22:32 GMT)
4.6

120 km
(31 km)Coral Sea, 50 km northeast of Luganville, Sanma, Vanuatu MoreMap
Thu, 3 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Dec 2020 4:07 am (GMT +11) (3 Dec 2020 17:07:36 GMT)
5.4

37 km
(91 km)South Pacific Ocean, 462 km east of Noumea, New Caledonia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.2 x 1013 joules (11.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 10047 tons of TNT or 0.6 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.