Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
7 quakes Mag. 1+
4 quakes Mag. 2+
Number of quakes vs long-term average, past 7 days
Earthquake activity near average

Latest quakes in or near Murcia, Spain - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 1.7 earthquake 20 km southwest of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 3.0 Near Alicante, Valencia, Spain - Feb 6, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 1, 2024 23:51 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Murcia, Spain, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Murcia, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Murcia has had 3 quakes of magnitudes up to 2.9.

In the past 30 days, Murcia has had 30 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.0:

  • 0 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 22 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (37 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 1, 06:01 pm (Madrid)
Mar 1, 17:01 GMT

1.7

0 km
20 km southwest of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain More
Mar 1, 05:17 pm (Madrid)
Mar 1, 16:17 GMT

2.0

17 km
22 km southwest of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain More
Mar 1, 02:12 pm (Madrid)
Mar 1, 13:12 GMT

2.9

0.7 km
20 km southwest of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 29, 02:06 pm (Madrid)
Feb 29, 13:06 GMT

2.1

12 km
12 km west of Mula, Murcia, Spain More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 28, 09:54 pm (Madrid)
Feb 28, 20:54 GMT

2.0

0 km
3 km (1.9 mi) to the SW Western Mediterranean, Andalusia, 7.7 km southwest of Aguilas, Murcia, Spain More
Feb 28, 09:47 pm (Madrid)
Feb 28, 20:47 GMT

1.5

5.5 km
21 km north of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 26, 11:44 pm (Madrid)
Feb 26, 22:44 GMT

1.7

0 km
8.5 km south of Mula, Murcia, Spain 1 reportMore
Sunday, February 25, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 25, 06:41 pm (Madrid)
Feb 25, 17:41 GMT

1.7

1.7 km
35 km (22 mi) to the SW 28 km south of Huercal Overa, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain More
Thursday, February 22, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 22, 03:56 pm (Madrid)
Feb 22, 14:56 GMT

2.0

13 km
36 km (22 mi) to the SW 31 km northeast of Nijar, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain More
Wednesday, February 21, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 21, 03:57 am (Madrid)
Feb 21, 02:57 GMT

1.8

7.5 km
17 km (10.6 mi) to the S Western Mediterranean, 19 km southeast of Aguilas, Murcia, Spain More
Monday, February 19, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 19, 11:40 pm (Madrid)
Feb 19, 22:40 GMT

0.9

19 km
32 km west of Murcia, Murcia, Spain More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 109 joules (1.35 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.16 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Murcia Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: ROA/UCM/GEOFON Station Cartagena, Spain (CART/WM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station ROA/UCM/GEOFON Station Cartagena, Spain: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,500 quakes on average per year in or near Murcia, Spain:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 1.32 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 9.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 101 quakes per year (or 8.4 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 320 quakes per year (or 26.7 quakes per month)
Murcia has relatively few earthquakes. However, Murcia has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Murcia, Spain, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (66.67%)
below M2
1 quake
(33.33%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (7 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (57.14%)
below M2
3 quakes
(42.86%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (30 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
-
no quakes Mag 3 or higher
2+
8 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (26.67%)
below M2
22 quakes
(73.33%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (80 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.25%)
2+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (16.25%)
below M2
66 quakes
(82.5%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (326 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
5 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (1.53%)
2+
121 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (37.12%)
below M2
200 quakes
(61.35%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,177 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.25%)
3+
32 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.72%)
2+
453 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (38.49%)
below M2
689 quakes
(58.54%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3,481 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
13 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (0.37%)
3+
86 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (2.47%)
2+
924 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (26.54%)
below M2
2,458 quakes
(70.61%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours3 quakes12-----
Past 7 days7 quakes34-----
Past 30 days30 quakes218-----
Past 90 days80 quakes58131----
Past 365 days326 quakes1891215----
Past 3 years1,177 quakes661453323---
Past 10 years3,481 quakes2,2159248613---
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Murcia Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Murcia, Spain?

Murcia has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 3,500 quakes on average per year in or near Murcia, Spain. However, Murcia has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Murcia?

The last earthquake in Murcia occurred 7 hours ago and had a magnitude of 1.7:

A light magnitude 1.7 earthquake hit 19.7 km (12 mi) away from Caravaca, Murcia,  Spain, in the late afternoon of Friday, Mar 1, 2024 at 6.01 pm local time (Europe/Madrid GMT +1). The quake had a very shallow depth of 0 km (0 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Murcia in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Murcia has had 0 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 22 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Murcia in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Murcia in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 3.0 and occurred 3 weeks ago:

Mag. 3.0 earthquake Near Alicante, Valencia, Spain - Feb 6, 2024 -

A light magnitude 3.0 earthquake hit Near Alicante, Valencia, Spain, in the late afternoon of Tuesday, Feb 6, 2024 at 6.24 pm local time (Europe/Madrid GMT +2). The quake had a very shallow depth of 10 km (6 mi) and was felt widely in the area.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Murcia, Spain

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near Murcia, Spain, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 4.6 earthquake that hit Castille-La Mancha,  Spain, 9 years ago on Monday, Feb 23, 2015, at 06:16 pm local time (Europe/Madrid GMT +2).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 5.6 earthquake 5.4 km south of Ontinyent, Valencia, Spain - Sep 26, 1976 -
47 years ago, Valencia,  Spain, was hit by a magnitude 5.6 quake on Sunday, Sep 26, 1976, at 06:29 am local time (Europe/Madrid GMT +2). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Murcia, Spain, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Murcia, Spain in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Dec 31, 2022 07:05 GMT
Dec 31, 2022 08:05 am (Madrid)
4.1

0 km
37 km (23 mi) to the SW 31 km northeast of Nijar, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain 441 reportsMore
Sep 16, 2022 12:26 GMT
Sep 16, 2022 02:26 pm (Madrid)
4.0

1 km
5 km (3.1 mi) to the W Almeria, Andalusia, 35 km northwest of Lorca, Murcia, Spain 39 reportsMore
Jul 16, 2022 03:55 GMT
Jul 16, 2022 04:55 am (GMT +1)
4.4

10 km
138 km (86 mi) to the SE Western Mediterranean, 62 km north of Mostaganem, Mostaganem, Algeria 12 reportsMore
Jun 29, 2019 19:26 GMT
Jun 29, 2019 09:26 pm (Madrid)
4.1

5 km
60 km (37 mi) to the SW Almeria, 20 km southeast of Baza, Granada, Andalusia, Spain 8 reportsMore
Mar 24, 2019 16:16 GMT
Mar 24, 2019 05:16 pm (Madrid)
4.2

40 km
31 km (19 mi) to the E Western Mediterranean, 21 km south of Illa de Tabarca Island, Spain 461 reportsMore
Oct 18, 2018 17:57 GMT
Oct 18, 2018 07:57 pm (Madrid)
4.2

11 km
82 km (51 mi) to the W 9.6 km east of Jodar, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain 3 reportsMore
Aug 13, 2018 14:40 GMT
Aug 13, 2018 04:40 pm (Madrid)
4.2

11 km
7 km (4.3 mi) to the NE 5.7 km northwest of Albatera, Alicante, Valencia, Spain 159 reportsMore
May 26, 2018 18:58 GMT
May 26, 2018 08:58 pm (Madrid)
4.0

11 km
Murcia, 14 km southeast of Nerpio, Albacete, Castille-La Mancha, Spain 2 reportsMore
Mar 24, 2018 00:41 GMT
Mar 24, 2018 02:41 am (Madrid)
4.0

11 km
82 km (51 mi) to the W 9 km east of Jodar, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain 1 reportMore
Mar 22, 2018 14:12 GMT
Mar 22, 2018 04:12 pm (Madrid)
4.0

11 km
82 km (51 mi) to the W 9.1 km east of Jodar, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain 1 reportMore
Mar 2, 2018 19:08 GMT
Mar 2, 2018 09:08 pm (Madrid)
4.1

12 km
25 km west of Murcia, Murcia, Spain 13 reportsMore
Dec 4, 2017 08:47 GMT
Dec 4, 2017 10:47 am (Madrid)
4.0

12 km
10 km (6.2 mi) to the N 4.1 km northeast of Caudete, Albacete, Castille-La Mancha, Spain 5 reportsMore
Feb 23, 2015 16:16 GMT
Feb 23, 2015 06:16 pm (Madrid)
4.6

17 km
98 km (61 mi) to the NW 8 km north of Ossa de Montiel, Albacete, Castille-La Mancha, Spain 357 reportsMore
Feb 6, 2013 00:06 GMT
Feb 6, 2013 02:06 am (Madrid)
4.1

3 km
84 km (52 mi) to the W 1.6 km southeast of Sabiote, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain More
Jan 31, 2012 14:36 GMT
Jan 31, 2012 04:36 pm (Madrid)
4.4

5 km
73 km (45 mi) to the W 6.2 km west of Quesada, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain More
Jul 10, 2011 22:54 GMT
Jul 10, 2011 10:54 pm (GMT +0)
4.4

10 km
41 km north of Murcia, Murcia, Spain More
May 11, 2011 20:37 GMT
May 11, 2011 10:37 pm (Madrid)
4.3

5 km
7 km north of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
May 11, 2011 16:47 GMT
May 11, 2011 06:47 pm (Madrid)
5.1

1 km
4 km northeast of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
May 11, 2011 15:05 GMT
May 11, 2011 05:05 pm (Madrid)
4.5

0 km
3.5 km northeast of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Apr 7, 2011 15:53 GMT
Apr 7, 2011 05:53 pm (Madrid)
4.0

10 km
45 km (28 mi) to the W 24 km northeast of Baza, Granada, Andalusia, Spain More
Feb 3, 2005 11:40 GMT
Feb 3, 2005 01:40 pm (Madrid)
4.3

8.4 km
21 km northwest of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Jan 29, 2005 07:41 GMT
Jan 29, 2005 09:41 am (Madrid)
4.4

5 km
29 km north of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Jun 20, 2003 14:43 GMT
Jun 20, 2003 04:43 pm (Madrid)
4.4

7.7 km
23 km (14 mi) to the E 10.7 km east of Torrevieja, Alicante, Valencia, Spain More
Aug 6, 2002 22:54 GMT
Aug 7, 2002 12:54 am (Madrid)
4.7

10.5 km
24 km northwest of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Aug 6, 2002 06:16 GMT
Aug 6, 2002 08:16 am (Madrid)
4.7

10 km
14 km south of Caravaca, Murcia, Spain More
Feb 2, 1999 13:45 GMT
Feb 2, 1999 02:45 pm (GMT +1)
4.8

10 km
14 km southwest of Cieza, Murcia, Spain More
Sep 2, 1996 19:07 GMT
Sep 2, 1996 09:07 pm (Madrid)
4.6

20 km
5 km east of Lorca, Murcia, Spain More
Jul 29, 1987 07:49 GMT
Jul 29, 1987 09:49 am (Madrid)
4.3

10 km
47 km (29 mi) to the SW 48 km northeast of Almeria, Almeria, Andalusia, Spain More
Oct 27, 1986 04:46 GMT
Oct 27, 1986 06:46 am (Madrid)
4.4

10 km
20 km (12 mi) to the W Granada, 58 km southeast of Campiña, Jaen, Andalusia, Spain More
Sep 26, 1976 04:29 GMT
Sep 26, 1976 06:29 am (Madrid)
5.6

10 km
40 km (25 mi) to the NE 5.4 km south of Ontinyent, Valencia, Spain More

Map of largest quakes in or near Murcia, Spain

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Murcia, Spain

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings