Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near South Wairarapa District, Wellington, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, February 5, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 5, 2023 17:42 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, South Wairarapa District had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.6 | Tasman Sea, 172 km NW of Wellington, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near South Wairarapa District, Wellington, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours10 quakes4 quakes M2+
Past 7 days115 quakes31 quakes M2+3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days442 quakes148 quakes M2+14 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 90 days1,438 quakes476 quakes M2+48 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days5,327 quakes1,985 quakes M2+172 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, February 5, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 6:26 am (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 17:26 GMT)
1.6

22 km
New Zealand More
Feb 6, 2023 4:27 am (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 15:27 GMT)
2.1

53 km
Tasman Sea, 56 km north of Wellington, New Zealand More
Feb 6, 2023 3:05 am (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 14:05 GMT)
2.4

25 km
41 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 10:13 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 09:13 GMT)
2.4

10 km
Tasman Sea, 30 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 7:46 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 06:46 GMT)
1.2

20 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 7:37 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 06:37 GMT)
1.8

16 km
South Pacific Ocean, 96 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand More
Saturday, February 4, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 5, 2023 12:40 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 23:40 GMT)
1.4

43 km
New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 11:41 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 22:41 GMT)
1.9

32 km
49 km south of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 9:47 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 20:47 GMT)
2.6

198 km
Tasman Sea, 172 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Feb 5, 2023 8:09 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 19:09 GMT)
1.8

75 km
15 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 109 joules (341 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.294 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South Wairarapa District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in South Wairarapa District?

The last earthquake in South Wairarapa District occurred 16 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - New Zealand on Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 6:26 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in South Wairarapa District today?

In the past 24 hours, South Wairarapa District, Wellington, New Zealand had 10 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in South Wairarapa District today?

The strongest earthquake in South Wairarapa District today occurred 21 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 172 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, on Sunday, Feb 5, 2023 at 9:47 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings