Latest quakes in or near Alvarado, Departamento de Tolima, Colombia, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 01:31 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 16 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Alvarado was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.1 and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | 15 km SE of Villa de San Diego de Ubaté, Colombia -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | 25 km NW of Cartago, Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Alvarado, Departamento de Tolima, Colombia (updated )

Past 24 hours:18 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:76 quakes | 12 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:285 quakes | 57 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:919 quakes | 177 quakes M2+ | 19 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,585 quakes | 321 quakes M2+ | 38 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

Acacias | Agua de Dios | Alban | Ambalema | Anapoima | Anserma | Ansermanuevo | Anzoategui | Apia | Apulo | ...Show all... | Zipacon | Zipaquira
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 17, 2022 8:05 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 18, 2022 01:05 GMT)
2.8

146 km
15 km southeast of Villa de San Diego de Ubaté, Colombia MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (19 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 6:08 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 23:08 GMT)
1.9

0.4 km
10.1 km east of Santa Rosa Cabal, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 5:24 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 22:24 GMT)
1.8

125 km
20 km north of Tulua, Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 1:34 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 18:34 GMT)
1.4

18 km
90 km southwest of Villavicencio, Departamento del Meta, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:46 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 15:46 GMT)
4.1

108 km
25 km northwest of Cartago, Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 4:20 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 09:20 GMT)
0.8

13 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 4:15 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 09:15 GMT)
1.1

12 km
19 km northeast of Armenia, Quindio Department, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:58 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:58 GMT)
1.0

14 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:54 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:54 GMT)
1.6

15 km
20 km northeast of Armenia, Quindio Department, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:51 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:51 GMT)
1.4

11 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:50 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:50 GMT)
1.8

15 km
19 km northeast of Armenia, Quindio Department, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:47 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:47 GMT)
1.0

10.5 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:45 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:45 GMT)
0.5

12 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:44 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:44 GMT)
1.7

14 km
19 km northeast of Armenia, Quindio Department, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:39 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:39 GMT)
2.0

14 km
19 km northeast of Armenia, Quindio Department, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:38 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 08:38 GMT)
1.9

19 km
18 km northwest of Zipaquira, Cundinamarca, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 2:08 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 07:08 GMT)
2.0

147 km
12 km southeast of Villa de San Diego de Ubaté, Colombia MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:05 am (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 05:05 GMT)
1.0

1 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 11:09 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 04:09 GMT)
1.2

78 km
Colombia MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:54 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 17, 2022 02:54 GMT)
1.9

47 km
Colombia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 1010 joules (25.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 21.6 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Alvarado Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Alvarado?

The last earthquake in Alvarado occurred 26 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.8 earthquake - 15 km southeast of Villa de San Diego de Ubaté, Colombia, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 8:05 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Alvarado today?

In the past 24 hours, Alvarado, Departamento de Tolima, Colombia had 20 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in Alvarado today?

The strongest earthquake in Alvarado today occurred 10 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 25 km northwest of Cartago, Departamento del Valle del Cauca, Colombia, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 10:46 am (GMT -5).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings