Largest earthquakes in or near Chahār Bōlak, Balkh, Afghanistan, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Apr 16, 2022 13:07 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 115 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Chahār Bōlak has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 5 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 18 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 115 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.3 | 27 km SW of Boysun, Surxondaryo Region, Uzbekistan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.0 | central Afghanistan -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (139 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 12, 2022 3:27 pm (GMT +5) (May 12, 2022 10:27 GMT)
5.3

30 km
432 km (268 mi)27 km southwest of Boysun, Surxondaryo Region, Uzbekistan 35 reportsMoreMap
Apr 24, 2022 2:04 pm (GMT +4:30) (Apr 24, 2022 09:34 GMT)
4.5

10 km
268 km (167 mi)17 km southwest of Khulm, Balkh, Afghanistan MoreMap
Feb 3, 2022 8:59 pm (GMT +4:30) (Feb 3, 2022 16:29 GMT)
4.8

27 km
296 km (184 mi)55 km east of Maimana, Maīmanah, Provincia de Fāryāb, Afghanistan MoreMap
Jan 19, 2022 10:53 am (GMT +4:30) (Jan 19, 2022 06:23 GMT)
4.3

130 km
264 km (164 mi)Balkh, 268 km northwest of Kabul, Afghanistan MoreMap
Jan 6, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jan 6, 2022 12:52 GMT)
4.6

34 km
305 km (190 mi)Tajikistan, 54 km northwest of Kunduz, Afghanistan MoreMap
Nov 26, 2021 9:26 pm (GMT +4:30) (Nov 26, 2021 16:56 GMT)
4.5

397 km
223 km (139 mi)6.4 km east of Aībak, Aybak, Samangan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Nov 19, 2021 3:09 pm (GMT +4:30) (Nov 19, 2021 10:39 GMT)
4.3

150 km
201 km (125 mi)17 km southeast of Aībak, Aybak, Samangan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Nov 16, 2021 1:31 am (GMT +4:30) (Nov 15, 2021 21:01 GMT)
4.6

146 km
195 km (121 mi)25 km west of Pul-e Khumrī, Puli Khumri, Baghlan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Oct 25, 2021 7:17 pm (GMT +4:30) (Oct 25, 2021 14:47 GMT)
4.4

20 km
323 km (201 mi)31 km northwest of Balkh, Afghanistan MoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 12:30 pm (GMT +4:30) (Oct 5, 2021 08:00 GMT)
5.2

43 km
298 km (185 mi)5.6 km northwest of Balkh, Afghanistan 4 reportsMoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 10:59 pm (GMT +4:30) (Sep 29, 2021 18:29 GMT)
4.8

123 km
203 km (126 mi)28 km west of Pul-e Khumrī, Puli Khumri, Baghlan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Sep 13, 2021 2:34 pm (GMT +4:30) (Sep 13, 2021 10:04 GMT)
4.4

10 km
285 km (177 mi)54 km west of Kunduz, Afghanistan MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 12:01 pm (GMT +4:30) (Aug 16, 2021 07:31 GMT)
4.3

60 km
206 km (128 mi)Samangan, 92 km northwest of Bamyan, Afghanistan 1 reportMoreMap
2021-06-16 08:01:58 IST (Jun 16, 2021 02:31 GMT)
4.1

10 km
305 km (190 mi)Jowzjan, 45 km west of Sar-e Pul, Afghanistan MoreMap
2021-06-03 02:17:44 IST (Jun 2, 2021 20:47 GMT)
4.1

150 km
295 km (183 mi)23 km north of Khulm, Balkh, Afghanistan MoreMap
Jun 2, 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jun 2, 2021 17:56 GMT)
4.3

10 km
241 km (150 mi)36 km northeast of Aībak, Aybak, Samangan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Jun 2, 2021 2:10 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jun 2, 2021 09:40 GMT)
4.4

10 km
298 km (185 mi)Kunduz, Tajikistan, 45 km northeast of Khulm, Balkh, Afghanistan MoreMap
Jun 2, 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +4:30) (Jun 2, 2021 09:31 GMT)
4.3

10 km
291 km (181 mi)43 km west of Kunduz, Afghanistan MoreMap
13 Apr 8:58 am (GMT +4:30) (Apr 13, 2021 04:28 GMT)
4.3

10 km
208 km (129 mi)14 km south of Aībak, Aybak, Samangan, Afghanistan MoreMap
10 Apr 7:09 am (GMT +4:30) (Apr 10, 2021 02:39 GMT)
4.0

10 km
263 km (163 mi)28 km southeast of Mazar-i-Sharif, Mazār-e Sharīf, Balkh, Afghanistan MoreMap
Mar 23, 2021 11:26 pm (GMT +4:30) (Mar 23, 2021 18:56 GMT)
4.3

10 km
252 km (157 mi)Balkh, 36 km north of Aībak, Aybak, Samangan, Afghanistan MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1015 joules (945 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 8.1 x 105 tons of TNT or 50.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Chahār Bōlak Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Chahār Bōlak?

The last earthquake in Chahār Bōlak occurred 13 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.3 earthquake - 27 km southwest of Boysun, Surxondaryo Region, Uzbekistan, on Thursday, May 12, 2022 at 3:27 pm (GMT +5).

How many quakes were there in Chahār Bōlak since 1900?

Since 1900, Chahār Bōlak, Balkh, Afghanistan had 139 quakes up to magnitude 7.0.

What was the strongest quake in Chahār Bōlak since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Chahār Bōlak since 1900 occurred 116 years ago: Major magnitude 7.0 earthquake - central Afghanistan on Wednesday, October 24, 1906 at 14:43 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings