Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Friday, February 3, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 3, 2023 17:18 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 17 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Palmerston North City had 7 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 17 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 16 km SE of Wellington, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.6 | 45 km S of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours23 quakes7 quakes M2+
Past 7 days175 quakes48 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+
Past 30 days663 quakes200 quakes M2+24 quakes M3+
Past 90 days2,055 quakes676 quakes M2+69 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 365 days8,052 quakes2,885 quakes M2+274 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+1 quake M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, February 3, 2023 GMT (21 quakes)
Feb 4, 2023 4:20 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 15:20 GMT)
1.8

23 km
16 km southeast of Wellington, New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 3:53 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 14:53 GMT)
1.6

52 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 3:33 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 14:33 GMT)
0.9

5 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 3:13 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 14:13 GMT)
1.7

21 km
New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 2:53 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 13:53 GMT)
1.9

21 km
20 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 2:03 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 13:03 GMT)
2.1

100 km
77 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 1:22 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 12:22 GMT)
2.6

37 km
45 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 4, 2023 1:21 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 12:21 GMT)
1.4

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 127 km west of Wairoa, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 7:57 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 06:57 GMT)
1.8

26 km
5 km northeast of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 7:35 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 06:35 GMT)
1.7

32 km
New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 7:34 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 06:34 GMT)
1.8

19 km
23 km east of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 7:23 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 06:23 GMT)
2.5

18 km
64 km west of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 7:20 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 06:20 GMT)
2.5

12 km
Tasman Sea, 57 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 6:31 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 05:31 GMT)
2.5

23 km
41 km northeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 5:53 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 04:53 GMT)
1.4

9.3 km
New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 4:43 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 03:43 GMT)
1.9

28 km
42 km north of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 4:04 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 03:04 GMT)
1.7

31 km
New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 2:28 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 01:28 GMT)
2.6

5 km
Tasman Sea, 35 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Feb 3, 2023 2:26 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 01:26 GMT)
2.4

7.7 km
Tasman Sea, 34 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 1:47 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 00:47 GMT)
1.7

12 km
New Zealand More
Feb 3, 2023 1:15 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 00:15 GMT)
1.7

21 km
New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.8 x 109 joules (768 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.661 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Palmerston North City Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Palmerston North City?

The last earthquake in Palmerston North City occurred 1 hour and 58 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 16 km southeast of Wellington, New Zealand, on Saturday, Feb 4, 2023 at 4:20 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Palmerston North City today?

In the past 24 hours, Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand had 24 quakes up to magnitude 2.6.

What was the strongest quake in Palmerston North City today?

The strongest earthquake in Palmerston North City today occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 45 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Saturday, Feb 4, 2023 at 1:22 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings