Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Departamento de Chinandega, Nicaragua, past 30 days

Updated 6 Mar 2021 05:01 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Departamento de Chinandega was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 5 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 28 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 52 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua, 7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 3.7 quake 21 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua, 5 Mar 2021 7:41 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 3.2 quake 13 km southwest of Choluteca, Honduras, 5 Mar 2021 10:10 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.7 or higher (57 out of 98 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 10:10 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 04:10:42 GMT)
3.2

5 km
(43 km)13 km southwest of Choluteca, Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 10:02 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 04:02:43 GMT)
3.3

35 km
(63 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 7:41 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 01:41:11 GMT)
3.7

13 km
San Cristobal (8 km)21 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 7:41 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 01:41:08 GMT)
2.3

46 km
Telica (9 km)9.6 km north of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 4:20 pm (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 22:20:20 GMT)
2.7

57 km
Telica (57 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 5:01 am (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 11:01:16 GMT)
3.7

35 km
(65 km)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 4:01 am (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 10:01:00 GMT)
3.3

32 km
(71 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
4 Mar 2021 5:54 pm (GMT -6) (4 Mar 2021 23:54:48 GMT)
2.7

41 km
(63 km)North Pacific Ocean, 68 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 2 reportsMoreMap
4 Mar 2021 9:05 am (GMT -6) (4 Mar 2021 15:05:11 GMT)
2.7

34 km
(56 km)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:38 pm (GMT -6) (4 Mar 2021 00:38:55 GMT)
2.8

39 km
San Cristobal (68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:38 pm (GMT -6) (4 Mar 2021 00:38:55 GMT)
2.8

39 km
San Cristobal (68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 3:10 pm (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 21:10:19 GMT)
3.2

35 km
(60 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 7:00 am (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 13:00:25 GMT)
3.1

11 km
(97 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of El Viejo, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:01 am (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 12:01:15 GMT)
3.5

20 km
(100 km)North Pacific Ocean, 104 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 2:37 am (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 08:37:47 GMT)
3.4

10 km
San Cristobal (6 km)20 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -6) (1 Mar 2021 04:34:44 GMT)
2.9

33 km
(71 km)Choluteca, 64 km southeast of Tegucigalpa, Honduras MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -6) (1 Mar 2021 04:34:42 GMT)
2.8

24 km
(94 km)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 9:21 am (GMT -6) (25 Feb 2021 15:21:34 GMT)
3.0

8 km
San Cristobal (49 km)22 km southeast of Choluteca, Honduras MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 11:46 am (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 17:46:23 GMT)
2.7

19 km
(126 km)North Pacific Ocean, 225 km west of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
24 de febrero del 2021 4:46 am (24 Feb 2021 10:46:00 GMT)
4.0

112 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (26 km)33 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 7:02 pm (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 01:02:03 GMT)
2.9

22 km
(104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 3:36 pm (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 21:36:50 GMT)
2.8

4 km
San Cristobal (7 km)22 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 11:12 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 17:12:59 GMT)
2.9

3 km
San Cristobal (7 km)23 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:11 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 14:11:41 GMT)
2.8

1 km
(70 km)26 km northeast of Choluteca, Honduras MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 10:24 pm (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 04:24:11 GMT)
2.8

47 km
San Cristobal (56 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 22:27:34 GMT)
2.7

21 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:27:01 GMT)
4.8

35 km
(105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:15 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:15:28 GMT)
2.9

5 km
Apastepeque (16 km) - El Salvador14 km east of San Vicente, El Salvador MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:01 GMT)
4.6

35 km
(106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southwest of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:00 GMT)
3.8

36 km
(114 km)North Pacific Ocean, 114 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 11:57 am (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 17:57:16 GMT)
3.1

34 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 7:27 am (GMT -6) (18 Feb 2021 13:27:26 GMT)
3.1

36 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 9:16 pm (GMT -6) (18 Feb 2021 03:16:09 GMT)
2.8

99 km
(35 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 9:34 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 15:34:14 GMT)
3.3

13 km
(144 km)North Pacific Ocean, 158 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 5:45 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 11:45:44 GMT)
3.1

34 km
(59 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 12:26 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 06:26:42 GMT)
3.1

37 km
San Cristobal (74 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 5:30 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 11:30:58 GMT)
3.0

33 km
(76 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 2:06 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 08:06:02 GMT)
3.2

26 km
(81 km)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:51 pm (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 04:51:39 GMT)
3.1

6 km
(138 km)North Pacific Ocean, 196 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:04 pm (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 04:04:53 GMT)
3.1

21 km
(135 km)North Pacific Ocean, 152 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 12:24 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 18:24:17 GMT)
3.1

26 km
(73 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 4:11 am (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 10:11:49 GMT)
2.7

13 km
(127 km)North Pacific Ocean, 214 km west of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 2:26 am (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 08:26:16 GMT)
3.5

28 km
(134 km)North Pacific Ocean, 144 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 5:21 am (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 11:21:14 GMT)
2.8

98 km
(55 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 11:40 am (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 17:40:00 GMT)
2.8

28 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 6:23 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 00:23:56 GMT)
2.7

119 km
Telica (40 km)North Pacific Ocean, 24 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 4:28 pm (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 22:28:06 GMT)
3.1

21 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 106 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 19:26:02 GMT)
3.6

25 km
San Cristobal (92 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 9:53 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 03:53:34 GMT)
3.3

22 km
(147 km)North Pacific Ocean, 190 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador 2 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 7:01 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 01:01:14 GMT)
2.7

32 km
(69 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Feb 2021 4:36 pm (GMT -6) (9 Feb 2021 22:36:56 GMT)
3.1

32 km
(68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 1:01 am (GMT -6) (8 Feb 2021 07:01:14 GMT)
2.7

38 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 77 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:59 GMT)
4.3

91 km
(37 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:51 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(68 km)Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT -6) (6 Feb 2021 22:07:42 GMT)
3.1

126 km
(41 km)39 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 6:29 am (GMT -6) (5 Feb 2021 12:29:35 GMT)
4.7

130 km
Cerro Negro (26 km)15 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 12:37 am (GMT -6) (4 Feb 2021 06:37:16 GMT)
3.5

19 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.7 x 1012 joules (1.85 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1591 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel