Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Gisborne, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 10 Apr 2021 21:29 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Gisborne was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.3, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 30 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 218 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 173 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.3 quake Whakatane District, 53 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 23 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.8 quake South Pacific Ocean, 54 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 10 April 2021 06:49 GMT
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake South Pacific Ocean, 159 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, 10 April 2021 14:02 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.8 or higher (50 out of 424 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Apr 2021 14:02:17 GMT
2.5

35 km
(69 km)South Pacific Ocean, 159 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
10 Apr 2021 06:49:43 GMT
2.8

113 km
White Island (18 km)South Pacific Ocean, 54 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Apr 2021 5:37 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 17:37:56 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(33 km)South Pacific Ocean, 32 km northwest of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
7 Apr 2021 10:58 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 22:58:05 GMT)
3.0

28 km
(106 km)Wairoa District, 89 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
7 Apr 2021 5:55 am (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 17:55:02 GMT)
2.8

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 8:50 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 08:50:22 GMT)
3.3

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 33 reports
MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 00:36:30 GMT)
3.4

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New Zealand32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 31 reports
MoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Apr 2021 12:50 am (GMT +12) (5 Apr 2021 12:50:45 GMT)
3.3

12 km
(120 km)South Pacific Ocean, 198 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Apr 2021 1:17 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 13:17:35 GMT)
2.9

12 km
(195 km)South Pacific Ocean, 168 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 1:05 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 13:05:30 GMT)
2.8

12 km
White Island (187 km)South Pacific Ocean, 96 km east of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
4 Apr 2021 12:06 am (GMT +12) (3 Apr 2021 12:06:31 GMT)
3.0

33 km
White Island (187 km)South Pacific Ocean, 97 km east of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
3 Apr 2021 3:50 am (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 14:50:04 GMT)
3.5

20 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (121 km) - New Zealand23 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Apr 2021 1:51 pm (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 00:51:11 GMT)
3.3

47 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (57 km) - New ZealandOpotiki District, 17 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Apr 2021 11:12 am (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 22:12:05 GMT)
3.7

30 km
White Island (96 km)1 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:17 am (GMT +12) (31 Mar 2021 20:17:18 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(120 km)South Pacific Ocean, 208 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 6:32 pm (GMT +12) (31 Mar 2021 06:32:29 GMT)
3.0

33 km
(195 km)South Pacific Ocean, 178 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 8:33 am (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 20:33:11 GMT)
3.4

51 km
(133 km)South Pacific Ocean, 190 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 1:07 pm (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 01:07:01 GMT)
2.8

12 km
(116 km)South Pacific Ocean, 183 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
30 Mar 2021 7:39 am (GMT +12) (29 Mar 2021 19:39:04 GMT)
3.1

23 km
White Island (169 km)South Pacific Ocean, 65 km east of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 7:11 pm (GMT +12) (29 Mar 2021 07:11:50 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(121 km)South Pacific Ocean, 185 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 7:01 pm (GMT +12) (29 Mar 2021 07:01:13 GMT)
3.5

12 km
(121 km)South Pacific Ocean, 188 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 5:03 pm (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 04:03:32 GMT)
3.3

43 km
White Island (58 km)Opotiki District, 24 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 1:28 am (GMT +12) (27 Mar 2021 13:28:58 GMT)
4.4

12 km
(200 km)South Pacific Ocean, 170 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Mar 2021 1:35 pm (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 00:35:16 GMT)
3.8

271 km
(34 km)Western Bay of Plenty District, 23 km southeast of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Mar 2021 8:35 am (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 19:35:03 GMT)
2.8

30 km
White Island (134 km)12 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 9:33 pm (GMT +12) (24 Mar 2021 09:33:54 GMT)
2.9

12 km
(125 km)South Pacific Ocean, 191 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 18:15:31 GMT)
5.3

133 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (30 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 53 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 12 reportsMoreMap
23 Mar 2021 2:03 am (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 13:03:24 GMT)
2.9

196 km
(44 km)South Pacific Ocean, 20 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Mar 2021 2:22 pm (GMT +12) (21 Mar 2021 02:22:35 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(208 km)South Pacific Ocean, 167 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
21 Mar 2021 11:44 am (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 22:44:47 GMT)
3.4

32 km
(154 km)South Pacific Ocean, 30 km south of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 3:26 pm (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 02:26:42 GMT)
3.5

79 km
White Island (43 km)South Pacific Ocean, 36 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 2:23 pm (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 01:23:30 GMT)
3.0

234 km
(43 km)South Pacific Ocean, 12 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Mar 2021 9:12 pm (GMT +12) (19 Mar 2021 09:12:05 GMT)
2.9

55 km
White Island (110 km)South Pacific Ocean, 135 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Mar 2021 12:51 am (GMT +12) (18 Mar 2021 12:51:31 GMT)
3.4

12 km
White Island (210 km)South Pacific Ocean, 163 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Mar 2021 10:20 pm (GMT +13) (18 Mar 2021 09:20:22 GMT)
2.8

24 km
White Island (131 km)16 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Mar 2021 10:57 am (GMT +12) (17 Mar 2021 22:57:20 GMT)
2.9

12 km
(157 km)South Pacific Ocean, 226 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 15 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Mar 2021 2:12 pm (GMT +13) (15 Mar 2021 01:12:28 GMT)
4.7

31 km
(156 km)South Pacific Ocean, 28 km south of Gisborne, New Zealand 10 reportsMoreMap
15 Mar 2021 1:13 pm (GMT +13) (15 Mar 2021 00:13:41 GMT)
3.6

40 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (98 km) - New Zealand48 km northwest of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 14 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
15 Mar 2021 6:11 am (GMT +13) (14 Mar 2021 17:11:26 GMT)
3.0

22 km
White Island (152 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Mar 2021 1:43 am (GMT +13) (14 Mar 2021 12:43:52 GMT)
2.9

149 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (37 km) - New ZealandWestern Bay of Plenty District, 31 km east of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Mar 2021 6:40 pm (GMT +12) (14 Mar 2021 06:40:17 GMT)
3.3

12 km
(186 km)South Pacific Ocean, 159 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Mar 2021 3:37 pm (GMT +13) (14 Mar 2021 02:37:12 GMT)
3.7

123 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (30 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 48 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Mar 2021 12:32 pm (GMT +13) (13 Mar 2021 23:32:57 GMT)
2.9

45 km
White Island (31 km)South Pacific Ocean, 29 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Mar 2021 6:53 am (GMT +12) (13 Mar 2021 18:53:17 GMT)
3.0

12 km
White Island (213 km)South Pacific Ocean, 161 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Mar 2021 4:25 am (GMT +13) (13 Mar 2021 15:25:59 GMT)
2.8

15 km
White Island (144 km)South Pacific Ocean, 69 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 12 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
12 Mar 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +12) (12 Mar 2021 11:59:55 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(203 km)South Pacific Ocean, 176 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Mar 2021 8:21 pm (GMT +12) (12 Mar 2021 08:21:38 GMT)
2.8

12 km
(194 km)South Pacific Ocean, 183 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Mar 2021 3:31 pm (GMT +12) (12 Mar 2021 03:31:11 GMT)
2.9

230 km
White Island (45 km)South Pacific Ocean, 74 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Mar 2021 12:32 pm (GMT +13) (11 Mar 2021 23:32:47 GMT)
3.1

198 km
Rotorua (29 km) - New ZealandWestern Bay of Plenty District, 16 km south of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Mar 2021 11:07 am (GMT +12) (11 Mar 2021 23:07:22 GMT)
3.0

12 km
(191 km)South Pacific Ocean, 177 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1012 joules (1.9 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1634 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel